Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the world of faery!
This book begins with text written by artists Brian Froud and Alan Lee explaining why they love faeries and drawing them and other wee folk. Then there is the mythology side of it which gives us some background and understanding, all this text is surrounded by wonderful little drawings. The rest of the book then displays gorgeous work by both artists along with quirky...
Published on 7 Aug. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rudy! rudy!
fab book, I love it! I have not read any of the other books or seen them. I bought the book for my neice who is 10, she is a fantastic reader and far more mature than most her age. I thought this book perfect, however I didn't realise it has quite alot nakedness-some of which was in rather rude positioning, so please be warned if buying for children :(

So...
Published on 30 May 2011 by miss c


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most incredible book in the history of writing!!!, 4 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Faeries (Paperback)
Faeries send you into a world of goblins and kelpies in the land of Faeries. The realism that Lee and Froud give the illustrations and text is fabulous and they do not lose the realities of faeries to popular belief; they don't include false delicate butterfly-winged creatures but miscievious and sometimes deadly tricksters. I highly recommend Faeries to anyone who has ever read a line and for those who haven't I pity greatly. BRAVO !!! MR. FROUD AND MR.LEE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever wanted to know the TRUTH about the fair folk?, 7 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Faeries (Paperback)
From the origins of the faerie race to their courts and Kingdoms this book is a treasure house of lore and beautiful art.It concerns itself mostly with the lore of the Celtic folk, and acts as both as a collection of tales and a bestiary. Like Faerie itself this book distorts time. Pick it up for a moment, and you`ll find hours have passed.This is a work to treasure and enjoy....oh, just don`t have anything Iron around when you read it...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has everything, 2 Aug. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faeries (Paperback)
As always Brian Froud reveals to be one of the best! This book has lots of wonderful illustrations as he always does and all of them in one book, it's perfect! He tells and 'teaches' you lots of things from the faery realm. I've seen some of these drawings and paintings in other book, so if you already own some of them try a second opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic Poetry, 14 April 2000
By 
toons@tesco.net (Hartlepool, England. U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
Anyone who has grown up with and experienced the artwork and Illustrations of Arthur Rackham and his Victorian Faeries will appreciate this modern wonder of the Little People, of the Gentry and of the spirit of natures children. Buy it now! It's a must for any collectors bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 17 May 2012
By 
N. Burgess (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
I was so excited to receive this item and I was not disappointed! It is beautifully illustrated and written. Truly breathtaking! Don't hesitate to buy this product for yourself or as a gift, it will delight the owner for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for Faerie friends!, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
If there's one book all people should read about Faeries it is certainly this one. It is also highly recommendable for children (+7 years maybe). It is a realistic and detailed guide book on Faeries and their history, including good amount of warnings of inappropriate treatment of Fae Folk. Don't be concerned if you've read reviews mentioning material unsuitable for children. If these kind of pictures harm children, then children cannot go to any art museum or read anything about world history at all. Seeing a couple of nipples or bottoms doesn't traumatize children. Some pictures are scary - and that's what they're supposed to be! Some Faery Folks ARE scary! Showing children pictures of cute little Tinkerbells is same than showing them cute pictures of tiger cubs and leaving out all material on how the tigers get their food. When Faeries are concerned, it is very important that children understand that they are very real and should not be joked about. Also, they are not evil or demonic as church tends to teach but ancient companions of human beings, just living on a different dimension of life. The only "flaw" is that the book concentrates mostly on faerie from Great Britain and Ireland, and that many stories in the book are taken from source material. A serious student of Faeries reads the original books by Kirk and other experts as well but the book by Lee & Froud is nonetheless a joyful and inspiring book on our Fair neighbours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars rudy! rudy!, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
fab book, I love it! I have not read any of the other books or seen them. I bought the book for my neice who is 10, she is a fantastic reader and far more mature than most her age. I thought this book perfect, however I didn't realise it has quite alot nakedness-some of which was in rather rude positioning, so please be warned if buying for children :(

So maybe it's not quite appropriate for her, so i shall have to keep it :)
It is a lovely book, but i feel more suited to older people and because of this I have put it's mark down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight, 12 May 2013
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
I have long loved the world of the fey. I have many books, both modern and old, which tell stories of the world of faerie. So, perhaps because of my love of this world, it is unsurprising that I finally discovered this book. Brian Froud is a well-known name in this particular branch of literature, having produced many works on the world of faerie. This particular edition is worth having for a couple of reasons. The first is the fantastic introduction by Froud himself. He describes how, over thrity years ago, FAERIES came into being. He talks about the shared inspiration with Alan Lee, and how upon its release it created quite a storm. People who are expecting the faeries to be pretty winged women, resting on flower petals may be shocked by the quality of this faerie book. Froud and Lee, drawing upon folklore, instead present faeries with "wizened faces with sharp, little (or big!) teeth, most of them up to no good".
A word of warning though to parents who see the word faerie and assume that this book will be suitable for young readers - although the text is fine, some of the illustrations feature nudity. Although it is in a very innocent way, parents may want to stick to the traditionally illustrated stories for sharing with their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fisrt real look into faeries, good and bad, 9 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Faeries (Paperback)
I first found this book in thge sci-fi section of my local bookstore, I had seen the cartoon short based on this book and I was interested in the what the book was like. I paged through it thinking it would be a well illustrated tolkien like story, like the animated version. Then after looking through about half a page I was hooked, I couldn't put it down, I stoped reading when the store was closed and the checkout clerk forced the book from my hands, two days later I was back with the price of the book in my wallet. This was the first book I had ever read that actually talked about the evil, dark faeries that your childhood storybooks never talk about, like redcaps, and the unseelie court. I have read this book cover-to-cover several times and I am still finding things in some of the illustrations I hadn't noticed before. If your interested by this book, get yourself a copy of the animated version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Fellas' Master Work, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Faeries (Hardcover)
Magical, large format, HB/dj book on the world of fairies with excellent pencil/pen & ink/watercolour illustrations by Messrs. Froud & Lee. The first section is set out rather like a naturalist's notebook with jottings and sketches on different fairy types, from Brownie to Will o' the Wisp, as if they had been seen and catalogued in the field. The second section is a botanist's version of same, detailing the plants which are connected to fairies in lore. This informal layout, while engaging, leaves it feeling rather unfinished, hence four stars. A book which will delight children of most ages (although the very young might be scared by some of the more grotesque entries - they're not all elfin babes!) and inspire Fantasy artists alike. This review is from the original 1978 edition which I bought for a fairy song on a well known auction site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faeries
Faeries by Alan Lee (Hardcover - 1 Oct. 2010)
£17.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews