Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, engaging and epic, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:26 Mins

Sanjay Patel's take on the classic Sanskrit epic is refreshing and engaging. Adapted and written in a lighter prose, the book is inviting to any readers who want learn more about the tale. The story is fascinating and gets increasingly so towards the end, with lots of nice surprises. For someone like me who knows nothing about any Hindu stories, I felt like I know a lot more after reading this book.

The story is well paced and laden with beautiful illustrations. Each page is filled with scenes of glorious colours -- nothing less for this colourful tale. The characters are also nicely designed. The vector style drawings (known for straight lines and smooth curves) are unique, especially when used to tell mythical tales, and work very well in this case.

Sanjay Patel also talked a bit about the making of this book. It took four years in the making, or 7 days per page. Vector drawings are very time consuming because it involves plotting and joining points using a graphic software to form (countless) lines. Basically you have to draw the draft and redraw everything again in vector with the scanned draft. Hats off to him for this tremendous piece of effort.

Also included at the back are some sketches of the preliminary ideas. Pretty fun to look at. The cartoon style interpretation of some scenes will give you an idea what the book could have turned out to be if not done in vector style.

This is a fun and nice read. I don't know if this book is intended for kids but it's certainly a book anyone can like.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just check my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beast of a book, 24 Mar 2011
By 
S. Millman (Penarth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
I was unfamiliar with Sanjay Patel's work before purchasing this, though as an avid follower of Parka's reviews and after seeing some of the book's content I bought it. Even after reading such a positive review I was still pleasantly suprised when this arrived. It is a massive book, packed with wonderful illustrations that flow well together. The spreads leap out at you and are artfully arranged to lead your eye around them. The images are bold and energetic, and while I had no idea of the Ramayana story I did know it would be a massive project to undertake. Patel excels at telling an exciting, complex story, keeping the pace without oversimplifying or confusing readers. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun modern version - recommend it, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Delivered in good time scale, was what I was looking for, great for someone like me with no prior knowledge of these stories, good explanations if a little bit too basic but still alot of info delivered in a fun modern accessible way. Would be good for reading with kids aswell I think, the illustrations are bright and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VISUALS AND IDEAL TO READ BEFORE THE NOVEL VERSIONS, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Highley recommend this book as the art work is spectacular and you can see that a lot of love and attention has gone into this piece of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
The illustratrations convey the jist of Ramayana.Very humourus&beautiful .Easily understandable by children.&foreigners.The author has rertained reverence for this Hindu Epic story &Hindu God Rama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Wonderful illustrations by a real master and produced with quality. The best thing is that he explains his process and includes great drawings and thumbnails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages., 16 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Beautifully illustrated and condensed version of the epic, no matter how old you are you'll enjoy reading this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ramayana, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
Very inspiring, great graphic illustrations.Visually stunning, would definitely recommend this book to anyone who appreciates creativity.Only wish the book was larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book. It is visually captivating and every page is just gorgeous.
If I have a criticism it is that the story is a bit too brief and could have been developed a bit more. However the author himself says in the introduction that he isn't a fan of words, more of pictures, so it is perfectly in that mode !
I bought it to introduce the kids to an important part of their heritage and they love it.

Would recommend to anyone interested either in hindu retelling for the modern age, or for the imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Wow, Wow, 11 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ramayana: The Divine Loophole (Hardcover)
An absolutely amazing work of art by Sanjay Patel! I picked this book up this afternoon to read a few pages, but I just couldn't put it back down! Completely mesmerised by the beautiful artwork and playful story telling. Next stop for me; Little Book of Hindu Deities! Bravo Sanjay, Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ramayana: The Divine Loophole
Ramayana: The Divine Loophole by Sanjay Patel (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2010)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews