Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feastful of Delight, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:29 Mins

This is my fifth artbook from Pixar.

In typical Pixar artbook fashion, the pages are filled with concept drawings, visualizations and the thought process that went behind the production of Ratatouille. Through these pages, you'll come to a realization that their success is no fluke.

The creators travelled to France to research on the restaurants, food and the people. The effort and level of detail they put into the research can be clearly seen from the artwork from the book. The concept art and renders of the food in 3D made me imagine how they will taste if they were actually real.

You'll be able to see a lot of character designs for the humans as well as the rats. Sculpted models are also provided in photos. The storyboards, as you'll see plenty, are followed strictly in the movie. The compositions and lighting are the art form itself.

This book is filled with life and food, just like the movie. It makes for a perfect coffee table book.

There are more pictures on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for my blog's link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 14 Jun 2007
By 
G. M. Caspi (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
I've really been trying not to expect too much from Ratatouille as I'm dreading the day when Pixar have an inevitable drop in success with one of their upcoming projects. I must say, even before this film has been released, it really doesn't look like this will be it! Their process is so thorough it virtually guarantees that any subject they choose to take on will produce a fantastic animated film.

The Art of Ratatouille surprised me with the amount, and quality, of artwork. There is a huge amount of work beautifully reproduced in the book, and to my pleasure a real abundance of pencil and colour sketches, which in my opinion have been a bit lacking in their last few projects. I feel that this traditional hand-drawn element helps define their films and is so impressive to look at as stand-alone pieces of art - and there are many of them in this book. There are also many examples of sculpts, collages, digital paintings, oil pastels, digital renders and more.

As well as the wonderful aesthetic, there are some fascinating insights from key players at Pixar scattered around the book. These really add to the whole experience of looking at the pre-production art, although the focus in this art-of book is clearly the art itself as it occupies most of the space in it. This is how I personally think it should be done, and is the same reason I was so pleasantly surprised.

Recommended to all Pixar fans, rat lovers, animation enthusiasts and everyone else too. Can't wait to see what all this breath-taking art has lead to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very nice, 25 Oct 2007
By 
Mirrink (Turkey - Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
very nice art book, with many sketches and pre-production drawings, there are even classical animation poses (even if this is a 3D movie).
very nice inspiration for anyone who likes art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
A wonderful book with beautiful pictures and a good description. From it you can learn a lot of interesting information. Thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book from 'The Art of...' collection of Pixar's:, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
This book is one that I have heard so much about, having loads of packed imagery of sketches, colour over-layered rendered graphics etc.. and it definitely meets those remarks! The sketches and design processes you can see them go through with some of the main characters of the film are fantastic. If your like me in some ways and have looked through some of 'The Art of...' Pixar series of books or any animation books for real or just even on here and your wondering out of the films which really delves into the details but is consistent then choose this one. You won't be disappointed! All the pictures with accompanying text and comments are really interesting and thought provoking in this book, with words from the men and women behind the sketches and in the research that goes into the whole movie including things like scene setting etc. So many books like this I just love to read through when I have a bit of time to kill or just simply look for inspiration and admire Pixar's work. It is simply brilliant. So many say to keep this book as a coffee table book but I suppose I'm too conscious of the book being ruined as Pixar's work is so valuable to me. Maybe someday I will have enough money to buy two of each (because they really are ALL) worth it. I'd just really want to promote Pixar's efforts to be honest because of how purely skilled and talented they really are!! It's just a money thing, I can't afford to buy them all, that's all. This one has stood out for me though by quite a-way. Love it. So if you love the feel to the film and the idea behind the genius story then this is perfect as another twin/ double, side by side memorabilia and artifact behind the great production of Ratatouille!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
It's incredible to look trough book: the art of Ratatouille, would love to have such a book of every Disney movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great art.... mostly, 5 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) (Hardcover)
Half the art in this book is to die for. There are also great descriptions of ideas and story accompanying the art.

I wasn't too big a fan of the cg paintover art ...I would have prefered more original art. But overall the colours and art in this book are worth getting it. The film is lovely and getting a peak at the what it takes Pixar to make a film like this is wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation)
Art of Ratatouille (Pixar Animation) by John Lasseter (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2007)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews