Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have, stays interesting for years
I've owned this books for many years now and I keep rereading it. The politics of Mars come across as a very interesting way to run a society but Earth isn't neglected either and is presented as having a fascinating life of its own. Both the 'Thinkers' and the nano-tech come to life in a great way in this story. The physics is grand, to boot.
A classic!
Published on 19 Mar. 2003 by Bert Hubert

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, terrible ebook
72% of the way through I reached the end of the book, end notes and all, and was then presented with the remaining 28% to read. One would think that the first thing that publishers would check when compiling ebooks is that the end of the book is actually at the end, not three quarters of the way through! As there are no page numbers it's impossible to find out where the...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by Bigstanno


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have, stays interesting for years, 19 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Moving Mars (Paperback)
I've owned this books for many years now and I keep rereading it. The politics of Mars come across as a very interesting way to run a society but Earth isn't neglected either and is presented as having a fascinating life of its own. Both the 'Thinkers' and the nano-tech come to life in a great way in this story. The physics is grand, to boot.
A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still pertinent 18 years on, 4 Aug. 2012
By 
Brian J. Cox (Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moving Mars (Paperback)
This 1995 Nebula Award winner has waited 17 years on my shelves to be read, and so much has changed in the world since then - ubiquitous internet, Middle East conflict, banking collapses - I doubted if it would stand the test of time well. The first 100 pages frankly weren't very promising, setting the scene in a rather leaden way which made you wonder why it won the Writers' Award. But then, suddenly, it took off and maintained its pace and interest through a further 350 pages. The story is a simple enough one of a young frontier Mars still displaying frontier attitudes and upsetting a sophisticated, effete and yet very powerful Earth which wants to maintain control over the human diaspora and use its combined strength to push on to the stars. Mars doesn't object to this long-term goal, but there's plenty to do there first. Matters become serious and then rapidly escalate when Earth discovers that Mars scientists have made a breakthrough that can not only protect Mars but could also threaten Earth. The story plays out through two former student lovers whose paths soon diverge, one to become the scientist who makes the breakthrough, the other to find herself rather against her will becoming President of Mars and having to make the decision whether to fight Earth or choose an even riskier alternative.

This is a splendid novel about power politics and the uses to which science is put. It's all about dataflow - think internet but much, much more ambitious; think the strong determined to protect its interests against the weak, at any cost - American and Iran?; think globalisation and how governments are increasingly unable to control events. Some of the scenarios may have changed, but the subjects of this novel are if anything even more germane than they were in 1994. It's a novel with the sad ring of truth and a great hard SF story too - not an ounce of dreary fantasy in sight, hurrah! Highly recommended, and don't worry that it takes a while to really get going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Bear's usual standards, 19 Mar. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Mars (Paperback)
This is the fourth and final book in one of Bear's best series; Queen of Angels, Slant, and the short and forgetful Heads. Thankfully Moving Mars provides a suitably spectacular ending to the series, although like the other three, it's set some distance apart from the other books.
The social and political stresses between Earth, Mars, and within Mars itself are all detailed in the usual Bear style, complete with deep characters, scary weapons, and a decent pace that if you're not careful will keep you up late to read "just one more chapter".
Grab it if you can; it's not exactly one of the easiest books to get hold of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing surprise, 29 Aug. 2002
By 
This review is from: Moving Mars (Hardcover)
A few years ago I came off Kim Stanley Robinsons Mars Trilogy with an appetite for more Mars. Walking into a bookstore there was a book called Moving Mars by Greg Bear. I knew off him, but had never read any of his work.
I was mesmerized by the far thinking plot of political struggle of the Martians as they try to seperate themselves from the domination of the Earth/Moon system. It actually made for good "continuation" of Robinsons colonization trilogy, because when we meet the Martians they are a well established planet...no longer a sparse colony.
The setting in a nanotech developed future follows freedom fighters from their first college insurrection through their careers as key political figures...and then war begins.
I loved it......great ending with far fetched quantum physical tricks that Bear makes perfectly believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slowly builtup but turns out to be very good, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Mars (Mass Market Paperback)
Master science fiction writer Greg Bear knows his business. This novel is not as dazzling as Eon and Eternity (in my view among the best science fiction ever written), and it is quite slow in built up, but it leads to an exciting story. Written from a woman's point of view (maybe he should have chosen to write it from a man's point of view – I at least would not have dared to do so) I wonder how credible women will experience this. The science is dazzling, true enough. It is the kind of story that makes you wonder what would happen if human kind ever were able to discover such physical principles and invent such a technology. Would it lead to the end of mankind?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, even if you don't like sci-fi, 14 Nov. 2010
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moving Mars (Paperback)
Far and away my favourite Greg Bear book, this blends politics, action and suspense perfectly. I don't tend to go for much of this type of thing but can wholeheartedly recommend Moving Mars to anyone.
Not to say his other books aren't good, but too many seem to follow a pattern of the writer getting carried away in the final stretch of the (often very enjoyable) novel into bizarre hardcore physics which frankly I often don't understand, spoiling it.
This doesn't happen here- the book stays grounded and believable at all times. The final chapters in particular are brilliantly gripping and very hard to put down. Bit of a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, bad copy, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
S. Mitchell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book got hooked cover to cover but check your copy as the order of pages is wrong and about 1/3 of the book is in the wrong place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, terrible ebook, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
72% of the way through I reached the end of the book, end notes and all, and was then presented with the remaining 28% to read. One would think that the first thing that publishers would check when compiling ebooks is that the end of the book is actually at the end, not three quarters of the way through! As there are no page numbers it's impossible to find out where the the 28% you're left with at the end should actually fit in to the story. Well done Gateway, you've discovered the perfect way to ruin an otherwise excellent book by an excellent author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic - on par with EON, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Moving Mars (Paperback)
One of the authors best pieces of work to date. An engaging read, the story and characters are properly built up and maintained to the very end and with a complete ending that doesn't disappoint.

If you enjoyed EON then this will appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informed, good concepts, lively story, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this. So imaginative. An easy read and full of exciting, even prophetic ideas. I cried. Will read more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moving Mars
Moving Mars by Greg Bear (Mass Market Paperback - Dec. 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews