Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Entry to the series
this was in fact the first book of this series that I bought and having now seen the leading me/ladies versions, this is as good a selection as that. Most of the selections have every reason to be included - Astaire/Rogers, Bogart/Bacall, Ladd/Lake for example - but some are a bit of a mystery. Why Bogart and Bergman though? They only made one film together, and even...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by Mark Cheshire

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Disappointing
If like me you hugely enjoyed the Leading Ladies and Leading Men books, then you are probably really excited for the latest installment.

However, prepare to be disappointed. The couples chosen are no the greatest. Sure they've included Bogie & Bacall, Tracy & Hepburn, Fred & Ginger, and many others. However, many legendary couples like Carole Lombard & Clark...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by C. FERRI


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Disappointing, 20 Oct 2008
By 
C. FERRI - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
If like me you hugely enjoyed the Leading Ladies and Leading Men books, then you are probably really excited for the latest installment.

However, prepare to be disappointed. The couples chosen are no the greatest. Sure they've included Bogie & Bacall, Tracy & Hepburn, Fred & Ginger, and many others. However, many legendary couples like Carole Lombard & Clark Gable, Elizabeth Taylor & Montgomery Clift, and Gene Kelly & Judy Garland were not included. This in my opinion is appalling, since there are about three or four couples included in this book that do not deserve to be there. In fact, they are hardly remembered today, showing that they obviously did not leave a memorable mark on the screen.

They made the excuse that they couldnt included a certain person twice and therefore had to leave them out. That shouldn't be an issue. They even had to flip a coin on some of them, well I only wish we were all there to make the right choice for them.

Buy the book, it is entertaining to read about the couples that they did include who HAVE made a mark on film. However, do not expect the fantastic and hugely enjoyable style and content, that you adored in the previous two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Entry to the series, 6 Jun 2011
By 
Mark Cheshire (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
this was in fact the first book of this series that I bought and having now seen the leading me/ladies versions, this is as good a selection as that. Most of the selections have every reason to be included - Astaire/Rogers, Bogart/Bacall, Ladd/Lake for example - but some are a bit of a mystery. Why Bogart and Bergman though? They only made one film together, and even if it was a remarkable pairing, it's hardly what you'd call a partnership in the way Dick Powell and Ruby Keeler were. And it is a shame that the pairings are male/female, which leaves no room for the likes of Laurel and Hardy, Glenda Farrell and Joan Blondell, or Lewis and Martin. Whilst not a couple, a place could have been found for The Dead End Kids if the title had been less rigidly adhered to.But this is nonetheless an entertaining read in the same style as the rest of the series. perhaps the ship has sailed, but I'd quite like an edition based on the great directors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
This is a must for fans of the MGM Classic movie era. There are also beautiful photos of the couples included and was a pleasure to read.
Lovely book delivered on time and in excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leading Couples.The Most Unforgettable Screen Romances of The Studio Era, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
I ordered this book because I am a fan of the studio era of the 30's,40's and early 50's.It was exactly what I needed to supplement my Dvd collection.It contains many facts and details of each couple. I will return to it time and time again,to check the odd fact or two.If you are like me a fan of that era then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite as Great as the Others, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
Leading Couples is charming and informative and a must have for any fans of the TCM series of books.

While it includes many memorable greats, (the obvious Bogie and Bacall, Fred and Ginger, to name a few) I personally think some of the pairings chosen were a little a bit of a puzzle. Similarly, many great couples such as Mitchum and Kerr, Gable and Lombard, were not included. Then again, I suppose this is all subjective.

As for the actual content, you get lots of interesting trivia including each couple's onscreen appearances and real-life relationship. Overall: fantastic, just not quite as great as the other two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very well received present, 15 Jun 2012
By 
LucyB (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for a friend who is a lover of all things connected to the great days of Hollywood. She said it was one of the best books she had read about the stars who were couples during those times and that it was a most enjoyable present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE book for classic movie fans!, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
This book, along with TCM's other books in the series 'Leading Men' & 'Leading Ladies' are absoloutely FANTASTIC!!! So well done and beautifully presented ... being a young film fan of classic Hollywood and still discovering new films, stars & directors from the Golden days of Hollywood - This book is fantastic for discovering and learning more about the screen teams, behind the scenes and giving their top movies and best quotes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TCM's Leading Ladies, 13 Mar 2009
This review is from: Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies) (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and it is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leading Couples: Unforgettable Screen Romances of the Studio Era (Turner Classic Movies)
£12.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews