Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual advent calendar, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Ms. E. A. Macdougall (newcastle upon tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
this was a most unusual pop up advent calendarwith a book of 24 rhymes to go with the numbers to describe what each penguin was doing. The child I gave it to loves penguins and has looked at it again and again during ans after advent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, good quality, different, and not a choc in sight!, 15 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
a lovely alternative 3-d advent calendar with a little book giving a rhyme for each door opened. my 4 year old boy likes the colours, and penguins. perfect! much better than cheap chocolates.

we don't have the book this is based on, but i think it might be on the birthday list.

highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Penguintastic Advent Related Fun, 10 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
It may well be a small segment of the market; penguin fixated, uncannilly numerate, early readers that is, but my son falls firmly into it and this was the only advent calendar for him. OK, he's already a fan of '365 Penguins'the beaufifully designed picture book by Jean-Luc Frommental and Joelle Jolivet featuring a stylish family whose Frank Lloyd Wright designed home is overrun by determinedly un-housetrained penguins for a full year at the rate of one a day. Children unfamiliar with the book would find this calendar a strange entry into uncharted waters but maybe a pleasing one. The calendar is a sizable, and space demanding, pop up version of the family's house with the 24 doors letting us see into doors, windows, the chimney, even the bin, with each window revealing a penguin up to some antic or other, tucked into a flap at the top of the calandar is a little book with a rhyme for each of the 24 windows - these are not as well written as the book but have made my four year old roar with laughter fairly reliably. I'll admit that I love this calandar as much as my son does and that my only gripe is that a few of the flaps are a little keen to spring open unassisted. There is no religious content to this calendar whatsoever (yet: I'm writing this on day 10) which is fine by me but may put off others. If you like penguins and lovely graphic design this is the product for you. If you're not sure and you have time before you need to start opening those doors test your enjoyment of the '365 Penguins' book or its amusing pop up countdown offshoot '10 Penguins'before committing to a penguin based advent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 364 penguins advent calendar., 4 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
This is an absolute delight, a real alternative to branded chocolate calendars. My Son who at only 20 mnths really looked forward to finding the Penguin each morning, and then showing it to friends later in the day. We have subsequently purchased the book (364 Penguins) but if you are not aware of the story, it would not spoil your enjoyment of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant (non-religious) advent calendar, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
I bought this as a surprise gift for my (adult) penguin-obsessed athiest sister and it was great. Since she posted all the individual days to her facebook page, I got to see each day too. It was surreal,weird and absurd in turn and apparently captivated her work colleagues too. The only problem was that it made her Christmas presents seem much more dull in comparison. I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for my class, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
I used this advent calendar to support cross curricular aspects of maths such as weeks, months, years; triangle numbers, times tables etc. which arose from using the '365 penguins'.
The calendar was a great tie-in, but not as good as the book. The mini book with it about the days on the advent calendar was not very inspiring, or fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something uniquely different, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
What a lovely way to count down to Christmas. It is a fantastic scene that opens out into 3D. There is a little poem that goes with each day as you open each door. The best advent calendar ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a gorgeous advent calendar, and stops the ..., 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
This is a gorgeous advent calendar, and stops the children begging for chocolate first thing on a winter's morning. My two year old with a penguin problem loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
Gave this book/calender for my girl in early christmas present and age really liked it! Nicely made and funny short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar (Calendar)
So clever, and so worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

24 Penguins Before Christmas Advent Calendar: A 365 Penguins Advent Calendar
Used & New from: £4.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews