Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2009
I've just returned from Paris where we used this little box of tricks all week. It's a playing card system with a numbered subject on one side with kid-centred highlights, and a cartoon-style map on the other. Very much directed at kids themselves, the adults among us found ourselves slipping the odd card into our bag every now and then instead of the street map! Fantastic not to be dragging a heavy book around every day.. and oddly satisfying shuffling and replacing the cards you've used after a day out. Great for younger children (up to 10), text too simple for the older ones, - so this works well combined with Fodor's Around Paris With Kids, which has the cultural edge this lacks. This is a really fun idea that makes it easy to grab a spare hour or (- just as important -) to change your mind. By taking two or three cards along each day covering a specific area we found it was easy to cope when a museum was unexpectedly closed and we had to find something else to do, and quick!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
After a previous visit to Paris where we felt 'processed' by the main tourist attractions, we bought these cards to try an alternative approach that would allow us to see a different side of Paris and keep our children interested. The cards are very well laid out with a simple map on one side and a description on the other. They cover walks suitable for a range of ages and feature many less well known attractions. We had no difficulty finding suitable walks for our 6 yr old - but there are many others that would suit older teenagers. The cards are well made and fit easily in your pocket, allowing them to be easily and discretely referred to - thus avoiding the need to advertise that you might be a lost tourist!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
This is great! Although I suspect it is aimed at an American audience, the ideas in it are really good. I've been to Paris many times yet I found quite a few places in this pack that I was not aware of (the Ice Cream shop on Ile St Louis was amazing).
So basically, you need to make time to sit down (with your parter and kids if they are old enough) and read through the cards. Short list a few and plan them into your trip. You won't get them all done by any means - you might get two done in a day if you really try, but one a day was enough for us. Reading through them all first means that you get an idea of what's involved - obviously, you don't have to do everything on them, either, you can pick and choose.
You will also need a map of Paris to work out what is where - this is helpful if you are doing two at once, like the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay.
On thing (which lost it a star from me) is that the maps on the cards are a bit vague - you will need another map. Apart from that though, these were great. If you are going to Paris with kids, they will really help you get the most out of it and see Paris on foot which is the best way to see itr.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
50 A5 size cards, each giving lots of great ideas of things to do in Paris, really well researched, including lots of playgrounds and other stops for younger children, as well as museums and other locations of interest. My only complaint is that some if the cards aren't really walks i.e. suggested highlights of the Louvre museum. It was good to be able to take a few cards out with us, rather than a whole book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Have just returned from a week in Paris with an 11 and 9 year old. We used these cards as the basis for each day out and weren't disappointed. A real mix of ideas from the usual tourist attractions to the lesser known museums and parks. The map is not hugely detailed, but we found that the combination of our selected card, a map of the Metro and a street map was all we needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
maps are too simple and do not make reference to key landmarks such as metro stations. Not really practical to use as stand alone guide. Used together with adult guidebook/map is ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Handy reference for our Paris trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
brilliant and kids love it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse