Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 10-year-old gives this five million stars
I got this thinking my son would like it, as he's a fan of the TV series MI High, and the cover and 'blurb' looked like his kind of thing - evil villain, secret base and kids with lots of gadgets. Despite the cartoons and the interactive chapter introductions, he was a bit put off by the thickness of the book - he is not an enthusiastic reader of fiction - so asked me to...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Pippin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When is a book barely a book?
There's a school of thought in children's publishing (and librarianship) that the best way to get kids who don't want to read for pleasure to do so is to make their books as similar to cartoons as possible. This has been taken to its logical conclusion here. NERDS is written by a seasoned creater of shows for Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network, and the art director deserves...
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by Sensible Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When is a book barely a book?, 14 Feb 2011
By 
Sensible Cat (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There's a school of thought in children's publishing (and librarianship) that the best way to get kids who don't want to read for pleasure to do so is to make their books as similar to cartoons as possible. This has been taken to its logical conclusion here. NERDS is written by a seasoned creater of shows for Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network, and the art director deserves equal billing with the writer because the two lock together into a highly professional package. It's fair to say that the result will apply to a certain type of eight-year-old, and that's not me. I enjoyed it - it's slick, fast-moving and funny, and I especially relished The Hyena, an eleven-year old beauty pageant queen turned hired assassain, who scours Help Wanted ads in the criminal underworld to feed her addiction to designer boots (they keep getting wrecked when she has to run from people with weapons - don't you just hate it when that happens?)

David Tennant's triumph as the bespectacled Tenth Doctor was probably the British zenith of geek chic - bullying kids who happen to wear braces and use inhalers is so last year now. So in a way, the book's plea for tolerance of diversity is preaching to the choir, but it's great fun. I wonder if the writer would have used Egypt as a setting for his espionage romp if he'd had a crystal ball? Anyway, this is an extremely professional and enjoyable romp - so much so that it almost begs the question, what is the point of reading a book that so closely resembles watching a hyperactive cartoon channel? Presumably to get through the institutional torture of the silent reading hour in school, and keep adults like me off your back. I can't see it starting anyone off on a journey that will culminate in Shakespeare or War and Peace, but then what do I know? I'm just a school librarian, and not even the kind that turns out to be a secret agent in disguise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 10-year-old gives this five million stars, 6 April 2011
By 
Pippin - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this thinking my son would like it, as he's a fan of the TV series MI High, and the cover and 'blurb' looked like his kind of thing - evil villain, secret base and kids with lots of gadgets. Despite the cartoons and the interactive chapter introductions, he was a bit put off by the thickness of the book - he is not an enthusiastic reader of fiction - so asked me to read it to him for his bedtime story. In fact I only read a few short bits of the book here and there, as he couldn't resist the cool graphics and short story segments, and carried on where I left off, eventually staying up late reading to the end. He rates it as 'awesome,' and I'll happily order him the next in the series. He says there is lots of action and secrets to discover.
From what I read it was quite sweet, despite the gadgets and fighting, in a very American way. I chuckled at the first bit when the James Bond send-up was given his assignment with the NERDS. The message was positive, reinforcing the 'geek is good' mantra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 27 Jan 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
By early morning school day, they're your classic nerd. They have allergies, braces, buckteeth, asthma, and more. By the end of the school day, they're NERDS - super spies. Using their nerdiness to their advantage, they'll kick butt, solve puzzles, end crime, and save the world. All before dinnertime.

Jackson Jones was your typical jock and popular school bully. Then everything went downhill when he got braces. Now no one wants to be friends with him. Using his new nerd status to his advantage, he starts spying on kids in his grade, as well as on the teachers.

All is fun and games until he falls through a locker into the secret lab of the NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society). Now, his job is to save the world, keep his grades up, get his dad to accept him for who he is, and somehow get Mr. Dehaven, the principal, off his case about his sudden string of tardiness and falling grades.

Will Jackson survive being a NERD with powerful villains for enemies - or will life get the better of him?

This is a hilarious book that anyone who has ever been picked on will relate to. The plot is well-developed, the characters are entertaining, and the action is intense and fun to read about. Readers will enjoy the interactivity of the book from cover to cover - and will wish there was already a sequel to read.

Reviewed by: Kira M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scores high on entertainment, 13 May 2011
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
NERDS ports Nick-style cartoons to book form. However, that does not mean that the book is not good. Nick cartoons are actually very well written, and treat their audience with a lot of respect; the plots may be simplistic, but scripts tend to work on more than just the superficial level, and jokes range from slapstick to quite sophisticated. NERDS follows that template. My 9 year old son greatly enjoyed this book, and is keen to read more. He also enjoys more "worthy" books, so I am quite happy for him to mix up his reading lists with light material - the key is to ensure that children enjoy reading.

The concept of NERDS manages not to get too preachy in its "nerds are people too" approach. NERDS is a fun book and one I am happy to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 2 May 2011
By 
E. Heckingbottom "elaineheck143" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An enjoyable book for 9 to 11 year olds who enjoy espionage - particularly those wannabe spies!
I liked the way that it was presented and found the plot fun and lively. It was great to see the run-down kid, ther nerds, get their comeuppance and have their day as they worked to solve the problems of the world.

Definitely worth a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for the 9+ crowd, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Pizor (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I bought this book for my 7 year old who is a very advanced reader. She loves math, science and technology so I thought she would really enjoy NERDS. I was surprised to find that not only the words but the concepts were quite difficult for my daughter to read and understand. After I read a chapter to her, I realized it's obviously a book for older children. I'm sure in another year or so, my daughter will really enjoy it.

NERDS is a very fun look at the world of spies and espionage. It talks about ice cold killers, kidnappers, terrorists and the like, but it does so in a very tongue and cheek sort of way. I didn't want my 7 year old to learn about these things (terrorists, bombing plots, murderers), but for an older child who's already seen a few Hollywood movies, they should find the subject matter rather fun. The whole book is about empowering kids to do what they can in the spy world, a little like in the movie Spy Kids.

The author, Michael Buckley, definitely knows how to write books for boys. There's plenty of gross stuff in the book to keep kids gagging for ages. Though the book is 306 pages, don't be put off. The paper itself is rather thick, but there are plenty of cool computer style illustrations to break it up a bit. Don't get me wrong, there are very few pictures in the book, but there are plenty of computer access screens at the beginning of each chapter. These help the reader progress to full NERD status.

All in all it's a very fun read filled with kid antics and plenty of gross out material, but definitely not for younger kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft but completely entertaining, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Ren (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nerds and geeks by day, super-spies by... well... umm... day. Fortunately it appears evil, maniacal megalomaniacs like to keep to a sociable school-day schedule too.

It shouldn't work, it's daft, it's implausible and completely unbelievable, but I couldn't put it down! Misfits of the school augmented by nanotechnology to turn the source of their greatest torments into their greatest weapons, hypnotising buck teeth, lie-detecting allergy attacks, fire-blasting inhalers...

The book is filled with drawings, in the style of the Dexter's Laboratory cartoon, and the idea of a huge super-spy base located beneath an American Elementary school and a selected group of 12-year-olds being sent on missions that nobody else can manage has a definite element of the BBC's MI High series, but NERDS manages it much better. Clearly aimed at a young nearly-teen audience, any age still in touch with their inner geek will enjoy every minute of it.

An entertaining read and worth buying for kids of all ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
Was hoping this book would appeal to my grandsons sense of humour but am disappointed to see that it's not quite his thing. I know there are more in the series but don't think I will be buying. It's down to personal taste to be fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NERDS, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AMAZING. It was a book that got me reading all night. It was addictive and I'm glad I read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. My son read in a day (age 10) Recommended!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1) (Paperback)
My son says its very entertaining, exciting and keeps you on the edge of your toes! All 4 books recommended. Need MORE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NERDS (National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society) (NERDS - book 1)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews