Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Got this book yesterday memorized the planets in two minutes and had total recall after an hour and still have. I have just memorized a pack of playing cards using the method given took about 20 mins but practice will speed this up. Altogether an excellent way to spend the weekend. This is not like a text book the exercises appear every so often among the illustrations,...
Published on 22 July 2001 by des.glennon@lineone.net

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book by an excellent author on PRACTICAL memory skill
I liked this book on memory and remembering by Dominic O'Brien. I have been a fan his since hearing about and managing to get hold of a copy of, How To Develop A Perfect Memory (out of print), and How to Pass Exams.
Learn to remember, is an introduction to what is discussed in more depth in the earlier two books. He does not go into as much detail about his DOMINIC...
Published on 1 Dec 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book by an excellent author on PRACTICAL memory skill, 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
I liked this book on memory and remembering by Dominic O'Brien. I have been a fan his since hearing about and managing to get hold of a copy of, How To Develop A Perfect Memory (out of print), and How to Pass Exams.
Learn to remember, is an introduction to what is discussed in more depth in the earlier two books. He does not go into as much detail about his DOMINIC system in this text, which although beautifully presented, may leave some readers wanting for detail.
If you can, I would recommend that you also try and get hold of his Linguaphone course, which is four books and twelve cassettes long. This will fill in the gaps left by 'Learn to Remember'.
My recommendation is to buy this book as an introduction to Dominic O'Brien, and the very exciting prospect that you too possess a perfect memory but have just never been shown how to use it properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 July 2001
Got this book yesterday memorized the planets in two minutes and had total recall after an hour and still have. I have just memorized a pack of playing cards using the method given took about 20 mins but practice will speed this up. Altogether an excellent way to spend the weekend. This is not like a text book the exercises appear every so often among the illustrations, and at first may seem just like a story book - but if you try any of the exercises you will see the strength of this book.
The illustrations add to the book giving it the feel of a voyage through your mind. I'll just practice a bit longer on these cards then its off to Vegas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember anything and everything.. this book shows you how.., 10 Nov 2000
By 
K. Beyk (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic book for anyone seeking to improve their memory.. from day to day uses such as remembering tasks, routes, etc, to learning languages and even memorizing packs of cards, the techniques are surprisingly simple and before long, you'll be using them without even realising.. everything is very well laid out, with clear explanations and memorable illustrations making this not only an essential read, but a pleasurable one too.. Thoroughly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best written book on memory, ever!, 24 Aug 2001
By A Customer
For anyone interesting in improving their memory, this must be the book to buy. It is a pleasure to read a book written in such a clear, logical manner with wonderful illustrations. You will pick this book up again and again.
Having read a number of O'Brien's other books (all of which I have enjoyed) this is certainly the masterpiece. It covers both the working of your memory and easily applicable techniques.
I was really useless at remembering numbers and this book has somewhat changed that... In fact I was able to remember a string of numbers 100 digits long a few days after the book arriving! (Longer than most telephone numbers!!) A few weeks ago I also used the techniques for remembering an important speech - again great results and suprisingly simple.
In summary - a great read which should be on everyone's bookshelf. - Parents, buy it for your children - Children, buy it for your parents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Learn to Remember, 21 Oct 2007
By 
Roger Boyle (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a solid book which gives constructive ideas and execises. O'Brien's record speaks for itself but essentially nothing beats the old master- Harry Lorraine's "How to develop a super power memory"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most brilliant book about memory ever!, 24 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This is likely the best book about memory ever. Why? Because Dominic O`Briens systems are unique, brilliant and very easy to perform. He shows you everything about memory, from how to remember deck of cards to techniques that provide optimum results at exams. He also teach you how to draw mind maps. All of his techniques are explained very good and illustrations are really beautiful to look at. Obviously, no one knows more about memory systems than six times memory champion of the world, Dominc O`Brien. Buy this book today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 31 Jan 2004
This review is from: Learn to Remember (Paperback)
Quite good. The introductory stuff about the nature of memory and history of memory techniques is very interesting , but it goes on for too long before you get to the useful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for exams!, 20 April 2012
Every student should be aware of O'Brien's powerful memory techniques. Rather than trying to crowbar in boring lists of information, O'Brien teaches us how to make use of our imaginations in order to remember stuff. Our brains are playful, not mechanical. They respond much better to association and creativity, rather than to overly-structured lists. O'Brien shows us how to unlock this potential, and I believe that his approach is a very useful building-block of a successful approach to exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars learn to remember, 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Remember (Hardcover)
Easy to follow,written in laymans language,easy to comprehend. If you suffer with memory problems,take your time reading it,and don't be affraid to re-read a paragraph over again, It does work,if you have the time and the resolve....!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars memory, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good read,very informative and as improve my memory but would recomend the bookYou Can Have An Amazing Memory: Learn Life-changing Techniques and Tips from the Memory Maestroas it seems to have a more details in improving our memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn to Remember
Learn to Remember by Dominic O'Brien (Paperback - 13 Jun 2000)
Used & New from: 0.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews