Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars plenty to read
This book comes with spiral binding, separate pattern sheets, photos and drawings.
More photos of the bags details - especially of the inside - would have been nice.
Also over all more visual guidance would be helpful rather than plenty of written instructions.
Still a nice book with lots of differnt types and sizes of bags.
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by smartblur

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but...
This book looks gorgeous, is good quality and the pictures are beautifully shot. The trouble is that I just don't find the patterns particularly inspiring. Several of the bags are huge, most require home dec fabric (and loads of it) which makes them expensive to make and quite a high proportion of the patterns look terrifyingly complicated. I much prefer Lisa Lam's Bag...
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Vix


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
lovely book, easy to follow, detailed instructions, I am looking forward to making some of the many items listed in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the novice - complicated!, 7 Jan 2013
By 
C. McAlister (Spain/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
The bags are beautiful, and it's great this book comes with the patterns. But the designs are really quite complicated and it's really hard to interpret what is intended in the instructions sometimes - they're just too vague. I tried to make some of the bags (one beginner and one intermediate design) and it was trial and error and lots of unpicking. I think it gets easier as you learn how to interpret what is meant by the instructions. Also, some of the bags were on a strange scale - too small or too big, and it sould have been good to have some advice on how to reduce the patterns to individual requirements. I was also disappointed that patterns (simple though they would have been) for the origami bag project were not provided, so I had to make my own in order to make multiple bags efficiently. There is a lot of attention to detail and finish in the designs - they look great finished, but at the expense of time. I don't know if I'll ever feel up to an "advanced" project! If you're a whizz at sewing already then maybe this book is worth a bash (though my Mum still struggled with interpreting the patterns and she's brilliant at sewing). For beginners, I'd suggest you start elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made a lovely gift, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Bought for someone who has been knitting and sewing for years, she loved it and makes wonderful hand bags of all different shapes and sizes, also purses and card holders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanbags made easy, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
I bought 2 of these books, one for me, one for my very good friend and both of us love it. There are simle patterns which you can make great bags. You just have to follow instructions which are clearly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bags bags and more bags, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
I loved this book the bags are lovely. I have made three of them so far. Having the patterns in a folder at the back is a great idea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book and easy to follow instructions, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Lovely book and easy to follow instructions. I couldn't wait to get started and made the teardrop bag right away, very pleased with the result and will definitely be trying some of the other designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
NOT for begginers. The best parte is that has patterns but very dificult to follow. I would like more pictures than only explanations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Delighted with the service and the book. Thank you for sending it so quickly. Wonderful bag designs and easy instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great book by amy butler, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Quick delivery,another great book by Amy Butler so many wonderful bags and I love thant most of them come in two sizes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
This is the best value book I have bought. Every bag in the book had a full complete pattern in the back which you can use over and over again. Lets have another book like this Amy Butler please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags
Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags by Amy Butler (Hardcover-spiral - 29 Oct 2010)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews