Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Book......
This book is both beautiful and practical. As someone with over thirty years of stitching experience, I can recommend it highly.

The projects are clear and explained simply. The photographs are detailed and beautiful. The fabrics are to die for. This book is to be treasured and revered for years to come, especially as the projects are classics and therefore...
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by Jules

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
I purchased this book along with quite a few other sewing/craft books. It's basically an advertisement for their fabric with limited "fresh" ideas. This book will sit on my shelf never to be used unfortunately. If I saw this in a shop I would never have purchased it.
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by Keliznik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Book......, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
This book is both beautiful and practical. As someone with over thirty years of stitching experience, I can recommend it highly.

The projects are clear and explained simply. The photographs are detailed and beautiful. The fabrics are to die for. This book is to be treasured and revered for years to come, especially as the projects are classics and therefore dateless. The pattern pocket on the inside cover is fabulous. I've made tissue paper copies of mine to prolong the life of the originals.

Definitely a 5 star book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just lovely to have, 9 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
I was delighted with this book, it looks and feels lovely, so many great pictures and projects, really can find something for any level of skill. The pattern pieces are in an envelope at the front of the book which means no breaking of the spine whilst trying to enlarge and photocopy project patterns. This book has been produced with love and the colours are fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French General. 30 Projects for every room in your house, 11 Mar 2010
By 
K. M. Naunton "Kimberley" (St.Albans.England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
I love this book, presentation is just beautiful. There is an envelope in the front of this book that holds all the patterns for the projects shown.
Each project has one cotton reel as easy level up to three for advanced, so you can start something simple and be sure to be able to complete and work your way up to the advanced stages. This is a must have for any sewers not only for the projects but, also just to be able to sit and read such a lovely book.
Kimberley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
I purchased this book along with quite a few other sewing/craft books. It's basically an advertisement for their fabric with limited "fresh" ideas. This book will sit on my shelf never to be used unfortunately. If I saw this in a shop I would never have purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 21 May 2010
By 
S. J. Mitchell "nurture" (Bowdon, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
An excellent craft manual with full sized patterns included no having to re-scale or trace etc plenty for the novice & experience sewer alike well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars French General Home Sewn, 11 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
I love this range of materials and was looking forward to getting the book but I just found the whole thing incredibly disappointing. After all, who makes their own bed linen these days. I can accept that one might want to make a throw or a patchwork quilt but sheets and pillowcases, no thank you! A couple of the smaller projects were quite sweet but a bath mat, a towelling mitt... how bizarre!! Perhaps this is the one drawback to not viewing a book before you buy as I would have picked this one up in a shop, looked at it and returned it to the shelf. Now it's destined to sit on my home shelf until I can pass it on. Give this one a miss!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
I have quite a few books with projects for making things around the home; I found that French General does repeat some of those projects found in other books but there are a handful of items that are different so, therefore, probably worth buying purely for that. One thing that is different is the inclusion of the pattern sheets which is a great idea. All in all a handy book to have on your bookcase if you enjoy home sewing & vintage fabrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
Wow, what a lovely book. Ranges from easy beginner to some experience,depending on skills. Have not sewn for over twelve years and I am inspired - lovely patterns, great instructions and advice. Can't wait to start on my first grandson's bedding and accessories. It's a lovely book to look through for ideas and looks like being used regularly. My daughter wants me to make cushion covers and a bed throw, so I can see this is the start of a revived hobby, which is going to be so satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Country Style review, 11 Aug 2010
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
Home Sewn is a craft book but has lovely interiors too. It's by a shop of the same name (French General) in America who sell French-inspired interior fabulousness. The book has lots of great and quite original ideas. Original, not necessarily in terms of the basic premise, but in the choice of material, the intended use, or a twist in its make-up. For example, a roman blind (the standard part) is made from coarse hessian, designed to look like an antique flour-sack (the twist).

I've not yet made anything from the book so can't comment on the efficiency, or otherwise, of the patterns. They do come in a sweet little envelope in the book to save cutting them out laboriously.

The book is superbly presented and pure joy to look through. Plenty to keep me busy!

Read more at my Modern Country Style blog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Picture book, 22 Aug 2010
By 
B. Barford (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House (Spiral-bound)
A lovely looking book but with very few projects I would actually make - instructions very general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House
French General: 30 Projects for Every Room in the House by Kaari Meng (Spiral-bound - 13 Aug 2008)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews