Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful
In this book you will find thousands of vocabulary items in German, sorted thematically. This means that you can look up words related to any topic that you may be interested in. It is particularly useful if you are learning German on your own (that is my case) and don't want to buy a school text book. Obviously, you may want to buy a book on German grammar as well,...
Published on 17 Dec 2005 by Sergio Angel Verbo

versus
11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me... but I have strange tastes!!
I am living in Austria and trying to get to grips with the German language. I was looking for a book that explained the grammer a bit more and in this book I was expecting more explanation of the text presented (rather than just learning standard phrases).
If you are interested in the actual construction of the grammer I'd probably buy this book (as it does have LOTS...
Published on 13 July 2005 by Amazon Kunde


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 17 Dec 2005
By 
Sergio Angel Verbo (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
In this book you will find thousands of vocabulary items in German, sorted thematically. This means that you can look up words related to any topic that you may be interested in. It is particularly useful if you are learning German on your own (that is my case) and don't want to buy a school text book. Obviously, you may want to buy a book on German grammar as well, to complement this one.
The main adventage is the thematic approach. For instance, under "Living" you will find lots of sub-topics like parts of a house, buying or renting, etc. The phonetic transcription is very useful, and it has what should be a must in this kind of books: many examples. Furthermore, you are given the gender of nouns and the conjugation of irregular verbs. The only real drawback (inexplicable as it is) is that you are not presented with the plural of the nouns. Given the nature of the German language, this may be a problem, since you are required to look them up in order to ascertain the plural.
Nonetheless, this is a very good book, especially for those who have already a basic level. I recommend using it in conjunction with a notebook or flash cards, so that you may get the utmost of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 April 2002
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
This is the best book for learning intermediate and basic vocab. The best thing is that it is not just lists, rather whole sentences using virtually every word, so grammar and general usage improves substantially and very good value too. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoch empfohlen, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Tea (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
~This vocabulary book was excellent value for money. It contains single words, whole sentences and even a grammar section at the end. It splits the content into the most widely used and more advanced vocabulary. It is well organised and has a lot to offer given the very reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Book!, 10 Aug 2010
By 
P. Davies (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
I've been studying German for two years so now know the basic grammar. The problem is how to improve the vocabulary and see how it is used in everyday situations. This book is a great help - there's a lot that is familiar to me, but also a lot that is new. I like to spend a little time reading it at bedtime - the book is divided into small chunks (within each theme) so I can set myself targets. There's also a useful section on grammar - more aide-memoire than instruction.

On the negative side, the book was published in 1995 and hasn't been updated, so it doesn't acknowledge the new spelling system introduced in 1998.

Overall, I feel it was a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, well laid out and useful, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
Easy to carry around book which includes phrases as well as just words, which is always a marker of a good vocabulary book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mastering German Vocabulary., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
I am trying to teach myself German, and I bought this book to add to my collection. I hav e no doubt that I will be referring
to it quite frequently... Have not had it long enough to give it a really good appraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me... but I have strange tastes!!, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) (Paperback)
I am living in Austria and trying to get to grips with the German language. I was looking for a book that explained the grammer a bit more and in this book I was expecting more explanation of the text presented (rather than just learning standard phrases).
If you are interested in the actual construction of the grammer I'd probably buy this book (as it does have LOTS of very useful phrases/examples) along with something like "Collins Easy Learning German Grammar" which goes into depth regarding the structure of the grammer.
Buy this book if you want lots of examples to work from..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary)
Mastering German Vocabulary (Mastering Vocabulary) by etc. (Paperback - 12 Jun 1996)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews