Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Labour of Love
This is a beautifully produced book. The photographs are truly breathtaking and text is concise and informative. Reading this book will inspire you to get out there and take your own pictures or to just go out and appreciate the natural beauty surrounding us here in Europe.

I can't name just one favourite image as they are all outstanding, but the one of the...
Published on 27 May 2010 by Elle Kennedy

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wonders
Wild Wonders of Europe is the initiative of a group of top-class wildlife photographers and naturalists aimed at raising awareness to the wealth of creatures which share the contintent with us. Sometimes with the help of the human race, sometimes in spite of it and most often because they inhabit areas of no financial interest. The book seeks to demonstrate that...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Peter Warne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wonders, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Peter Warne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
Wild Wonders of Europe is the initiative of a group of top-class wildlife photographers and naturalists aimed at raising awareness to the wealth of creatures which share the contintent with us. Sometimes with the help of the human race, sometimes in spite of it and most often because they inhabit areas of no financial interest. The book seeks to demonstrate that Europeans have no need to visit far flung corners of the earth to see remarkable wildlife. It is no surprise that the photographs are universally of very high quality. Just to be asked to submit work for the publication is a mark of noteworthy photographic prowess. Not every reader will like all the pictures because they have nearly all been taken with a creative flair to make them stand apart from standard photographs. They usually succeed but that very creativity may not appeal to all in every case. Why then only 3 stars ? In my opinion, the creators have been let down by the publishers. For a work of this standing (and I have seen some of the originals projected) the printed version doesn't stack up. The quality of the print is average but it is the spatial arrangement of the work which is particularly irritating. When the pictures are framed and printed on one page, they are good. All too often, however, they are spread across 2 pages (without framing) and the binding obscures the central portion of what could have been a remarkable image. Overall, a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Labour of Love, 27 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
This is a beautifully produced book. The photographs are truly breathtaking and text is concise and informative. Reading this book will inspire you to get out there and take your own pictures or to just go out and appreciate the natural beauty surrounding us here in Europe.

I can't name just one favourite image as they are all outstanding, but the one of the fox standing by a car (photographer Laurent Geslin) has truly captured for me the essence of the urban fox. I love the one of the blue-legged Avocet chick standing by its mum (photographer Jari Peltomaki) - this is where the book is informative as I never knew there was such a bird and such a place as Texel in Holland. Also the image of the gentle gaze of the Arctic Fox (photographer Mireille de la Lez) is incredible. I could go on but I think you get the picture - no pun intended.

This book is one I will treasure for many, many years to come and I'm sure anyone else who buys it will feel the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography, 2 Jun 2010
By 
DS (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
Beautiful photography. Purchased it as a present for a friend having seen a review for it in the Sunday papers. I was so taken with the photography that immediately purchased one for myself. Can't believe it is all taken in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild wonders of Europe - Lovely photos of European wildlife, 21 Jun 2010
By 
J. Lees (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
See these species when you still can, i've followed the development of this project on the website and there have been thousands of pictures taken - these are some of the very best, lots of the beasts you didn't even know we had in Europe. 9/10

Jon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wild Wonders Book, 16 Jun 2010
By 
R. Portman (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
Terrific range of Photographs and data from all over Europe showing the full diversity in wildlife and landscape. One criticism is that the text on one page often details the photographs on others making it difficult to absorb.

Amazons price at 50% is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars european animals, 4 Jun 2010
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
Mostly magnificient pictures but a presentational mess.How any publisher can destroy the integrity of pictures by producing 2 page pictures where the critical part is hidden in the crease is a mystery.
69 photographers took pictures in 48 countries(only 47 listed) from a very loosely defined Europe which covered parts of North Africa and Asia.
The pictures are grouped as unseen.unexpected,unforgetable,unplaceable and unheard.
Mainly the pictures are excellent but a few are out of focus,meaningless,arty-crafty or amateurish and should not have been included.
The text is minimal,pages are not numbered,there is no index or bibliography and the map is hopeless.
Definately not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collecxtion, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
Brilliant photos, well printed, but it could have been better in a landscape format so the centre binding did not disect the shots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
This is a very comprehensive visual review of the beautfil wildlife to be found on our continent. Whilst being inspiring to photographers it remains focused on its objective of raising awareness of some of the more obscure wildlife in the natural world and problems that may face it. It does so in a highly creative and imaginative manner. Beautfiully presented and as a photographer it will give endless entertainment, excitment and encouragement. A must have for anyone with even a slight interest in the natural world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Europe is wild, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
"Wild wonders of Europe" is a sensational, stunning and indeed jaw-dropping coffee table book. I'm surprised it's not more widely known!

It contains superb colour photos of both wilderness areas, wildlife and plants, all made in Europe. Frankly, it covers pretty much everything, from shorebirds to whales, from dragonflies to moose, from orchids to flamingos... You get the picture. The photos of wilderness landscapes are particularly excellent, and feel even better than the photos of animals.

My only problem with this book is that the text pages opposite the photo pages very often deal with something completely else! There seems to be a total disconnect between the illustrations and the actual text.

I lived in Europe all of my life, and I had no idea there were still so many relatively pristine wilderness areas on "our" continent. I'd imagine "civilization" had taken over pretty much everything by know, complete with the obligatory crows and house sparrows. It seems at least part of Europe still rocks!

"Wild wonders of Europe" would make a perfect birthday or Christmas gift (I bought it for my parents this Christmas), but it might also be a good gift to yourself, especially if you think all of Europe looks like the Ruhr area or Chernobyl.

Ten stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Photo-books of the year!, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Wild Wonders of Europe (Hardcover)
I first read about the project back in 2008 and I thought it sounded very exiting. When I bought the book a week ago al my expectations came true.
Amazing pictures with great texts that guided me thru the book and kept me at my desk for hours. If you purchase one photo-book this year,
then it has to be Wild Wonders of Europe! They have been to every country in Europe to document the most exiting and beautiful places, just so you
can sit back in your sofa and watch them. Stunning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Wonders of Europe
Wild Wonders of Europe by Peter Cairns (Hardcover - 28 May 2010)
25.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews