Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compendium of Steampunky treasures.
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:13 Mins
This is a nice hard-backed overview of all things Steampunk.

If you're already heavily into the genre, I'd guess that you may be familiar with a lot of the material you'll find here, but I'd also be willing to bet that you'll find some new treasures too.

Beautifully illustrated on high-quality paper, it covers everything...
Published on 26 May 2011 by Steampunk

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
While the idea is perfectly acceptable it seems that The Steampunk Bible is no such thing. It relies on an Americo-centric definition that misses out a great deal of marvellous steampunk work: Bob Shaw's wonderful trilogy of 1980's novels "The Ragged Astronauts", "The Wooden Spaceships" and "The Fugitive Worlds" for one. Joss Whedon's "Firefly" series for another. The...
Published on 12 Jun. 2011 by Mr. D. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice compendium of Steampunky treasures., 26 May 2011
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:13 Mins

This is a nice hard-backed overview of all things Steampunk.

If you're already heavily into the genre, I'd guess that you may be familiar with a lot of the material you'll find here, but I'd also be willing to bet that you'll find some new treasures too.

Beautifully illustrated on high-quality paper, it covers everything from the historical roots of Steampunk all the way to its possible future directions. In between, you'll find sections on the literature, the graphic novels, the movies, the fashion, the artwork and 'toys', and frankly, just about everything else you could wish for.

I've attached a short video flip-through, to give you a rough idea of the physical appearance of the book. As you'll see, while it's lavishly illustrated, it doesn't skimp on textual content at all.

Personally (as a fan of most Steampunkiana) I purchased this mainly from curiosity and because it was by Jeff Vandermeer. I'm very glad I did. It's a delightful book, and I can't think of many ways it could have been improved... perhaps short of publishing it in Victorian-style antiqued leather, or something... now THAT would have been nice!

Anyway, it's a great, well-produced book and at a low price. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steampunk Bible, 6 Oct. 2012
By 
sasa bijelic (zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
This is excellent intro into the world of steampunk and people who created all those amazing art.
Must have for all Steampunk admirers all over the world.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy attempt and (mostly) avoids the goggles, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
It's not a bible, it doesn't cover everything, but it makes a very good stab at covering a lot so is worthy of the four stars that I gave it. For a smallish, cheapish book it covers a lot of ground and if you want an introduction to the genre this book will deliver that. The pictures are marvellous, the text adds to the discussion. Production quality is also high.

It also partly manages to avoid the rapidly tiring steam punk cliches, namely brass goggles and victorian corsets. I realise that once something goes mainstream that the rise of the 'off the shelf' is likely and a stereotype is born, but the Steampunk Bible disposes of fashion in a chapter and then gets back down to business exploring more obscure and more rewarding aspects of the genre. For people new to Steampunk, there's a useful spread on page 54 devoted to explaining the subgenres of steampunk. For the record, I think I'm probably electropunk; a genre not listed there - but interested in early electrical rather than steam fantasy - but a subgenre clearly evident.

Finally it is written by someone with a clear understanding of the genre. There is little space for pointless gears stuck on inanimate objects, but lots of space for things that people have made that I for one may never get to see for real. The maker's chapter alone made me glad to be alive and is worth the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL!, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic! I bought it in December; fast delivery, considering the holiday period and I love it. The pictures are gorgeous and the writing really good. It has some great references to Steampunk in Western Culture e.g Doctor Who and His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman.
Overall, lovely book. Fit for any Steampunk fan or aspiring fashion artist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trasury of Steampunk delights, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
K. Mantell (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
I have to confess to being a Victorian Science Fiction fan - I can't explain the fascination with slightly altering the Victorian era to push forward various technologies and "seeing" their effects. Jules Verne, H G Wells right up to the present day.

If you are also interested in this area then "The Steampunk Bible" is great: well written and beautifully illustrated, it covers the history of the genre, and certainly introduced me to new aspects aside from the literature: art and fashion are well represented.

A fun and enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
Although bought for a friend, who can't get enough of steampunk, I had a sneaky read through it before I gave it him and was so pleased with this buy. I knew he would love it as it has the history of steampunk right up to the modern day and where its at now. It's quirky, its imformative and its original, filling the mind with fantastic ideas of how to and where to look, along with all the whys. The book is filled additionally with wonderful photographs and drawings referencing popular as well as not so well known work across the globe.

If you have a passing interest in steampunk or are simply inlove with it this is definatly a must have, 5 stars. To be honest, although its probably not for everyone, for what it says it is and for the genre it's in I really cant fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catalytic Guns at the ready!, 9 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
Was bought this as a suprise gift.
I have recently found a great interest in all things steampunk and this was a perfect gift.

Contents:

Its a clockwork universe, Victoria.
Meausring the critical mass of steampunk.

An imaginary voyage to the past.
Steampunk origins in Verne, Wells, and the industrial revolution.

Clanking metal men, baroque airships and clockwork worlds.
The fiction, illustrated narratives, and story behind the stories.

From foreverton to the raygun rocketship and beyond.
"Making," Art, Craftsmanship, and Aesthetic legitimacy.

Hair stays, goggles, corsets, clockwork guitars, and imaginary airships.
Fashion, accessories, music and the steampunk sub culture.

Magic lanterns, robot armies, giant tuning forks, and persmbulating castles.
Steampunk movies and television.

The future of steampunk.
Will clockwork gears, mechanical corsets, and origibles be enough.

Each chapter contains lots of information and numerous pictures.
A great book at a great price.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Harris "duncle" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
While the idea is perfectly acceptable it seems that The Steampunk Bible is no such thing. It relies on an Americo-centric definition that misses out a great deal of marvellous steampunk work: Bob Shaw's wonderful trilogy of 1980's novels "The Ragged Astronauts", "The Wooden Spaceships" and "The Fugitive Worlds" for one. Joss Whedon's "Firefly" series for another. The inestimable Frank Chadwick's "Space 1889" role-playing game book (and the quartet of full-cast audio dramas that came out later) are the biggest omission (although it's status as a role-playing game probably hinders it greatly) and, while it's aimed at the broader romance market, Katie MacAlister's "Steamed" has a great deal of steampunk world-building going on behind its sexy shenanigans. Let no-one say The Steampunk Bible is definitive. But the pictures are very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not a great layout, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Karen Chilton "KarenC" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
I'm giving an average rating as it was bought as a present. I did, however, have a little peak inside.

Personally, despite my interest in the area, I didn't find it an easy 'reference' book. There seemed to be a lack of structure - the sort of book which has lots of good bits in it but you have to sit down and read the whole thing to find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great compendium of retro sci-fi stuff, 22 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Steampunk Bible: An Illustrated Guide to the World of Imaginary Airships, Corsets and Goggles, Mad Scientists, and Strange Literature (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. It's a great "coffee table" book featuring loads of different steampunk art, features and information.

I read it cover to cover the first time, and now enjoy dipping into it from time to time - refreshing my love of all things steampunk.

Highly recommended for anyone who enjoys the steampunk genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews