Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving, 20 Aug 2007
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
This is a moving and beautiful collection of wildlife photographs. They capture the individuality and nobility of these animals. I especially like the ones of the lions. They truly are royalty in their kingdom.
One thought occured to me. Because some of these prints are sepia toned and look as if they were taken a century or more ago, I felt as if I was looking at creatures that were long dead. Jane Goodall states how tragic it would be if future generations were to look at these beautiful portraits and not be able to see them in the wild. Anyone looking at these photographs cannot fail to be moved by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 29 Oct 2005
By 
P. Truman "pete_t" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
This book shows how wildlife photographs should be. The views in this book are simply stunning and the use of black and white has created an album of such atmosphere you can feel yourself being drawn into its pages. I spent hours just staring at each page and taking in the feel of each scene.
Simply brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE!, 15 May 2009
By 
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
this book is really special, the best that I ever seen, it's really incredible!!! Wonderful work that can give you a very important and special emotion! Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Brandt is simply too good, 9 Nov 2009
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
I bought On This Earth after receiving A Shadow Falls as a bithday present. Both these books are stunning.

On This Earth is Nick Brandt first book and I can see how his skill with a Camera has improved between the two books. This is not to say his phosts are in way bad in this book. They are simply Stunning! A quick flick thru' this book and you realise how good Nick is. But examine each picture and you realise that Nick has a major talent, whichj makes my efforts at photography look feeble.

I also love the Sepia effect to these pieces of art and the fact that the wildlife in the shots is not necessarily the main focus.

There is a feeling of life to these pictures and you can almost feel that you were there looking over Nick shoulder when he pressed the shutter release.

This book is fab and would recommend it to anybody interested in Photography or African Wildlife!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Photography, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
What a wonderfull collection of photographs,Nicks use of the black and white medium is superb,like it has been said before, that, it realy does look like the animals are posing for him,he has a style all of his own,and with the way they have been printed [more than likely in the wet darkroom] brings the absolute best out of them, you can tell he has an absolute love and understanding of these African animals to get photographs like these, a fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 16 July 2012
By 
Mr. J. L. Brown "flammers" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
i got this for reference and it was perfect!!!!!! amazing attention to detail and beautiful shots in great print and a great size book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing photographs, 17 Aug 2010
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
Nick Brandt get great images and portraits of animals, giving you a close encounter with them. Looking forward to reading the next books of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On this earth review, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Susan Stokes (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
This book is just beautiful the way the animals are captured in their natural environment these images are fine art not just beautiful photography.
Also to consider is the way he has composed the shots, he has somehow caught a little but of the animals essence i find myself looking at some of the photographs and getting lost in them.
Also it was amazon who was my savior in being able to purchase the book at all as it was impossible to try buy this book through normal retail streams everywhere told me it was of of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Stunning, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Helen "Love quirky fiction, spine-chilling sc... (Brighton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
After my own safari trip, I found this guy's work and my eyes filled with tears. the photos are beautiful and capture so many wonderful memories for me. This is a gorgeous coffee table book and all of my friends have admired it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa (Hardcover)
Some of the most amazing photographs. This book is like having a book of photographic printed material rather than a book of printed material. Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa
On This Earth: Photographs from East Africa by Nick Brandt (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: 55.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews