Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent factual book
The high rating for this book is for its ability to convey a large number of well researched facts without adding personal judgment and opinions and being a captivating read at the same time.

The coverage of the Munich Olympics was especially interesting.

I disagree with one of the comments made about the Israeli operatives being presented as heroes,...
Published on 27 Sept. 2006 by Mr. G. Shneerson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I had hoped
If you've seen One Day in September, this book will only be at most about 50% interesting, as the remainder is the same as that. I had hoped that more of the book was about the response to Munich; unfortunately about half the book describes the Munich massacre etc., and only the remainder describes the response to it.

If you've not seen that film, then this is...
Published on 15 Nov. 2010 by Isaac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent factual book, 27 Sept. 2006
By 
The high rating for this book is for its ability to convey a large number of well researched facts without adding personal judgment and opinions and being a captivating read at the same time.

The coverage of the Munich Olympics was especially interesting.

I disagree with one of the comments made about the Israeli operatives being presented as heroes, while the book doesn't condemn them it doesn't attempt to judge them at all. It only presents the facts leaving it to the reader to judge for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I had hoped, 15 Nov. 2010
By 
Isaac (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've seen One Day in September, this book will only be at most about 50% interesting, as the remainder is the same as that. I had hoped that more of the book was about the response to Munich; unfortunately about half the book describes the Munich massacre etc., and only the remainder describes the response to it.

If you've not seen that film, then this is a pretty well written narrative along with some "behind the scenes" details, presumably from ex-Mossad agents, although at the the very end of the book Klein admits that he changes "minor details" for "dramatic effect" - so you're left wondering just how much is true and how much has been buttered up.

One last thing - this Kindle version doesn't appear to have chapter marks so be prepared to add in bookmarks manually if you want to skip between chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down., 23 Jan. 2006
By 
After reading an article in the Sunday Times Magazine about the 1972 Munich Olympics, and the Israelis response to the events that took place, I bought this book with a hunger for further information (I hadn't been born in '72). I wasn't disappointed. It seems that Aaron Klein did his research before putting pen to paper. His accounts are not disputed. My only critisism is that the book is generally biased, and attempts to make heroes out of cold blooded murderers. Having said that, 5 stars plus - I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do You Know the Story?, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't know the story of how Golda Meir and the Israeli Secret Service reacted after the Munich Massacre of some of their athletes & officials, then this book is a 5-star read. Even knowing most of what happened and having already seen Steven Spielberg's excellent film, Munich, I was engrossed in the book. There are some slight differences between this book and Spielberg's film, and I'm certainly not qualified to advise which is the most accurate, but this is a fascinating read about a tragic story all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Questionable, 23 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
I found this book to be very lacking. In fact, it appears to be taking advantage of the publicity created by Spielberg's "Munich" and "Vengeance" by George Jonas. It claims to tell the "real" story, however Klein does not present any new information. Basically, it reflects a repackaging of known facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 19 Feb. 2006
By 
having recently seen the film Munich and having bought this book. I can absolutely recommend it, couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Striking Back: The 1972 Munich Olympics Massacre and Israel's Deadly Response
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews