Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NZ Trout Diaries-a must for serious fly fishers, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
If you're after an easy going book full of interest, event and sound information about fly fishing they really don't come any better than "The Trout Diaries" written by Derek Grzelewski. A former guide, Derek takes you month by month through a fishing season in New Zealand. And to say I became totally consumed would be an understatement. A big fan of the crystal clear streams down under, I found myself wanting to be back there more than ever. What really does it though is how wonderfully crafted this book is. An honest and philosophical account, you actually feel you're pacing a riverbank with the author, step by way. Having digested every page from cover to cover, back to front and inside out, I'm fighting back powerful urges of jumping on a plane to fly some 12,000 miles and sample those huge spotted beauties......A must read even if you have little intention of visiting NZ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!, 5 Nov 2013
By 
C. E. Meadows (Swinford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
This is a must read for any flyfisher.! I could not put the book down and it has me searching for flights to New Zealand!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 July 2013
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
I read this travelling around NZ last year. I read this as a sea fisherman with no knowledge of trout fishing. Hoping to try it myself very soon. Great book and looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautifully Written Book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
P Johansen "Trish-Intrepid Parents" (Queenstown New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
I never understood the addictive nature of fly fishing, but now, after reading The Trout Diaries and following the author Derek Grzelewski through his angling year, I can say that I do. As Grzelewski says: "At it's heart, fly-fishing is a journey towards simplicity, away from clutter and noise, towards places and states of mind that are pure and free." Trout Diaries is a companion book that you will want to read again and again by rivers, lakes and at home. It is rich with fly-fishing gems and thoughtfully articulated reflections on life, with the deep respect the author has for rivers, and the life it supports, evident throughout. If you are a fly-fisher, there is much to learn from the book where-ever you fish but be warned, the imagery shown by the photos and elegant prose will make fishing in New Zealand an irresistible attraction. This book is for fisherman, hunters, philosophers, writers and lovers of nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trout Diaries, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
I've just finished reading Trout Diaries and it is a wonderful read. There is plenty of fly-fishing law, philosophy, fun and honesty and above all else it is beautifully written. I've followed Derek's writing through Fly Life ([...]) and always look forward to the editions with his contributions. This book builds on these writings in a way that captures the reader and takes you to the waters edge. This book is written by a passionate fly-fisherman living the dream. A fly fisherman who has made this passion his life and who travels the length of New Zealand to be where the fishing is at its best, meeting with some rather eclectic characters along the way all speaking the universal language of fly-fishing.
There is a bond of sorts with all who fish the fly and you see this with the way Derek meets people and connects with them. This book is not a technical work or a `where to fish piece', but its full of knowledge that gently seeps from the pages. It makes you think. It makes you reflect. It makes you want to become a trout bum and travel the road with a fly rod and a dog.
Congratulations to Derek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stories from fishing in New Zealand, 5 Dec 2011
By 
David Lloyd (Wanchai, HK Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
Derek Grzelewski sees what most others do not; his thoughtful observations are carefully wound into stories that are neither just about technique, nor about the requisite equipment but rather how fishing for trout, pounding miles of river bank, chance encounters with locals and peering from bridges into running water, feed us. A December trip to waters that he'd rather not name, he observes that in the hut were he stayed overnight were, ... "two crossed fishing rods, and stuck into the guide eye of one of them, the stub of a cigar, thick as a thumb, burnt out and extinguished like the man's life itself. A golden band proclaiming it was a Macanudo". He threads his 12 months of fishing with his life experiences. This is not a book about pounds, numbers or the one that got away. He recounts his meetings with professionals, scientists, cockies, novices, old timers, whitebaiters... for each of them a different slant on what they take from the fabulously fresh still and running waters of New Zealand. I couldn't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trout Diaries - A Lovely Book, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand (Paperback)
This is a lovely book which has heaps to offer everyone including the non-angler. While the subject of the book is fly fishing in New Zealand, the author's portraits of the places he fishes, his experiences along the way and, most of all, the characters he meets (not to mention his dogs!) make this a book that is about much more than fishing. It would be a great gift for anyone with an interest in the natural world and if they happened to do the odd bit of fishing - well that would be a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand
The Trout Diaries: A Year of Fly-Fishing in New Zealand by Derek Grzelewski (Paperback - 14 May 2012)
£13.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews