Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading
I bought this book for my sister when she was about to emigrate to Canada. She cried when she opened it, and she absolutely loved it!
Published on 2 April 2011 by flobalob69

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and slightly boring.
The title says it all. I thought this would be a quirky read being a Canadian away from home (England) but much I found this book dry, boring and supremely dated. A bit of nostalgia or historical reminiscing I could cope with but ... a recipe for moose stew? Get real. Not worth the money sorry. The two stars are for the funny little illustrations and the service provided...
Published on 2 Jan. 2013 by Mister & Con Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 2 April 2011
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
I bought this book for my sister when she was about to emigrate to Canada. She cried when she opened it, and she absolutely loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 25 May 2009
By 
J. Henley (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
Funny little book, hard to put down once you've started. Would recommend to all looking to monove to Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great light hearted read, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. G. I. Swain (Afghanistan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little book to read if you want to know a little about what makes Canadians tick. The does not boast or brag about Canada been the best at every thing in the world but give a little in site into the Canadian way of life and you can see why it's rated in the top 5 places in the world to live. O Canada, I would move there tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea!, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
This is a super cute book, a bit more for a gift or a joke rather than a book for people serious about becoming Canadian. As I am Canadian, some of the book was a bit too hokey, kind of playing up on many of the worn-out stereotypes of Canadians (igloos, lots of snow, etc etc) and doesn't really cover any reality of what Canadians are about beyond that. BUT, a fun read nonetheless and worth getting as a gift for someone interested in those goofy stereotypes and funny stories about what makes Canadians so Canadians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
moving to Canada in March so thought some light reading in order this fit the bill funny informative and full of witty info a++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but funny, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book for an introduction to life Canadian but short. Well worth a read though if you're moving to Canada but don't expect it to tell you anything earth shattering - it's meant to be humorous and does impart some good trivia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and slightly boring., 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title says it all. I thought this would be a quirky read being a Canadian away from home (England) but much I found this book dry, boring and supremely dated. A bit of nostalgia or historical reminiscing I could cope with but ... a recipe for moose stew? Get real. Not worth the money sorry. The two stars are for the funny little illustrations and the service provided by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny read for Canadians or non-Canadians, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
Thought it'd be a good gift for someone, or at least an entertaining read for me! Lots of tongue-in-cheek jokes, interesting historical and pop-culture tidbits and fun to read. Everyone will learn something new, even if it's a bit dated now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite small, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
Bought this as a gift to a friend who was moving to Canada. He was pleased and we all giggled about it. But I was disappointed by how small it was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, pocket sized, guide., 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So, You Want to be Canadian: All About the Most Fascinating People in the World and the Magical Place That They Call Home (Paperback)
made a cute addition to my colleague's leaving gift.... the book is quite small but I had a look through and it seems pretty informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews