Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trekgasmic!
If you are looking for a book about the original Sixties series of Star Trek, then go no further - because Star Trek: The Original Series 365 is the book to have. You will have, with my apologies, no tribble at all in thoroughly enjoying this volume. The hardback edition of the book itself is physically rather weighty*, and contains 371 pages, half of which are comprised...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Jd Bluestone

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Mapster
I agree with everthing Mapster says about this book, it really has been spoilt, I too thought there might be a printing or cutting error, but if there was a cutting error the photos would not look right.

However, that aside the book is printed on excellent paper and the photos are also excellent. For a book of this quality I think the price from Amazon is...
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by DVD Collector


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trekgasmic!, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Jd Bluestone "J.D.B." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a book about the original Sixties series of Star Trek, then go no further - because Star Trek: The Original Series 365 is the book to have. You will have, with my apologies, no tribble at all in thoroughly enjoying this volume. The hardback edition of the book itself is physically rather weighty*, and contains 371 pages, half of which are comprised of an intelligently chosen and presented, amusing and entertaining assortment of diagrams, illustrations, stock footage and photographs - some of which have seldom been published elsewhere. Where else for example, would you find an image of George Kirk's son in a replica Starfleet Captains uniform, sitting in the Big Chair with his uncle, James Kirk looking on?

The other half of the book is comprised of an entertaining and insightful episode by episode guide to the original series, intermixed with production and pre-production technical facts, behind the scenes snippets and clearly presented commentaries about the series original actors, locations, sets, design considerations and plot points and a concise index. More than just yet another episode guide - the book is a powerhouse of information and I well recommend it.

* If you are planning on purchasing from Amazon, and it is possible, I strongly advise you purchase said item with the Super Saver package offer or you may incur expensive mailing costs.

J. Bluestone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book marred by unnecessary publishing design gimmicks., 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
A great little reference guide for the casual Star Trek fan and for younger viewers new to the Original Series. And although die-hard trekkies/trekkers would probably enjoy reading this book, there is little new in here that they won't know already.

The book is a hardback without dust jacket, printed on quality glossy paper. It is printed throughout in full colour and is packed with hundreds of photos which mostly relate to each episode. Some of the photos are new and some more familiar. There are even some effects shots from the remastered DVDs which was nice and unexpected. There are other photos as well, relating to advertising, collectibles, publicity etc. But little in the way of behind the scenes photos. At the end there is a nice photo and section about the original eleven foot long USS Enterprise model and how it is now displayed at the Smithsonian Museum.

When you open the book, the page to the left contains the all the text relating to a particular episode. The righthand side is a full page photo of a scene or character from that episode. Each episode has at least eight or more pages devoted to it. The text is a basic synopsis of each episode along with some character quotes and brief background information relating to the making of the show, the characters and history of the Original Series. Missing here though, is any guest cast list, director and writer credits or original air date for each episode. Although these can be found in other books, it would have been a nice touch to have them here as well. So that the book could have been a more complete episode guide.

Although much of the information in this book will be familiar to most readers over the age of 35, there are still some annedotes that are probably not as well known. For instance, did you know that the part of Commodore Matt Decker in the episode The Doomsday Machine was originally written for the actor Robert Ryan.

The book has been published in landscape format in that it only measures 16.5cm in height and 24cm in length. This means that you get a very short, (in height), fat book. Now some people may like this style of design. Personally I don't. I much prefer the standard coffee table portrait style book. My second gripe is with the page numbering system. I have no problems with actual design of the cut-off numbers. Which incidentally is a design feature and not a printing error as some people seem to think. Its just that the page numbers are far too big for the page itself. This means that the text has been reduced in size in order to fit in between the numbers. Also on some of the text pages there is a lot of empty white space, which could have been filled by either additional text or a small inset photo. I'm sure that there must have been lots of additional photos at the author's disposal that weren't used which could have filled any empty spaces.

To sum up. This is a lovely book with lots of useful information and great colour photos. However it is not the complete reference guide it could and should have been. For the die-hard Star Trek fan there are other books with far more detailed information. But for the casual fan or newbie this book is a great starting off point. However the book is marred by unnecessary publishing design gimmicks such as the book's landscape design and page numbering system. Its a pity that the publishers didn't have enough faith in the original source material without having to resort to these gimmicks. However that said, the book is an entertaining easy read which deserves to be on the bookshelf of even the most casual fan of the Original Series. It is a perfect, (though incomplete in some ways), episode reference guide to keep alongside your Original Series DVDs. If you view the book in that way then you won't be disappointed. And at 10 including shipping, Star Trek 365 is a bargain that won't hang around for long.

Overall I would give the book four stars out of five for text and photo contents. But loses one star because of the unnecessary gimmicky nature of the book design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book at a great price., 23 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
I'm only a casual Star Trek fan and don't really own any other merchandise, so I found this book to be a great read. For me it was both informative and entertaining with an easy-on-the-eye layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic companion to the show, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
This has just arrived and I have to say I'm really pleased with this purchase, not least considering how reasonably priced it is. If you've more than a passing interest in TOS then this is a great companion to have to the television series. The book is satisfyingly thick and weighty with high quality photos reproduced throughout as well as being packed full of interesting minutiae around the shows themselves. It's also clearly a labour of love by the authors, to whom I'm very grateful.

I've seen from other reviews that some shoppers have been unlucky in that the copies they received were tattered or worn looking. I just want to add here for anyone who's tempted by this book but is a little wary of buying it due to reading those reviews that my copy is in 100% new, unused condition. I heartily recommend this to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing wrong with page numbers!!!, 21 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
The folks above are quite right in their praise of this book - it's a great addition to any collection without being considered comprehensive (if you want a comprehensive history of ST-TOS by the way look no further than Bob Justman and Herb Solows's "Inside Star Trek: The Real Story.") But back to 365, what I'm struggling to comprehend are my fellow reviewers'negative comments about the book's page design. The page numbers on the left hand spreads are indeed cut off top and bottom but with the greatest respect guys, it's just a cool piece of graphic design and certainly not irritating enough to cost a star from a review. The fun of this book is the selection of stills, some obvious and some quirky with a lot you won't have seen before. Even if you don't like trendy graphics, enjoy it for what it is, a fun, funky but slickly put together scrapbook about your fave show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content, tough format, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Bing57 (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
Evedrything you ever wanted to know about Star Trek the Original Series with colour photos and a synopsis of each episode plus a bit of insider gossip. The book format is a little unwieldy and the page numbers deliberately cut off but even so, a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
Wonderfull collection which arrived in perfect order and thank you.It was great to look back and watch these great movies.The quality is excellent and all my family are still enjoying them.
William Unsworth Snr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAM ME UP!, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
BRILLIANT BOOK FOR YOUNG AND OLD WHO LOVE STAR TREK HIGHLY RECONDMENDED JUST BUY IT MAKES A GOOD PRESENT ANYTIME......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek blockbuster, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
Everything from the original series is here, with pictures and storylines from all the episodes. I can't put it down as it is so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tos book, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Paul J. Teviotdale "flippstar09" (newcastle uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series 365 (Hardcover)
great little info book on the org series giving lots of data on epsoides and the goings on in the set and producers info etc etc just like the TNG that has followed and one assumes the others will be next shortly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0835dec)

This product

Star Trek: The Original Series 365
Star Trek: The Original Series 365 by Terry J. Erdmann (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2010)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews