Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun art with great stories, 30 May 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:48 Mins

It's great to be back in the world of Toy Story. It's like meeting old friends with that feeling of nostalgia.

There are 176 pages, 16 more pages that previous Pixar art books. You'll see new toys, colour scripts, storyboards, sculptures, sketches and some photographs. Some pieces of art from Toy Story 2 were also included. Many pieces of art are digitally created, which is how it's done these days. It doesn't take away anything though, the art is still good. Colour studies from Dice Tsutsumi and Robert Kondo are beautiful, just like the one on the cover. And so are all the art from other artists.

The writeup is marvelous. There so much more to read compared to previous Pixar art books. I can see Author Charles Soloman has talked to a lot of people and done some good research. The commentary is filled with lots of quotes from the staff, interesting stories and insight into Toy Story. You'll read about the legacy of Toy Story, the updates to this movie, story sequences, the characters and other details right down to how Andy's neighbour decorates his lawn.

For the most part, the commentary is really about the plot and the characters. Nuances and deliberations to every story decisions are explained. Many of the ideas translated to screen are actually from personal life experiences. This film is clearly a piece of love for everyone who worked on it and you'll feel that love and level of commitment on every page you read.

I'm pretty sure this is going to be one of Pixar's most touching film to date.

Highly recommended. It's a great book for all Pixar fans.

-

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toy Story 3 artbook will not disappoint!, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
This is one of the best artbooks I have purchased from the Pixar selection. Having enjoyed the film so much, I got the book to view the visual development for the animated feature and got so much more than I asked for! Not only are there gorgeous fullspread prints of art by Daisuke 'Dice' Tsutsumi and Robert Kondo (some of my favourite artists in the production) but also CG models, comparisons to the first film, a fold-out colour script, research photography and a really in-depth write-up that leads you through the making of the film with quotes from interviews with the creators.

This is a really high quality book with an incredible amount of art and detail that really wraps up the film and the series as a whole. Well worth the full price (let alone the discounted £15 here) for Toy Story and Pixar fans or just art lovers. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The art of Toy Story 3", 5 July 2010
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
An excellent art book, including many concept arts for Pixar's latest feature. Excellent work from all artists, especially Dice Tsutsumi, Daniel Arriaga and Kristian Norelious. It 's one of the few "Art of" book that worths not only seeing -and marveling- the sketches and the storyboards but also reading the text. Highly recommended for Pixar fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into Inspiration, 25 Aug 2010
By 
Timothy Gowen "Tim Gowen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
This is a book that describes the stages of development of Toy Story 3. You can see how the illustrators worked on ideas until they were perfect enough for this excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Book, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
I love the Toy Story films, so the book i perfect for a fan like me. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
Great book as an art student it ticks all the boxes. I have used this to add drawing techniques and it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very generous, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Marque Pierre Sondergaard (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
As an avid Pixar and animation fan, I collect all the "The Art of..." books on Pixar films.

This is my favourite so far. Not only does it take you through every stage of production of Toy Story 3 with generous helpings of concept art and other behind the scenes art goodies, but the book is also a mini education in putting together a Pixar grade blockbuster.

You buy these books to get the parade of great concept art, a few behind the scenes anecdotes and perhaps a bit of what was left on the cutting room floor. All wonderful, but The Art of Toy Story 3 generously gives so much more beyond those expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring book, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Miss A. Phillips "PnkJesta" (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of "Toy Story 3" (Hardcover)
This book is perfect for a toy story fan. With detailed writings on character developments and creative processes, this book is a beautiful collection for anyone looking for some creative inspiration. The artwork is stunning, especially how it is all presented for the reader. The quality of the paper is appealing to the touch and makes the printed artwork all the more impressive.

The book it's self is quite heavy, but is full with initial concept sketches, and coloured works some of which never made it into the final production. Highly recommended addition to an artists and any Toy Story fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art of "Toy Story 3"
Art of "Toy Story 3" by John Lasseter (Hardcover - 13 May 2010)
£24.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews