Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nanotech in the year 4,000.
Basically a murder "whodunit", the "Octogonal Raven" starts off very inocently, until the main character suffers a murder attempt.
From then on, the plot slowly lifts the veil of what is wrong with this future society, putting our main character under the option of sitting still and doing nothing, or trying to prevent a new colapse of civilization.
Nanotech...
Published on 30 Mar 2004 by Raul Leite

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Author - Poor Book
I like almost everything that this author writes. But this book I found uninteresting, with poor plot development, a scarcely believable environment and characters that I could not develop any real sympathy towards.
This book also suffers from one of Modesitt's more irritating writing strategies - writing the story from two different time points. Normally (I...
Published on 28 May 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nanotech in the year 4,000., 30 Mar 2004
By 
Raul Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCTAGONAL RAVEN . (Mass Market Paperback)
Basically a murder "whodunit", the "Octogonal Raven" starts off very inocently, until the main character suffers a murder attempt.
From then on, the plot slowly lifts the veil of what is wrong with this future society, putting our main character under the option of sitting still and doing nothing, or trying to prevent a new colapse of civilization.
Nanotech abounds, and in the first few hundred pages the reader can be thrown slightly off by the amount of terms "invented" by Modesit to depict this far-off future, after we get used to it though, the story flows quite smoothly.
The storytelling alternates scenes between the main character's present and past, giving the reader a greater insight into him, not only from where he came, or what he has done, but also from his own thoughts and interpretations of the human nature.
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Author - Poor Book, 28 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: OCTAGONAL RAVEN . (Mass Market Paperback)
I like almost everything that this author writes. But this book I found uninteresting, with poor plot development, a scarcely believable environment and characters that I could not develop any real sympathy towards.
This book also suffers from one of Modesitt's more irritating writing strategies - writing the story from two different time points. Normally (I suppose) there could be (arguably) some point to this - but in the current novel I could not only find little rational for this style - but also found it difficult to discriminate which chapters were 'now' and which chapters were 'then'.
Two of the main features of the story - nanotechnology and puzzle solving have been covered much better by other authors - in fact have been done much better by modessit.
For nano-technology see "the parafaith war" or "gravity dreams" for problem solving any of the Ecolitan novels would be preferable. Modessit is usually a good author with only the occasional 'dud' (such as adiamante) and so is usually a 'safe bet' for the reader; but I really wouldn't recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fan, 25 May 2013
By 
Susan Lunt "alicia71lunel" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCTAGONAL RAVEN . (Mass Market Paperback)
another chance to go into a new world and enjoy myself again
It is always a pleasure with this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modesitt sci-fi: read it!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCTAGONAL RAVEN . (Mass Market Paperback)
LE Modesitt seems to be known for his fantasy, whilst in this humble reader's opinion his sci-fi is by far the better writing and an excellent read. I highly recommend dipping into any of his sci-fi work and then buying every one you can get your hands on! Involving plots, moral dilemmas, believable universes and characters - this is how sci-fi should be, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sci Fi novel, 3 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCTAGONAL RAVEN . (Mass Market Paperback)
I have not long started to read this good book, it is a bit hard to get into and understand, other novels I have read by this author have got to the point quicker than this one is,it is full of long technical words which to be quite honest I am finding very difficult to decypher the meaning off,but hopefully it will get to the exciteing part before long.
Apart from that it was delivered before the estimated date and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another original from LJ Modesitt, 7 Nov 2001
This review is from: Octagonal Raven (Hardcover)
Modesitt always produces an original story with enough loose ends to produce a sequel or a prequel but complete in itself.
In this book the slightly rebellious son of one of the leading families has to play detective while avoiding would be assassins. His heroes (and heroines) are somewhat irreverent and sufficiently human not to be superheroes. He has an ability to get inside their heads so that one can empathise with them. This is helped by his style of writing whether, as in this book, in the first person or in the third person. The immediacy of the action is underlined by his use of the present tense.
A good story set in the future and a prized addition to my collection of Modesitts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCTAGONAL RAVEN .
OCTAGONAL RAVEN . by L.E. Modesitt Jr (Mass Market Paperback - 25 April 2008)
4.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews