Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!
I love this book! I bought it based mostly on having heard of the author through craft websites, etc. but also on some of the Amazon reviews. Bought it on a whim really, to make up an order to save postage! But absolutely love it! Really good value for money, lots of inspiration and in fact just about every project had me thinking "I'm going to make that"! Have already...
Published on 9 Sep 2008 by luckybear

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, if a bit basic
I think that this book is great for anyone new to sewing and I liked the patterns inside. However perhaps I had underestimated my skills and wanted a bit more.
Published 18 months ago by Diane, Designer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!, 9 Sep 2008
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
I love this book! I bought it based mostly on having heard of the author through craft websites, etc. but also on some of the Amazon reviews. Bought it on a whim really, to make up an order to save postage! But absolutely love it! Really good value for money, lots of inspiration and in fact just about every project had me thinking "I'm going to make that"! Have already made the Simple Tote (well, 5 of them actually!) and Doorstop (2!) and am just choosing what to make next. Very easy, step by step stages make every stage of each project crystal-clear. And the results are stylish and practical. Lovely photographs and very clear diagrams illustrate exactly what you're aiming for.

You can guess I like this book! If you're into sewing easy but stylish things for you and your home, then this is the book for you. (Oh, and the patterns are already real-size and on proper papers stored in a neat envelope at the front of the book, ready to cut and use, not those annoying "Just photocopy it to 200%" patterns that lots of sewing books tend to have, so you're ready to sew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sewing book with full size patterns ready to use, 27 July 2007
By 
Happyfamily (Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
A must have book for anyone who loves sewing. What's great with this book is that it contains an envelop with full size patterns for some of the projects, also included are patterns of applique for those interested in embellishing their projects. The design of the projects are simple (great for beginners), however more experienced sewers will love the fact that you can embellish the projects with appliques or embroidery making them more satisfying creativity wise. The book is divided into function: cook, go, nest, organize. The projects are: placemat with chopstick pocket, napkins and coasters, pot holder, cafe apron with pocket, oven mitt, kitchen towels, reversible apron, picnic placemat, simple tote, gardening tote, yoga mat tote, all day tote, sun hat, simple drawstring backpack, curtain with pockets, duvet cover, pillowcase, draft snake, doorstop, wall organizer, tool roll, checkbook cover, bed pocket, magazine holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 26 Dec 2007
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
This is a really stylish book - well designed, clear and inspiring. The thing I like best about it is something very simple: the way it's bound so that it lies flat whilst you work on the projects. The projects are very simple (I'm a run-before-you-can-walk kinda gal) but they are also versatile so they could easily be cusomised. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for beginners!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. K. Kane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
I recently decided to take up sewing again, having not done any since I was at school. I was looking for a book to start me off with some simple projects that would actually be purposeful and useful.

This book is brilliant! It has lots of inspiration and yes, some of the projects are basic, but that doesn't stop you from customising them yourself. I have already made the tote bag and the reversible apron and am really happy with the results! Most of the items in this book wouldn't look out of place in somewhere like Ikea, you can definitely tell there is a Swedish influence!

There are photographs to show you what the finished article should look like and although the instructions are mostly textual, Lotta does include some little diagrams at more complicated stages so that you can fully understand what she means.

The projects are labelled with a "level" (1 - 4) to give you an idea of how complicated they are. The tote bag was a level 2 project and the reversible apron was a level 4. That should give you an idea of how achievable these projects are.

Other projects include placemats, doorstop, duvet cover, sun hat, magazine holder and lots more.

Most of the projects (at least the more complicated ones) come with ready-made patterns that are tucked into an envelope section at the beginning of the book (and are already the right size and ready to cut out). The projects that don't come with patterns (such as the tote bag) are mainly ones where it only involves you cutting a rectangle out of fabric.

In addition to the patterns (including a sheet of applique and stitch patterns) Lotta has also included a glossary of terms and techniques at the back of the book to help you understand exactly what is meant, and a couple of pages of "resources" which list some useful websites.

I have to say that if you are looking for a book which will give you some inspiration and encourage you to start sewing, this is it! You will be really pleased with the results and will be able to make items that your friends and family will admire!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab simple sewing projects and gorgeous book!, 30 Nov 2008
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
I can't believe anyone could criticise this book for containing simple sewing projects. It says on the cover that it is full of them!! If you are new to sewing, or just want a book of quick and easy patterns for useful everyday items for gifts for friends and loved ones, then you can't really go far wrong here. However, it DOES advance past 30 minute projects such as placemats and napkins etc. Keep reading, and you will come across patterns for a duvet cover and pillow case, a multi-pocket gardening tote (DEFINITELY not what I would call simple and uninspired!!), an everyday tote (truly fabulous!!), a padded oven glove, cafe and reversible aprons, and loads more. Simple doesn't have to mean boring or uninspired. The point of sewing your own items is that the possibilities are endless - especially where fabric choices are concerned. If you read this book with an open mind and a bit of imagination, you will be very pleased with the results. There is even a thick pocket at the front of the open-flat book that's full of the patterns to make the projects in the book, to make it even easier for you.

She also has a beautiful blog and website that's worth taking a look at for more inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy patterns and genious format, 22 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
This book is perfect to have next to the sewing machine since it is spiral bound, and hardback. The patterns are easy to read and easy to follow - the most difficult ones were no problem at all for me, even as a beginner. Lovely inspiration if you like Scandinavian style, some retro fabrics and lots of cool projects for the home - I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Sep 2009
By 
L. Higgins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
Really great approachable projects with a gorgeous scandinavian style. Modern, clean and beautiful ideas. Lovely book and the inside cover has all of the patterns enclosed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Simple ideas, 11 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
This book simply describes everyday items inspiring me to make a number of them. So far I have made the children's backpack, napkins and the picnic placemats.The draft excluder is next on my list. Yes the ideas are simple and I could probably could have made them without the patterns. However, I did not. The book has inspired me to make these easy projects.
The projects are well though-out and excellently described. There are no zippers or complicated fixings.
The spiral binging ensure the books lies flat and open making it ideal to consult whilst sewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great buy, 4 May 2009
By 
T (Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
lovely book, great instructions, very clear, nice projects for beginners and intermediate sewers - nothing too complex but all rather cool :) Good resources page at the rear of the book and full size patterns supplied - I would recommend this to anyone starting to sew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspired, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Bridget Manton "poppyart" (hertfordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing (Spiral-bound)
The best thing about this is that is inspired me to get going and sew. It is very straightforward but practical. I have a couple of things that I make for craft fairs, too! I love the Scandinavian-style of the images. And I am taking the time to review, so it must be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing
Lotta Jansdotter's Simple Sewing by Lotta Jansdotter (Spiral-bound - 1 April 2007)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews