Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars52
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2011
I've always wanted to know what it was like for these guys and their big machines during WW2. I was a little sceptical as to how exciting such stories might be but I found "Tigers in the Mud" made a great read. With a variety of Otto's diary entries and field reports. I have read a couple more books on the same topic after this one but this title is by far my favorite.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
A fascinating insight in to the war years of a truly inspirational tank commander, and tactical genius. Good job there weren't more like him...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2004
This autobiography covering the wartime career of Otto Carius is an interesting for for anyone interested in personal accounts of armoured warfare during the Second World War. Carius served in several tanks throughout the war, ranging from the small Panzer 38(t) to the Tiger I and, briefly, the huge Jagdtiger. He fought against the Russians and the Americans. The majority of the book is concerned with several actions in Tigers against the Russians.
The book is let down somewhat by a map that is difficult to relate to the text and some battle results that are a bit hard to believe (such as the destruction of 17 Russian IS-II tanks by Carius alone in a single encounter). Also, at several points throughout the book, Carius rails against those he considers weren't giving quite the full effort against the Russians and later the Americans. The fact that by 1944 a lot of Germans (military and civilians) realised they couldn't win, and wanted the fighting to stop, seems to have eluded him.
Carius respected his Russian opponents, but is critical of the US forces. The Russians would stand and fight, but the US tended to withdraw and rely upon overwhelming artillery and airpower (as you would do if you had overwhelming artillery and air superiority).
The negatives aside, the book gives a fairly good account of the strengths and weaknesses of the Tiger tank from a soldiers point of view.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Good book as a little insight on how the Tiger tanks operated but some aspects of the author thoughts on the german crimes of war and the american soldiers are disgraceful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
a good account of war by a decorated veteran ,full of cdetail and portrays war as it is ,a very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I enjoyed this book from the first page to the last. A very frank and honest view from the other side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This is a well produced book. A must read for understanding the German view of the war in the east.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
I'm half way through this book and it doesn't disappoint what a read so far
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
Very briefly, I am halfway through my third reading of this book and with the knowledge that I shall re-read it time and again in the years ahead. Otto Carius is a shining example of a now long lost code of human honour in the face of adversity.

This is an absolute MUST read.....you will not be disappointed!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2012
I wanted to read this book to understand the German perspective of the war and found the narrative generally interesting however the book suffers from a lack of maps and a glossary of some sort. My opinion is it is insufficiently descriptive and I would have like to have seen rather more detail about his experiences.
The foreword starts out as a rant against the world's attitude to Germany and, given historical facts, seems either naïve or unwarranted; this then surfaces again later. What also seems naïve is the impression that Germany is bravely defending itself against aggression, rather than the actual truth; although a good tale about the professionalism of the ordinary German soldier I was therefore disappointed to note he did not distance himself from the iniquities perpetrated by others; in fact there is no mention of such although I find it difficult to believe during the course of war the author never witnessed any, particularly during the brutal fighting on the Eastern Front.
He was also rather disparaging about the American fighting forces, forgetting perhaps that they weren't defending their home territory and had probably not been in combat continually as he had done.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)