Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2010
I was a massive fan of LucasArts PC adventure games in the 90s so I had to buy this book. I was really not expecting such a large and heavy book, it is really something you would want to look after - I read it with great care! It takes you from the very beginning of the company through the "golden age" and brings you to the modern day, with lots of interesting illustrations, artwork (including cover art) and document copies. I would say that the book does not have any particular bias in terms of games or platform, which is a positive or negative depending on how you feel - for me, I would have liked more focus on all the PC adventure games I played but then that would have unbalanced the book I guess - what is amazing is how much this company has produced during the years and you can be pretty sure its all covered here.

Ultimately, this is a book to cherish, particularly if you have invested any of your formative years in playing LucasArts games!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
Reading this book sure brought forth many good old memories of great games I spend months on completing. Reading about this from the developers point of view and how things got in motion was very fasinating for me. I have always been a fan of lucasfilm games. Some things in the book does sound a tad to pink but overall i think they are trying their best to keep to reality. Really great book with lots of funny stories, great pictures from the games and short information about why they did what they did. a must read for Fans of lucasfilm games like the monkey island series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Since I'm an old fan of LucasArts games and I played almost all their titles, I bought this book to get an insight of the work behind those masterpieces.
I have to say the book is pretty interesting and even managed to catch the attention of friends not owning a PC...
The book itself is quite well-written, very colorful and offers a huge lot of funny anecdotes, to explain the wit and creativity of the guys that created and crafted Monkey Island, Full Throttle, Grim Fandango and many more best-selling videogames.
A must-have for LucasArts fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2009
This is an excellent book detailing the story of Lucasarts and the games they made them great. Personally I would have left out the more recent games as they haven't been great and just focused on the point and click and the X-wing and Tie Fighter games, but hey every nostalgia trip needs to have something in it that brings you back down to earth.

This is a MUST BUY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
So far half way through this book and its Brilliant, I love all the lucas arts games and sure I have prety much played every one to date if you like their games and have been a fan buy this!!

Its very informative and alot of awesome origonal art work etc which is cool to see for all thos fans like me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
This book is an oversized masterpiece with an awesome surprize cover, wasn't expecting that since the stock photo doesn't show it. Worth every penny spent and more. The artwork inside is just incredible and I quarantee you will be blown away, get it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Fantastic look back - tough book, cool prismatic cover. Lots of rare images. Such a shame the company is no more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
I bought this book as I have been a huge fan of Lucasarts since the days of X-Wing on the PC. It is a significant publication and has lots of information about all the Lucasarts titles over the years.
It contains lots of conceptual art for all the titles and whilst this is appreciated most people buying this book would want a library of all the various games box cover art and screenshots and this is where the book fails - it has a selection of screenshots but the most disappointing thing is that the cover art for the games has been demoted to 'postage stamp' size which is a great shame as Lucasarts titles had some great art.
The book should have been entited 'The Art Of lucasarts' as this is what 60% of it comprises.
Good but could have been so much better
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.