Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the genesis of a real poet
I particularly like this collection because it includes Owen's pre-war poetry, and I think the very great importance of Owen is that he shows how real poetry is born.

Before WW1, Owen was a very SKILLFUL poet, and the war added little to that, apart from the fact that any skill just improves with practice. But a computer can write skillful poetry. What...
Published on 15 Nov 2006 by rain wildman

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a shame
Long having been acquainted with the incredibly moving work of Wilfred Owen, I bought this value for money collection of his works for my new Kindle.
I had read the former review of July 2012 which stated there was an error, by omission, of a whole line from Strange Meeting. Since this feedback was relayed 8 months ago, I had felt sure that the authors would have...
Published 22 months ago by Kathy Tipping Photography


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars the war poets., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really evocative of the time, a good stage play was Not About Hero's , and would recommend this to all who have an interest in the Poets of this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection bought in memory of my two great uncles who fell in the Great War. Very poignant, moving and apposite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poems, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this for myself and my daughter and we have both been very pleased with it. I first encountered Wilfred's poems when my daughter was doing GCSE's and have been hooked ever since.

If you like poetry this is one to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COLLECTED POEMS OF WILFRED OWEN, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a sad and emotional read but very good i would recommend this book to anyone interested in war poetry very goo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best war poetry ever written, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The poem are evocative. It is impossible to read these words without being moved and horrified. Every one should read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the poetry is in the pity, 14 Jan 2013
By 
heth "heth" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have always loved the poems of Wilfred Owen ever since i studied them at school. They never fail to bring a tear to my eye and as relevant today as they were when they were written. Times may have changed but war is every bit as futile now as it was then. Beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real must have classic., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy the work of this poet and have looked for a good collection to buy, but this is a very cheapone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Poems To End All Poems, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen (New Directions Books) (Paperback)
Wilfred Owen's poetry brings into your consciousness the horror of the First World War in extraordinarily haunting lines.
To hear these poems read while watching some of the footage of that hideous conflict would be an amazing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen (New Directions Books) (Paperback)
Excellent service. Poignant reminder of harrowing experiences of thousands of brave souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kindle vesion quite good but a little too list like for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen (New Directions Books)
Collected Poems of Wilfred Owen (New Directions Books) by Edmund Blunden (Paperback - 1 Feb 1965)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews