Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Disney(/Pixar) art book, make it this one
This book is simply stunning. It has facts on production of every full length Disney and Pixar feature to date what's more it's simply overflowing with artwork, printed on quality paper that's often spread out over one or two pages. This HUGE book is the definitive collectors item for any disney/pixar fan. Offcourse a book spanning every film will not go as in-depth as...
Published on 9 Oct 2011 by Disney fan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mickey Mouse book
Thank you for the book The Art Of Walt Disney - it is an amazing volume full of wonderful colour photographs and information - I love it!
Published 22 months ago by Paul R W Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one Disney(/Pixar) art book, make it this one, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
This book is simply stunning. It has facts on production of every full length Disney and Pixar feature to date what's more it's simply overflowing with artwork, printed on quality paper that's often spread out over one or two pages. This HUGE book is the definitive collectors item for any disney/pixar fan. Offcourse a book spanning every film will not go as in-depth as the individual art books do but like I said in the description: If you intend on buying just one artbook on Disney/Pixar, this is the one to get! With its high quality textile cover and hard plastic sleeve this is sure to become a collectors item when it goes out of print (until a future update appears)
btw I own the previous edition and do not regret buying this update, thats how much I like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very in-depth reference, but beware of different Editions, 13 Aug 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Where do you start when looking for Disney books?

I gave up asking the girl in Waterstones, as I was guided to several different locations in the store, thus also tempting me to buy an expensive but delicious drink from the inner-Starbucks. It was quite fitting then that this book was found in a charity shop days later for pennies, when I could have struggled to pick from all manner of different genre's.

The author of this book, Christopher Finch, is a (apparent) renown researcher in cinema history, thus making him the appropriate person to bring back to life Walt Disneys upbringing, rise to work, and the inevitable rise to fame. These earlier sections of the book are some of the more interesting, when Finch has to be less objectionable about what he thinks, and deliver the facts plain and simple. With the facts in mind, it's obvious that Walt was always going to succeed no matter where his career ended up.

After this brief history, Finch then moves into film territory, where he uses his own analyses to present each film as both an art-form and a product. Because of the original age of this book (1975), it inevitably ends before some of the companies more vast changes, but what we do witness is how the animations went from emotional pieces of art-form to more economical, conventional pieces of work that didn't stretch the budget too much. Fashion also played a part in animation techniques, as we witness how drawing styles moved into less tight territory. It was the sign of no primarily tight budgets and fashion, but proof that Disney had already changed the history of filmmaking with little left to prove.

The book is often flawed however when Finch approaches the subject convention's in filming methods. In many cases, the technicality of an animation supersedes it's story and arrangement, leaving him troubled as to whether he admires the film for it's innovation, or as a visual experience. One such example is "Fantasia", where perhaps the book shows some of it's age. Like many critics from years before him, he still describes the film as containing many flaws, and only values it's ambitious production rather than the now appreciated brilliance of synesthesia (matching colour to sound), and truly painstaking artwork. Of course, attitudes have changed since 1975, and Fantasia now firmly regarded as Disneys masterpiece after Pinocchio, which highlights just how Finch, like many critics of the time, were still grasping onto the more old fashioned conventions of how a film should be.

His arguments for character roles also extend into more questionable territory, though in this case his thoughts are more realistic. When talking of Pinocchio, although he agrees it's Disney finest film (which is widely renown), he contradicts these summaries with assumptions of characters either being vital or completely un-important. With better evidence to back up his assumptions, the read would be a lot more satisfying as a contextual analysis, but if you only want to understand the facts, then you could quite easily wash away his thoughts.

Another problem you could say is the quantity of his analysis, being rather unbalanced or perhaps even biased to Disney's first handful of films. Finch describes the first 3 films (Snow White, Pinocchio and Fantasia) in great detail, but after this the latter films are only summarized in mere sentences, which suggests his stronger affection for the earlier films. Although I don't doubt that notion myself, it's still highly unbalanced when each film deserves equal analysis.

The book contains a huge array of high quality original cel prints and fold out pictures that show story boards, sketches, and of course photographs. In my own time, I like to have a shot at copying them with my paint sets, giving the book more of a general purpose than a bedside read!

You'll note I said to be aware of the different editions. I currently own the original First print which is from 1975, but I've noted that at least further 2 - one from the 1980's and one from 1999, are also in circulation. The obvious difference between them is how much reference has been added to further update the book to that point, so I very strongly recommend asking what Copyright your copy will be (if buying) to see if you're getting the best value. To make matters worse, the covers all like virtually alike!

Summing up, this is a highly researched book that deserves praise in it's no-nonsense approach to the vast world of Disneyfication, but perhaps just lacks in balance. Never the less, due to it's age, I'd consider it a bargain when it simply does what it say's on the tin.

Or cover....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
Ordered for my daughter and friends to present to another artist friend for her 18th birthday. Quality of book superb, delivery fantastic, very quick and efficient. This book is well worth purchasing if you want to see how the cartoons were put together, love Walt Disney films, or just want to marvel at how good the animators are.

Certainly a book to treasure and dip into when you feel like it, plus a lot cheaper on Amazon than in the shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 9 April 2014
By 
M. J. Barker "TubbyMan" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
If you love the art of animation and especially the art of Mr Walt Disney Then this is definetly for you.
Great book with lots of pictures and a great deal of detailed information.
Updated to include the Pixar era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference book., 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
Fantastic book with so much information inside. Won't let my little boy look at this on his own though which winds him up!! Must be popular as i keep getting offers to sell mine back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Encyclopedia!, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
I was a bit hesitant to by this book, for one it was pricey and international shipping is even expensive specially the weight of the book made it more expensive to ship, but once you get the book its worth every penny you have paid. I have started reading a few pages, and the information it has it just outclass. It seems I have hit a jackpot. Excellent paper quality, and print. Lots of Disney illustrations you cannot find else where. The content is also well written. Any one who is an art fan or even who is a Disney fan this is must have book to be added in the collection.
A thick fat book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
The book was excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mickey Mouse book, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you for the book The Art Of Walt Disney - it is an amazing volume full of wonderful colour photographs and information - I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Walt Disney: From Mickey Mouse to the Magic Kingdoms and Beyond, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Art of Walt Disney (Hardcover)
the amazing world of Walt Disney unveils in front of you with unique pictures describing the process that was followed for each Disney and Pixar movie to be happen!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Walt Disney
The Art of Walt Disney by Christopher Finch (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2011)
£39.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews