Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meyers Memoirs
This is the first time I have read a book written by a member of the Waffen SS and I have found it to be very interesting and opened up a whole new perspective on the experiences of the combat soldier in World War II.

I found this 'unputtdownable' not wanting to wait to find out what happens next and that I think provides a good selling point.

But...
Published on 30 Oct 2007 by P. M. Elvidge

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point?
Good and detailed campaigns account from one of the top actors of these times... but always from a distance, without the real passion that we know must have been there . Kurt Meyer can't have achieved his extraordinary status by being a simple passer-by. He was an exceptional leader, and, according to some contemporary pictures he was actually enjoying it. So, why not...
Published on 5 Dec 2010 by Luke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meyers Memoirs, 30 Oct 2007
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
This is the first time I have read a book written by a member of the Waffen SS and I have found it to be very interesting and opened up a whole new perspective on the experiences of the combat soldier in World War II.

I found this 'unputtdownable' not wanting to wait to find out what happens next and that I think provides a good selling point.

But this does come across - at least until the latter chapters - as a book of war, war, war. There is little information on how Meyer was digesting his experiences and of the psychological impact it had on him and his soldiers.

As the book proceeds there is a transition - that may go unnoticed, due to the fast pace of the events - from the sweeping Blitzkrieg tactics of the German forces in the early years of the war, to the small scale battles for individual hills.

There is also to be found an explanation for Hitlers infamous order for his SS to remove their cuffbands.

I found that the addition of more maps in a better position within the book, would have added another dimension to reading and there are also a fair number of spelling mistakes (more than necessary), though really the quality of this book still deserves promotion.

In a few words:

Totally recommended, great read, unputtdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 5 April 2006
By 
Mr. Adrian Bushby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
I have spent five years looking for this book in English, and I still believe it was worth it. The only bad thing I have to say about the book, is, as the author explains, the fact that it has been changed into American English ( foxhole for trench etc) but that is not very often. This book is a reprint only done this year and it has been done very well. The quality of the book is superb. But more importantly, the content is excellent. The way he describes the hell he and his men had to endure is amazing. And unlike some others, of all sides, he points out constantly that it was his men that won his battles for him, under his direction. Throughout the book there is no attempt to apologise for anything that may have occurred during the war, simply the truth of what he saw and what he believed. The author is not as well celebrated as others in his army, but after reading this book you will wonder why he seems only to be mentioned in passing. Few others, including historians, have had the experience combined with the humility of this man, making for a gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grenadiers - by Kurt 'Panzer' Meyer, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
I bought this book having seen it in the bibliography of Anthony Beevor's - D-Day. Having read a number of biography's of this nature (eg Hans Von Luck - Panzer Commander, Pip Roberts - from the Desert to the Baltic)I had an expectation.
The book starts off a little turgidly and disappointingly doesn't cover his early life and entry into the Waffen SS. That said it quickly settles into an easy reading style and is informative, if a little jingoistic on occassion. This armoured recce commander is typcal of the blitzkrieg tactics and this comes out in the book. It has been translated into American English but I haven't found that it detracts from the narrative. It could do with some additional maps but the photographs are very good and not widely published.
A good insight into the campaigns of the LAH and HJ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that tries to re-address the balance, 5 Dec 2010
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
An excellent book which tries to re address the balance in this sad chapter of human history. A book which brings into doubt the so called righteousness of the allies who committed equal if not worse crimes in their breach of human rights and the treatment of prisoners of war. Yes things happened in Germany at certain camps that were awful and should not have, but this should not be on the head of every common soldier who, at the end of the day, carries out his\her orders in the field of battle regardless of what happens 'back home'. This book is about what happened on the batlle fields and the so called war crimes trials after.

Sadly it is something we still haven't learnt from as history repeats itself today in the gulf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Book, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
A very interesting account of a German soldier on the Eastern Front in World War !!. It must have been very difficult for both sides!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first hand accounts, 11 July 2006
By 
A. Marshall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
I agree with the previous reviewer. This book is a facinating read on the career of Kurt "Panzer" Meyer who lead his units from the front in every theatre of war he served in. I'm amazed that he is only mentioned in passing in other literature. Unputdownable!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point?, 5 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
Good and detailed campaigns account from one of the top actors of these times... but always from a distance, without the real passion that we know must have been there . Kurt Meyer can't have achieved his extraordinary status by being a simple passer-by. He was an exceptional leader, and, according to some contemporary pictures he was actually enjoying it. So, why not be up-front and share with us what was driving him - right or wrong - and how it was possible to have fun in the summer of 44?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay: a good first hand memoir but seriously flawed, 13 Nov 2007
By 
Carl (U.K. & U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
There are two parts to this book, on one side we have a first-hand account of the war from the view of a soldier and on the other what appears to be a propaganda leaflet.

To start with, Meyer provides the account of the war he fought, starting in Poland, campaigning through the Balkans, his battles on the Eastern Front, and his final battles fought in the west preluding to his capture, trail and imprisonment as a convicted war criminal. Meyer does provide a graphic account of his experiences, and one is able to appreciate to some degree what it must have felt like to have been there.

However to the other side: one notes throughout Meyer's work how his men never commit any war crimes in the east nor the west however he gladly provides various accounts of the war crimes committed by his foes. As the book proceeds into the chapters dealing with Normandy and beyond, one gets a sense of some pretty warped and radical views: he notes how it was the French resistances own fault French civilians were shot in reprisals and does not provide any feeling of remorse for such comments. He allows room to denounce the Allied bombing of Caen, stating the city was abandoned, yet fails to mention how it was major supply node, headquarters, and eventually a retreat route for German forces - it was hardly abandoned of German forces. It is these types of comments, and his defensive nature of the murder his men committed against Canadian troops that make half this book feel like a propaganda leaflet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biased but not without interest, 5 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
If you want to learn more about Panzermeyer you should read this book: "Meeting of Generals" by T. Foster. The lives of Kurt Meyer and Canadian general Foster narrated in parallel until they confronted each other on the battlefield in Normandy and after that in a military tribunal.

The W-SS officer Kurt Meyer was at the head of units that had no inclination for rounding up soviet POWs (not always ...) and that later executed Canadian soldiers in cold blood after a fair fight (if such fights exist), long after the combat and capture.

A brave soldier he was, daring, yes that too. This officer was nevertheless captured in september 1944 hiding in a pig pen, by Belgian civilians that were not even members of the resistance.

Just to put things right ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best WW11 books, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grenadiers: The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Stackpole Military History): The Story of Waffen SS General Kurt ... of Waffen SS General Kurt "Panzer" Meyer (Paperback)
Some times you have to look at an alternative view of the second WW and this is a great insight into a German Officer doing his duty. We may now not understand why someone of his obvious intelligence was so motivate, however I am sure his has something to do with the time and education in the years after WW1.
The winners of all wars always write the their side of the story first and I feel you should get both side of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b16150)

This product

Only search this product's reviews