Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like watching magic tricks being revealed
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:36 Mins
The two earlier books from ILM were Industrial Light & Magic: The Art of Special Effects in 1987 and Industrial Light & Magic: Into the Digital Realm in 1996.

This new 360-page hardcover features 43 films from 1995 to 2011. Movies from before 1995 are featured in only a few pages since they were in the earlier books. To give you an...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by Parka

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the definitive book on ILM's recent years
Having been a huge fan of the previous two ILM books The Art Of Special Effects and Into The Digital Realm) I was excited to see this book coming out , bring upto date ILM's work in more recent times. Having now had the opportunity to read the book I feel a degree of disappointment and a missed opportunity.
Firstly compared to the previous two books it looks smaller...
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Bukhtawar Dhadda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like watching magic tricks being revealed, 30 Dec 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:36 Mins

The two earlier books from ILM were Industrial Light & Magic: The Art of Special Effects in 1987 and Industrial Light & Magic: Into the Digital Realm in 1996.

This new 360-page hardcover features 43 films from 1995 to 2011. Movies from before 1995 are featured in only a few pages since they were in the earlier books. To give you an idea of how far it goes back, the first movie featured is Casper (1995).

The more recent movies are Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy, Transformers, Iron Man, and the Star Wars Prequel Trilogy and even Rango from 2011.

Each movie has a writeup focusing on the special effects used, and comes with accompanying film stills and photos from behind the scenes. The interesting stories and interviews from the film staff makes for a fascinating read. It's like finding out how magic tricks are done. These guys are living right at the bleeding edge, creating software for making movies when nothing else in the market exists. It's intriguing to read how they overcome challenges that come with every film.

This book is a wonderful flashback at how techniques for movie making have evolved. In Jumanji, The monkeys riding on the police bike still looked rather crude. Fast forward to present time, we now have Avatar which is basically a full length special effects movie.

Highly recommended to movie buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the definitive book on ILM's recent years, 30 Oct 2011
By 
Bukhtawar Dhadda (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
Having been a huge fan of the previous two ILM books The Art Of Special Effects and Into The Digital Realm) I was excited to see this book coming out , bring upto date ILM's work in more recent times. Having now had the opportunity to read the book I feel a degree of disappointment and a missed opportunity.
Firstly compared to the previous two books it looks smaller and thinner and this is explained by the use of non- glossy paper, a huge mistake when you are presenting lavish movie images.
Secondly the quality of the images ranges from the shocking (blurred, grainy) to exceptional and this is extremely disappointing as the previous two books overcame this very well. An example of what you are in for can be found in the first four pages- a horrible double page spread of a matte painting from Kuosawa's 'Dreams' which looks like it has been lifted from an old VHS copy to an incredibly crisp image from Iron Man 2 accompanying Jon Favreau's introduction to the book. The book is full of these contrasts and it is a shame as clean images of these shots can be found in a variety of magazines.
Then there is the complete omission of 'Hulk' which contains some of the most difficult effects shot ever produced by ILM'S at the time. This alone gets one star dropped for this book.
All in all I would recommend people get the book for the many great images of those fantastic movies that it does contain but be prepared to grimace every 3rd or 4th page as you get a grainy, blurred image. This could and should have been so much better and the author could have learnt a thing or two from looking at the previous two ILM books rather that trying to deny their existence as the narrative in this book often hints at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial Light & Magic....still up there., 6 Mar 2012
By 
Licensed Taximan (London, city of contrast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
The special effects in cinema is still, and will always be, expanding and ILM are still right up there. There are other special effects "houses" out there of course, Digital Domain and Weta to name just two, and the quality generally of today's CGI from most of these special effect companies and others continues to push the digital frontiers. But ILM doesn't sit on its pixals given its longer heritage and this latest offering on the story of ILM brings you up to bang up to date (2011) with the CGI fest that is "Rango". Others on this site will and would have expounded better than I on this book, so all i'll say is if you are a fan of the art of cinematic special effects you'll enjoy this read....and looking at the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, for the fans, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
I got this book within 3 days, even though I choose standard delivery.

The book itself is bigger than I thought. The cover was a little bit damaged when it arrived, but no big deal.

It was different than what I exspected: there are big pictures in it, with an explanation. They explain what type of challenges they had during the making of certain films.

I would recommend it, because of the nice high quality pictures. If you're not really a fan of films or vfx, don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth it, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
This is such an interesting book, I now need to get the previous two editions as i need to know more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
bought this for my son, as it was on his wish list. Excellent value, beautiful book with lots of interesting stuff to read alongside fabulous images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for nephew, he seemed happy!, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Industrial Light & Magic (Hardcover)
Gift for nephew, he seemed very happy!
Gift for nephew, he seemed very happy!
Gift for nephew, he seemed very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Industrial Light & Magic
Industrial Light & Magic by Pamela Glintenkamp (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2011)
28.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews