Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years in and still learning....
I've been a breadmaker for over 40 years ever since we moved from Paris (yes, that one) to Raleigh NC in 1972 and realized that there was no substance on sale that resembled bread. (Wonder Bread is neither). Over this whole time period I have been learning (slowly) how to make better bread. There are many excellent guides to follow -- Dan Lepard, Joe Ortiz, Peter...
Published on 23 Sep 2012 by Christopher G. Kenber

versus
32 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritiating
It seems like I was the only person disappointed with this book. If you are looking for a cooker side recipe book then buy 'how to make bread by emmanuel hadjiandreou'. This is a beautiful book if you are interested in the history of bread making, and gives you some useful ideas RE how to use up leftover day old bread, but it's written like a 300 page autobiography with...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Darrenthesheep


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years in and still learning...., 23 Sep 2012
By 
Christopher G. Kenber "chris kenber" (alamo, ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
I've been a breadmaker for over 40 years ever since we moved from Paris (yes, that one) to Raleigh NC in 1972 and realized that there was no substance on sale that resembled bread. (Wonder Bread is neither). Over this whole time period I have been learning (slowly) how to make better bread. There are many excellent guides to follow -- Dan Lepard, Joe Ortiz, Peter Reinhardt come to mind. Now I teach breadmaking classes to home cooks for fundraisers for my favorite charities.

So when I bought Tartine I really didn't expect it to have so much impact on my breadmaking. But Chad Robertson's method is so well described and so simple to follow that I am rethinking my whole approach to bread. My starter is nearly 20 years old, but who knew one could make a whole batch of wonderful wholemeal sourdough with just one tablespoon of starter?

Yes. the method takes time but most of it is elapsed time and the process is actually simpler than classical kneading. Start with the first recipe but don't stop there --- the variations are wonderful. Most bread makers are obsessive and Chad is no exception --- but the conseqences of his obsession are compelling and will absolutely make you a better bread baker.

Dan Lepard's Handmade Loaf, Joe Ortiz' Village Baker and Peter Reinhardt's Crust and Crumb are all invaluable additions to a breadmaker's library and they have much in common with Tartine -- but Chad takes it a little further. If you have a serious interest in bread making (or want to start at the top) run, don't walk to buy this book and start baking. You'll be more than happy that you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bread book ever, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It takes you through each step of making a sourdough bread and completely explains why you need to do what you must to get the finished product. I have been looking for an indepth book like this for ages.

Great for any keen baker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands out from all the other "Bread Books", 1 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
If like me you have a passion for really great bread, then understanding the author's own passion is for me an essential aspect of his recipes. The first part of the book (a chapter you can skip if you like) takes you on a journey of his discovery and bread baking apprenticeships. For me this set the whole scene for what was to come and gave me a deeper appreciation for the slightly different styles and techniques which followed.

Chad outlines techniques and timings that other books leave out. I have many many books on the subject of making bread and this is the only one that gives you a real understanding of WHEN the starter/leaven/dough is ready to move on to the next stage in order to maximise flavor and rise. A complete eye-opener!

I simply can't recommend this book enough and will definitely be visiting the bakery store when I am next in San Francisco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything its crunched up to be!, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
Having had the fortune of living a few blocks away from the wonderful bakery for a short time, I can say with confidence that this book gives you everything you need to recreate the wonderful bread at home wherever you may live.

Here's a collection of random thoughts on the book:
* Be warned, it takes a bit of planning and TIME to make bread like this. Basically an all-day affair - ideal for a rainy Sunday at home, but not very practical on an otherwise busy day. The payoff is that the bread made should last you for a good few days, and being sourdough, won't go stale to quickly..

* Also be warned - its HIGHLY addictive! Once you get the bug you can and will become obsessed. Its happened to me and also a friend who happened across this book

* You WILL mess a few things up on your first few attempts, but never mind - the bread will almost certainly still be fantastic from first attempt - and will only get better on subsequent tries

* You will never bake the same way again - the techniques you pick up in this book can be applied to any kind of leavened baking - pizzas, doughnuts, sweet buns, croissants etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't underestimate this book, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
I very nearly did - and that would have been a mistake.

It is one of the most thorough and thoughtful introductions you could wish to find into the art (and science) of making naturally leavened breads.

Sourdough bread has become incredibly fashionable (and expensive) in recent years and so making your own at home is very tempting. It is not an easy process and you need a lot of patience. This elegantly produced book (with some stunning photography) takes you through all the necessary steps clearly without patronising the more experienced reader.

The first half takes you through a range of bread-making techniques and the rest is given over to some recipes using the breads. I intend to work my way through it all!

You certainly need a passion to embark on this sort of baking journey - this book could well inspire you to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Success at last!, 5 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
I would definitely recommend Tartine Bread to anyone who is keen to learn how to make real bread. I had been having a lot of bread-making failures, but since purchasing this book and following Chad Robertson's recipe word for word I am now making fabulous sourdough bread every single time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me by Ben of the E5 bakery after attending a day course (which I can also heartily recommend. ) Tartine is a stunning book beautiful photographs and very detailed explanations. Anyone interested in baking bread without yeast should get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book to start making sourdough bread, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
I have to say I have not been that excited about a cookbook in a long time.
Great pictures, plenty of different recipes, step by step explanations.
My first bread was excellent thanks to this book.

The only gripe I could have is that there are no captions underneath pictures and it can be misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bake your own sour dough, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
Brilliant book for all those wishing to make their own sour dough bread. The author is clearly a world expert on all aspects of artisan bread making. Before finishing the book he had a number of people try out his recipe and techniques and then went to their houses to discuss their experiences and see the results of their efforts. There were even some who had never previously baked a loaf of bread! So the reader can be certain that the recipes work even for those who have never before attempted bread making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: Tartine Bread (Hardcover)
Not only does the book present a fail-free method of making perfect sourdough bread, it is gorgeous to hold and look at. A perfect addition to any baker's library, both novice and professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tartine Bread
Tartine Bread by Elizabeth Prueitt (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2010)
£20.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews