Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George's Autobiography
In the early 1980's Genesis Publications produced this book in a strictly limited edition, each costing around £130. Thankfully, we can now buy it in paperbook at a somewhat more affordable price. This book is pure self indulgence, but a treat for the rest of us nevertheless. Split into three sections, the book starts with a brief history of George's early life, written...
Published on 15 Mar. 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reluctant hero
George Harrison was particularly taciturn in interviews and interviewers were always wise to steer clear of questions about the beatles. But you would have expected an autobiography to have been more informative. He spent more than a year putting down his thoughts and at the end of that year there was so little material that a journalist friend had to pad it out. There...
Published on 9 Feb. 2009 by bart4books


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George's Autobiography, 15 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
In the early 1980's Genesis Publications produced this book in a strictly limited edition, each costing around £130. Thankfully, we can now buy it in paperbook at a somewhat more affordable price. This book is pure self indulgence, but a treat for the rest of us nevertheless. Split into three sections, the book starts with a brief history of George's early life, written by George himself collaborating with is old mate Derick Taylor. Given that George is a very private man, this book can be considered his official autobiography, or as near to it as he allowed us to get. The second section consists of an interview with George, again conducted by Derick Taylor. There are few surprises and one rather gets the feeling that the real George Harrison is kept strictly to himself and friends. Nevertheless, George does allow us a glimpse into his life and world, including not only his music, but also his passion for gardening and motor racing. There could have been endless pages about cars, but, thankfully, the book has been carefully edited by Derick. George also describes in some detail his magnificent mansion, Friar Park, at Henley on Thames, and tells why he fell in love with the place. "The house came to the right man at the right time" explains Derick Taylor. The last section of the book features song lyrics, often in Georges handwriting on whatever paper was at hand at the time, and includes a brief description of each song and the circumstances that brought them into being. With black and white photo's included this is the only officially sanctioned George Harrison book about George Harrison. No other can claim that, and as such, Harrison fans would not be dissappointed. Included in the song lyrics are such rarities as The Pirate Song and Sour Milk Sea. Who can forget such classics?
Dedicated to "Gardeners Everywhere" this book is George Harrison at peace with the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I, Me, George, 4 Jun. 2011
This review is from: I, Me, Mine (Paperback)
If you are a Beatle fan, and your favourite Beatle is George, (like me!) then you're going to love this book! If you're not quite so much a Beatle-maniac then you might find it a little without direction. What this book does do, is give you an insight in to George's thoughts and what his experiences were like - but only George could write an autobiography that doesn't give all that much away! This book was written in the Seventies following the break up of the Beatles. Feelings were still hurt and legal battles were still on-going, and this is reflected in George's book. I believe John Lennon was upset about 'I, Me, Mine' as the whole thing only mentions John about twice, and indeed that Beatles only a handful of times.

The first half of the book is narrative biography - but it is a little on the short side (only around 75 pages I think) and doesn't have a lot of the sort of information and stories you might expect. The second half of the book (and this is why I have to give it 5 stars) is all of George's songs, lyrics and explanations as to what they were about or inspired by - and that is really George's story.

I'm not sure why George would choose to write a biography at the time he did. I wish he could have done an updated version before he died. That would have been fascinating reading!

If you're looking for a book about The Beatles or about Beatle George, this isn't it, but if you're looking for a book about George Harrison the man, then as the title suggests, you've found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Want to Tell You, 18 Nov. 2005
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As an inveterate Beatles' fan, it comes as no surprise that I would heartily endorse this book. Long dubbed the Quiet Beatle and other similar cliches, George Harrison does indeed offer his voice and reflections in this work. Always a private man, George's wordings here can be described as almost cryptic.
This work provides readers with a "glimpse" of George growing up; the former Beatle describes his working class roots in Liverpool, his musical muse and later, his work as a gifted composer, guitarist and lyricist. Indeed, George Harrison has expanded musical horizons; in 1965 he became enamored of the sitar and included it on several songs on "Rubber Soul" and later collections.
His lifelong quest for spiritual knowledge and core belief system are explored; indeed, it is in his own words he explains that he does not follow an "organized" or "traditional" religion, but rather bases his spiritual feelings around his internal beliefs.
I like the input the artist's wife Olivia offered; her words are a welcome and added treat to this work. Indeed, it is Olivia's contribution that make the reissue of this work even better and more effective in touching readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars reluctant hero, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
bart4books "db" (bristol, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
George Harrison was particularly taciturn in interviews and interviewers were always wise to steer clear of questions about the beatles. But you would have expected an autobiography to have been more informative. He spent more than a year putting down his thoughts and at the end of that year there was so little material that a journalist friend had to pad it out. There are oblique references to events that merely tantalise and even subjects he feels comfortable with ie motor racing are dealt with curtly. A very light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the most brilliant book about a most brilliant musician, 30 Nov. 2002
By 
Markus Horn "doctor-no" (Erkelenz) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Long before it was published again, it took me years to find this book in a public library in Cambridge, MA, because it was not available anywhere in Germany. And although I am a big fan of George Harrison's music I found the book rather disappointing. George says a few interesting words about Indian music but most of what he tells us is already very well known - little information, few suprises, there are better books about George Harrison's life and much better books about his music and the music of the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Feb. 2004
I love this book. I read it for the first time in 1983 and it moved me then as much as it moves me now. I wish George would have written a more complete biography, but since this is all we have, I treasure it forever. There are so many interesting background stories in this book - a must read for all real George Harrison fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy in its own way, but not really an autobiography, 30 Dec. 2011
Enjoyable as this book is, it's billing as an autobiography of George Harrison is slightly misleading.

The autobiographical section is scant, the shortest in the book, and comprises some reminiscences that Harrison related to his close friend Derek Taylor with added biographical notes by Taylor himself.

There then follow some photographs and, finally - what is probably the most interesting part of the book - Harrison's song lyrics (up to about 1980, when the book was first published) commented on by George himself. It is these insights into his songs that are the most interesting part of the book.

So, beware - if you are after a detailed biographical account of Harrison's life, this is not it.

However, it remains an interesting book for fans of the man's music, as well as of his spiritual outlook on life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the money, 11 Jan. 2009
Beatles fans will thouroughly enjoy this book. Not heavy going and has loads of the song lyrics.

Very good look at George Harrison probably the most underrated Beatle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Within You Without You, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
D. Saunders (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Me, Mine (Paperback)
George Harrrison the 'quiet Beatle' gives a short summary of his time with the Fab Four. A good book full of rare pictures and lyrics of his time during and after. Very much loved by all his friends and family and spiritual man. Who also happened to have a wicked sense of humour i.e. The Rutles. Sadly missed but his spirit lives on through his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harrison book, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. G. P. Barnett (Cambs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very inspiring read. With in site into the Beatles and George Harrison's private live and background. This made me want to read other Biography's, most of which are not as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Me, Mine
I, Me, Mine by George Harrison (Paperback - 8 Mar. 2007)
Used & New from: £53.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews