Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic and a must for any digger fan., 2 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
My kids absolutely love this book and since we have got it they will not go to bed without having the 'Digger book' read. My daughter loves it just as much as my son and just loves that one digger has a star light and teddy and another a blanket. They also love the page with a man is telling the digger to keep quiet because he is snoring. Nearly didn't get this book because of price but so really happy I did. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely bedtime book, 16 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
This is just a wonderful bedtime story for any young fan of big machinery. The rhyming is spot on, creating a fantastic read aloud flow. We get to say goodnight to each machine as it dozes off, creating just the right atmosphere for bedtime. The illustrations have that classic old fashioned feel, done in muted colors with somewhat fuzzed edges. Each character has an expressive face that only adds to the charm of a story that is sure to be a much requested bed time read. A note to any librarian or story group leader interested in doing a bedtime theme story time: this is a sure winner! Just the perfect length for preschoolers. A sleepy recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated book full of useful and instructive lessons for kids, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
"Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site" written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and beautifully illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld is a story about the events on the construction site when workers had left and night fell.

Small reader will meet Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Bulldozer and others which are tired from work, but still in good mood finish their day and prepare to go to sleep.
They worked hard all day, lifting things, mixing cement and carrying dirt, and just like humans do, they also need to sleep, to regain their strength for the new day.

"Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site" is nicely designed book that besides being great bedtime story due to its theme is also useful book for kids to learn about construction vehicles and their purpose.
Also, the book teaches children how important is to sleep because no matter how strong you are, you have to get a good night's sleep in order to be rested again tomorrow and ready to do your job or play.
Additionally, this book shows how is for the main characters important to finish their job every day before going satisfied to sleep, enabling children to also learn a lesson for their current and future tasks.

With the text in rhymes author made reading this book easy and full of pleasure, while in same time the illustrator with his drawings beautifully breathed life in construction vehicles.
The book illustrations are made in calm and known Lichtenheld graphic style, producing some kind of special warmth for reader while passing through its pages.

Therefore, this beautifully illustrated book full of useful and instructive lessons for kids can be recommended to every parent, because from personal experience I can see how much children enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rhyming Is One Of The Best, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
My granddaughter loves any goodnight, goodnight book. Even though she loves all things princess, she loves to read and know about everything. She got a big kick out of this book.

It is nighttime, and at the big construction site, all the hardworking trucks get ready to say goodnight. One by one, Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator finish their work and lie down to rest. The rhyming is one of the best, I have read. The illustrations and artwork by Tom Lichtenheld brings the story alive. Colorful and creative, all of the construction equipment have personalities.

The author, Sherri Rinker is a graphic designer and said she is inspired by her two young boys. I have heard more positive comments about this book from the little toddlers who love it. Parents delight in reading it, also.

Recommended. prisrob 12-12-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book - Absolutely Brilliant, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
DanBeale (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
I love this book. The story is simple, and nice. It's the end of the day, and the equipment is finishing up and going to sleep. The illustrations are lovely - all the machines have character and purpose.

The words flow, the rhymes scan. There are lots of places for younger children to join in, and actions to perform.

Children's books are hard to do well, but this one gets it right.

There are some *tiny* American influences (it is a US book) but you won't notice unless you're looking for them.

My three year old loves this book, and often asks for it. He even recommends it to his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute favourite in our house., 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
I don't know if it's possible to put into words just how much I love this book. The illustrations are sweet and soft and just perfect for little eyes before bedtime. The poetry is lilting and gentle and lends itself perfectly to being read in hushed tones to lull young children into a sleepy mood. It's the perfect gift for any little digger fans, I honestly couldn't recommend it more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as great as it's made out to be, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover)
This is a very nice book, nice illustrations and little boys with an obsession for trucks etc will love the images. The storyline is great also, however I would have liked more of a rhythm to the writing. Of course that's my personal opinion, but when you see so many great reviews and the fact that it's a best seller, I guess you expect that extra something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son & I love it! Perfect for mechanically minded children with bedtime in mind. Great illustrations and lovely rhythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful boys book., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not only did my toddler love this as it contains lots of his favourite vehicles, I loved the art work, would not have thought a book about a construction site could be so beautiful. The story was great as well, not too long or too short, with flowing rhymes. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, 2 Jun. 2013
This book is perfect for any small child that loves construction vehicles. It talks about each vehicle in turn, so is reasonable long for this sort of book. The rhymes are good and very readable and the pictures are fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site
Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker (Hardcover - 1 April 2011)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews