Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2011
The book is simply the most extensively researched tome of knowledge you could hope for on animation layout. Seasoned professionals and aspiring students will garner insight into a subject that no other work comes as close to explaining as thoroughly in my opinion, while Maclean's writing style makes for the whole experience to be very easy and enjoyable. With a bountiful collection of examples from the world of animation that we all know and love, i found myself going over and over the pages trying to absorb it all. It now fits snuggly along with my Art of Pixar books ready to be referenced and studied and shown to my fellow illustrators. I would recommend it along with the 'Animator's Survival Kit' by Richard E. Williams (Equally essential reading in my opinion)
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
What a beautiful book. Fraser Maclean really captures the essence of animation with those gorgeous layouts. The interviews with the original creators were fascinating. You pick up this book and want to give it to all your friends for Christmas - right now!
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
The first book on this subject of its kind, Setting the Scene does for animation layout what The Animators Survival Kit did for animating characters! Comprehensively researched, not only is the author's vast knowledge of layout art (and it's often unrecognized importance) apparent through a multitude of interviews and illustrations highlighted but his deep passion for it too. A passion animation students and fans alike can only aspire too! A must read!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Fascinating insight into a world that has passed many CG animators by. Makes life behind a CG 'lens' seem easy in comparison but also makes you aware of what that ease makes you overlook. Highlights both the benefits and pitfalls of modern techniques by retracing their history. A great way for any animator who works with storyboards, camera's, lighting and environments, to refresh their view of their own work. Highly recommended.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
this is a very nice book !
i have it right next to my desk because i use it very often to look up things or just to get inspired. very well researched, very well written, very clearly presented information in text and images.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I was lucky to attend a lecture by the author and considered buying the book ever since. The only thing that was stopping me was the price. However, when I got the chance to hold it in my hands and skim trough the pages I knew I needed to buy it. The price is a bargain for an inspiring and informative content. Everything from the original high quality cover of the book (it has 2 layers, the colour paper cover overlapping the black and white hard cover) to the pleasant writing manner and excellent illustrations is perfect. The only thing I regret is not buying it earlier.

It is a must have resource which has a lifetime value and will be used again and again.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
This book is both beautifully written and illustrated. It discusses aspects of film-making that are rarely discussed in other sources, and never before brought together in one place. It would be fair to say that my mind has been well and truly blown! The perfect addition to any library! Enjoy!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
Wonderful book, beautifully illustrated with the most amazing work. Not just a primer for anyone who wants to be involved in the business, but a great read for anyone interested in animation
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Very useful, and professional! Full of informatio and inspiration!
If you want to work in the animation world this book should be a must on your library!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Setting the Scene, by Fraser MacLean, is a beautiful book that fills a import gap on the cartoon animation book shelf.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse