Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great art with biased text, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:23 Mins

I found out that this book is rather controversial after reading all the comments left by other readers on Amazon, most are disgusted by the historical inaccuracies and personal agenda of the authors. Even I have to agree to a certain extent. At the end of the book, you'll get the impression that Norman Rockwell, Leyendecker's competition, is nothing but vile. One reader even pointed out a knock-off painting that was mistaken as an original Leyendecker work. These are only two examples.

In short, you should get this book for the art and not the text.

Leyendecker's paintings is easily identifiable by the exaggerated, quick brushstroke effect, or crosshatched strokes with oil paint. The reason why I bought the book was to check out how he draws the folds on those clothes. His command of drawing clothes and drapery is masterly. His more iconic pieces would be the Arrow Collar Man, New Year babies, and the covers for Saturday Evening Post.

Plenty of cover art he did for magazines are also included, although it's small at 9 per page. I thought the scans and reproduction of the paintings are pretty good. Yes, there might be yellow stains on those old copies of Saturday Evening Post but note that these paintings are from before the 1950s. The large illustrations are reproduced well, showing the texture of the medium. I like that his portraits are full of form and solidity, which I understand are drawn with models as reference.

The included biography is controversial but I didn't really buy this book for the text.

All said, it's still a very decent archive of Leyendecker's work.

The art is good enough to warrant a 5-star rating, regardless of what is written.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leyendecker, simply the best., 21 Mar 2009
By 
ventura (Worcestershire. UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
This is a beatifully presented book in every way. Quality, style, content.
It is also the book that Leyendecker fans have been waiting many years for. The wait as been worth while. Packed with glorious colour plates on almost every page. almost certainly the most Comprehensive catalogue of Leyendecker work available in general print today. I will not go through the full contents of the book as the Amazon Product Description, covers everything perfectly.
I wiil just say that J.C.Leyendecker was a true original at the cutting edge of a new age of art and advertising. Many followed him and his style (including Norman Rockwell)but he was the original.
How do you set a new style ? Joe did. True genius.
Buy the book,you won't be Disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fitting Tribute to an Important and Overlooked Artist, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Dr. R. Brandon (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
This is a hansom coffee table book with many excellent reproductions. J. C. Leyendecker was one of the earliest pioneers of magazine illustration and poster work in the United States and for quite a while tutored the now perhaps more famous Norman Rockwell. Not a great deal has been recorded about the life of Leyendecker so the biographical section, whilst adequate, is not very long. The artist was in regular employment and carried on a very industrious life, the only unusual, if that is the correct phrase, fact about his life being his life-long partnership with his key model Charles Beach. During the early and very productive section of Leyendecker's career from 1898 to 1936 the existence of such a relationship had to be kept very discrete, hence an absence of revealing letters or personal documents. The artist did experience family problems which were not helped by his relationship with Beach. The authors Cutler and Cutler, both directors and founders of the National Museum of American Illustration in Newport, Rhode Island, have done a nice job on this book and have reproduced all 322 `Saturday Evening Post' covers that Leyendecker painted, together with a host of other work for Collier's Weekly and many examples of advertisements for Arrow Collars and Kuppenheimer fashion plates which often featured Charles Beach. I have a few quibbles with the style of English the authors adopt and the frequent use of the ugly word `imagist' rather than illustrator or commercial artist but otherwise this is a very nicely produced work which is fitting for this somewhat neglected but important and very influential artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undoubtedly a lovely book but..., 12 April 2012
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
For pictures and quality prints this is one of the best (if not one of the only) Leyendecker collections widely available. It's a very lovely tome with a beautiful cover beneath it's dust cover and wonderful prints on glossy pages. The only thing which stopped me from giving this the full 5 stars is, as mentioned by every other reviewer too, the text.

I bought the book knowing the text was biased, ignorant, worthless - take your pick - so I had no intention of reading it too thoroughly, though even a cursory glance shows just how unimpressive the opinions of the authors are, and I don't intend to read much further into the book. The forgeries noted by others are also glaringly obvious which is a real shame, nonetheless, for a collection of Leyendecker's work and for this price, I don't regret my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social history revealled, 1 Dec 2010
By 
J. T. Edwards "Waldorfbear" (Didcot, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
I had never heard of this artist but brought it on strength of the recommendations and am very glad I did. Fascinating how a gay couple (the artist and the model) had such an influence of contemporary American culture, that fact will have a few choking on their pumpkin pie! Great illustrations throughout, masses of them, and intersting text that doesn't seek to deny the real lives of those concerend (for good and bad). Essential for anyone interested in American culture and / or gay history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
A big book full of images printed on great paper with a nice attention to detail such as colours and explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Le Meilleur-hawthorn "Purple Jim" (Rennes, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
A fantastic collection of this master's illustrations. If you love Norman Rockwell, you'll love this fascinating book of early 20th century commercial art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 13 July 2013
By 
martin Ford (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
worth the money wonderful book and very interesting, he was a great artist who's work should be more valued I feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true Master, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
A wonderfully insightful book on possibly the greatest illustrator of his generation, an artist who inspired many of his contemporaries, and still inspires to this day. Priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great showcase of the work of J.C. Leyendecker, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.C. Leyendecker (Hardcover)
Leyendecker was one of the great and successful commercial illustrators of the early twentieth century and has influenced generations of artists over the years. He comes with an interesting history, which this book does its best to convey. All in all a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

J.C. Leyendecker
J.C. Leyendecker by Judy Goffman Cutler (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2008)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews