Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in WWII tanks
A very detaild account of a german battalion in World War Two. It is more of a factual account of the men and the organisation than a social history. About half the book is about their actions and half about non fighting events,movements and organisation.As I am very interested in German WWII Assaullt Guns and Tanks this book ticks all the boxes for me.
Published 13 months ago by nigels

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but could have been shorter
This is the first account I read on Waffen SS Tank troops. It surely is a detailed account of Wittmann's exploits, you almost get a day to day account of his where abouts and with whom he spoke that day. What lets the book down a bit is the fact that many parts in the book are mentioned more than once. Part 1 contains a whole section that re/occurs about 10 pages later in...
Published on 22 Jun 2010 by L. Leentvaar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those interested in WWII tanks, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
A very detaild account of a german battalion in World War Two. It is more of a factual account of the men and the organisation than a social history. About half the book is about their actions and half about non fighting events,movements and organisation.As I am very interested in German WWII Assaullt Guns and Tanks this book ticks all the boxes for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but could have been shorter, 22 Jun 2010
By 
L. Leentvaar "Double Dutch" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
This is the first account I read on Waffen SS Tank troops. It surely is a detailed account of Wittmann's exploits, you almost get a day to day account of his where abouts and with whom he spoke that day. What lets the book down a bit is the fact that many parts in the book are mentioned more than once. Part 1 contains a whole section that re/occurs about 10 pages later in full.
I only read part 1 and only pick up part 2 if it's in the bargain bin.
Nevertheless, I found this book provides you with insight in how these soldiers went to war and how the tank units were built up. It also contains many previously unseen pictures from personal archives.
Personally I prefer Otto Carius' own account a more pallatble read than this book.(also by Stackpole)
Last but not least, I appreciate the fact that more and more of these accounts from the Axis side of WW II become available in English language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful detail but feels like the writing hasn't been checked ..., 24 July 2014
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
Wonderful detail but feels like the writing hasn't been checked so that same stories pop up several times over and again and the timeline seems a bit blurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the enemy can be brave, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
Covers much more than just the ascendancy of Michael Wittman; includes evolution of the Tiger Tank and tactics for its deployment in battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Historical Book, 5 Nov 2011
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
A great book on the life of a great man in terrible times. Not only that, but a good historical reference book which certainly casts a new light on certain 'allied' version of events. History is always written by the victor they say; its nice to know that sometimes the defeated can often throw a spanner in the works too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Wittmans resting place., 24 Jan 2011
By 
Mike H (Fleet Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
I came across the grave of Michael Wittman on a cold wet morning in Normandy
in October 2010,their were 21,000 graves in this German resting place but i was drawn to the far right hand side where their seemed to be a lot of people standing at this one grave stone.
Hear was this stone on the grass with Michael Wittmans Name on it.
I asked a few people who was Michael Wittman,i needed to find out more,
On my return from France i looked up his history then went online to Amerzon to find a book on his life.
Michael Wittman and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders WWII Vol one.
What a great book and What a leader of men,all country's have then, their is good and bad in us all.
Normandy June 6th 1944 must be rememberd by us all we owe our lives to this action
thank you for asking me to review this item M.H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Michael Wittman , by Patrick Agte ., 22 May 2010
By 
Mikael Sams "mik" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
I have read " Mchael Wittman and the Waffen ss by Patric Agte , volume 1 and 2 .

I can heighly recomend it .It is wery vell written , and Patrick A. come`s around the subjekt in fasinating and eksiting vay .
My best rating`s .
Mikael Sams , Denmark .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Preston "Trackpads" (Windsor / England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Wittmann and the Waffen SS Tiger Commanders of the Leibstandarte in WWII: v. 1 (Stackpole Military History) (Paperback)
Full of history well worth reading if your into ww2 and the germen tank men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews