Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars plenty to read
This book comes with spiral binding, separate pattern sheets, photos and drawings.
More photos of the bags details - especially of the inside - would have been nice.
Also over all more visual guidance would be helpful rather than plenty of written instructions.
Still a nice book with lots of differnt types and sizes of bags.
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by smartblur

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but...
This book looks gorgeous, is good quality and the pictures are beautifully shot. The trouble is that I just don't find the patterns particularly inspiring. Several of the bags are huge, most require home dec fabric (and loads of it) which makes them expensive to make and quite a high proportion of the patterns look terrifyingly complicated. I much prefer Lisa Lam's Bag...
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by Vix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars plenty to read, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
This book comes with spiral binding, separate pattern sheets, photos and drawings.
More photos of the bags details - especially of the inside - would have been nice.
Also over all more visual guidance would be helpful rather than plenty of written instructions.
Still a nice book with lots of differnt types and sizes of bags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but..., 25 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
This book looks gorgeous, is good quality and the pictures are beautifully shot. The trouble is that I just don't find the patterns particularly inspiring. Several of the bags are huge, most require home dec fabric (and loads of it) which makes them expensive to make and quite a high proportion of the patterns look terrifyingly complicated. I much prefer Lisa Lam's Bag Making Bible, which is a fab general guide to bag making, or Making Vintage Bags which has lots of cute little bags. I adored Amy Butler's previous book, Little Stitches, but was a bit disappointed with this. 3 stars may be a bit low - it is probably more of a 3.5 - but I had high expectations for this book and they were not really met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
This is a beautifully presented book with stunning photography of Amys gorgeous bags. Its laid out well with simpler projects at the front and moving on to more advanced as you go through and including suggestions as to how to customise your creations.
I loved the separate envelope at the back containing the pattern sheets - far preferable to having to spend time photocopying pages!
The only downside is that some of the text is quite light coloured and not so easy to read in dim light.
Overall a lovely book with stunning and unique bag designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Deilvery just in time for Christmas. Amy Butler does it again. I love her books. Easy to follow and not drab any boring like many other sewing books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book from Amy Butler, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
The book is full of yummy bags. Simple, easy to follow instructions and clear patterns. A must buy for any bag making addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent book., 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
This is an excellent book with good quality patterns included to use immediately. The only downside of this book is the very light coloured font it is printed in. It is very difficult to read in low light which did disappoint me. Other than that, great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very complicated, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
I was very excited to get this book but that soon waned when I looked throught the book and realised how complicated the patterns were. I am an experience sewer but a lot of them are beyond me. The fabrics she uses are gorgeous though and it is nice just to flick through the book. Don't think I will be making many of the bags though. Pity !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eileen, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Fussy fabrics do not help with instruction. Patterns for bags are printed on both sides of paper so need to trace them, which I feel is penny pinching. Would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags (Hardcover-spiral)
Great book,even as a novice have managed to make myself a fantastic bag, and plenty more to come. Only downside is there is not many picture diagrams, to a complete starter took a little bit of reading and re-reading before I fully comprehended what I needed to do. Got there in the end though, comes highly recommended and the bags are fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amy Butler's Style Stitches, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good informative book but disappointed have no access to the patterns, for the bags which obviously is the main thing you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa92c29c0)

This product

Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags
Amy Butler's Style Stitches: 12 Easy Ways to 26 Wonderful Bags by Amy Butler (Hardcover-spiral - 29 Oct 2010)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews