Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the designer in you
I bought this for my 15 year old daughter who is studying art at school. She had read reviews about it elsewhere and asked for it. She loves it. The pages already have bodies of models, front and back, printed on them and you simply draw your design over the top. Great for the worlds next top fashion designer!!
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by masey moo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it's great for anyone with a general interest in fashion design
Gives basic terminology and plenty of silhouettes to work with. It's a great product for someone starting out in this field.
Published 15 months ago by MIss C Perry-Weston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful tool, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
This book is practical for both experienced and beginner designers, making life so much simpler. I agree that although the models are slightly out-of-proportion, they are perfect for 'runway show' displays, after all its the clothes you are interested in. The front and back of the book are a lot nicer than in the image, with a few gold dots and a gold tab on the front to write the name of the designer (i.e. yourself). There are 20 different model poses and some include the front + back, others are paired with slightly different poses, and some have 4 models on a horizontal page. There are also hints and tips on the first few pages, with garment diagrams + examples and fashion terms. You can rip out pages easily if you like and the paper is thick enough so that nothing goes through! Altogether, very happy and impressed, and definitely buying again when this is used up, I may even buy it again before hand! Perfect for any fashion lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing tool!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
this sketch pad of pre drawn mannequins has made my college course so easy to get through I have recommended to everyone on the course as well and even the tutor has got one now!! the only thing I would say is slightly annoying is the fact that the models disappear when scanned through a photocopier!! apart from that its been really helpful over the last year or so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for aspiring fashion designers, 3 May 2014
By 
Sunnydaze (South Benfleet) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
My 13 year-old daughter loves this and has spent many hours designing fashion clothing using the pre-drawn models. It has nice thick paper too so even using felt-tipped pens doesn't cause the paper to tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything to hand for the fashion student, 17 Mar 2014
By 
Savvy Gran "marnie" (West Country Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
Wish I'd had this 40 years ago. If I had I would have stayed in the fashion world. What a loss(lol). Lots of templates and lots of info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
Beautifully drawn figures, great poses. i would definitely recommend this book for anyone who wishes to uses it as it's meant to (the figures do not scan or photocopy so you're left with the outfit), or for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
This was for my granddaughter for xmas and she loved it. Paper quality is excellent. She has spent hours creating her own designs on the pre printed models. I think she has found her niche at only 12 yrs old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value product!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
After falling in love with the idea of designing my own clothes, I realised I would need a helping hand with the fashion standard croquis template, since I'm not a natural artist. I stumbled upon this fashion sketchpad and was really glad that I did.

The book has a handy spiral top to help keep it open at your current page, and as well as sporting a number of fashion poses within it's 420 figure templates, also has some handy hints on materials and other fashion must-knows at the beginning of the book.

For the price, this product is definitely worth it but I've dropped it a star due to the fact that the templates are printed on both sides of the paper. This means that colouring in the designs with a heavier marker pen will seep through the paper leaving the other side of the template useless. This is a small niggle for me, and wouldn't be an issue for people designing in pencil or lighter inked pens. Apart from this, the quality of the paper is great, and I'd highly recommend this item to people wanting to get into drawing their own fashion designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars so repetitive, 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
It promises 420 templates but it really gives you just a bunch of different bodies. I expected a modern collection of poses but I found them too dramatic and outfashioned. Presentation is perfect amd you can practice on it for a time. But I'd really liked more relaxed poses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really useful tool, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
I was really surprised with this item......my 16 year old step-son want to be a clothes designer...spend all his time drawing and painting different designs.....A Xmas gift so not sure what he thinks about it yet but I love it ten out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Pad, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion Sketchpad: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Clothes and Building Your Portfolio: 420 Figure Templates for Designing Looks and Building Your Portfolio (Diary)
Better than I expected, every designer should get this sketchpad it makes sketching so easy, the figures are all positioned differently which is awesome as it provides different views to garments. A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews