Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great writeup but more art required
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:27 Mins
This book contains every short films Pixar has made. That's from 1984's The Adventures of Andre & Wally B to 2007's Lifted, including three feature film-based shorts.

The format of the book is a bit peculiar. The accompanying text for all the short films are presented together at the start of the book, the art goes behind. There are no...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by Parka

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Couple Of Things Wrong With This Book
For me, this book could have had more text in it, and, there should have been a title of the film under each animation image ..... it doesn't seem like there is to me, anyway. If these two things had been changed, I'd have given it top marks.

Contents:

Early Shorts
The Adventures of Andre & Wally B
Luxo Jr
Red's Dream
Tin Toy...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by zx50


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great writeup but more art required, 24 Mar 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:27 Mins

This book contains every short films Pixar has made. That's from 1984's The Adventures of Andre & Wally B to 2007's Lifted, including three feature film-based shorts.

The format of the book is a bit peculiar. The accompanying text for all the short films are presented together at the start of the book, the art goes behind. There are no additional captions for the illustrations except for labels of credits.

The writeup is great. There's a short history of Pixar before it was even known as Pixar (founded in 1986). Following on, it details the making of each short film. There are interesting things like how depth map shadowing and tweening were used in Luxo Jr or how John Lasseter would animate into the morning and sleep under his table.

There are also plenty of stories on how each director thinks about their design and their stories. Especially intriguing because the background of these directors are amazingly varied. For one, Gary Rydstrom made his debut directing Lifted, and he's a sound designer. Each of the directors have lots to say about their production process.

If you've owned To Infinity and Beyond!, you have read some of these production stories already. The Art of Pixar Shorts provides additional information, and it has the feature filmed-based shorts which are not in the other book.

Now for the art. There are sketches, film stills, storyboards and some full colour illustrations (colour keys and beat boards).

For the 13 films featured, I felt that the amount of art shown was slightly underwhelming. Sketches from the earlier films were too little. For example, there are only 3 pages of sketches for Andre and Wally B (totalling 4 big pencil character sketches), 3 pastel paintings and 2 pages of 4 film stills. Throughout the book, there are a few pages with only one or two character sketches on it, which I felt was too loose. Surely these people must have done a lot more concept art and sketches.

The film stills take too much space. I'm fine with film stills if they are used effectively, such as when comparisons between storyboard and final render is made. Nice as they are, not all film stills require one page to themselves.

The pages fill better towards the back so I guess it must have something to do with the lack of archiving in the early days. The art is great but it would be better if it was filled to the brim with sketches literally.

Overall, it's still recommended even though the art pages feels a bit light in content. It's more for Pixar fans.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
I love this book to pieces and was surprised to find it at a great price here on Amazon. It contains a lot of in depth information on each short alongside a ton of images and original sketches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you want!, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
Great book, great art. The only reason it got 4 rather than 5 stars is that its not really as good as some of the others in the series. Fantastic quality print of the art to a lot of the short films created by Pixar. If you like the other books in the Art of Pixar series then this is a great addition. But if you don't own any of the others, I recommend going after those first such as Finding Nemo, Up and Toy Story 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Couple Of Things Wrong With This Book, 30 Oct 2010
By 
zx50 (Next to Consett, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
For me, this book could have had more text in it, and, there should have been a title of the film under each animation image ..... it doesn't seem like there is to me, anyway. If these two things had been changed, I'd have given it top marks.

Contents:

Early Shorts
The Adventures of Andre & Wally B
Luxo Jr
Red's Dream
Tin Toy
Knick Knack

The Next Generation of Shorts
Geri's Game
For the Birds
Boundin'
One Man Band
Lifted

Feature Film-Based Shorts
Mike's New Car
Jack-Jack Attack
Mater and the Ghostlight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 20 Jan 2010
By 
N. Parrott (edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
My boyfreind and i both have a love for disney and this is the perfect adult disney book for anyone who loves disney and disney pixar. I got it for him for christmas, but secretly it was for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 30 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Pixar Short Films (Hardcover)
A must have if you are in to animation. I bought the book for an essay I had to make for university
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art of Pixar Short Films
Art of Pixar Short Films by Amid Amidi (Hardcover - 21 Jan 2009)
Used & New from: 45.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews