Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic illustrations and a dry and funny story - Iggy's a star!, 21 July 2009
By 
H. Hawkes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
Very funny rhyming text and beautifully illustrated -really beautifully - using some architectural drawing but so that the pictures appeal to kids and make the ideas look exciting, fun and, at times, fairly silly. If you're not American you need to able to cope with references to 'diapers' and school grades, but frankly, who can't? Iggy's the geeky hero with soaring dreams. Both my children love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent story that grown ups enjoy too, 15 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Paperback)
great story, encourages creativity and teaches new concepts not normally found in kids books - e.g. suspension bridge. lots to talk about. we are all happy to read this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book., 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
Funny story with nice rhymes, perfect for reading aloud. The illustrations are good too and any child who enjoys building will appreciate this story. It is American and you may need to explain some of the words e.g. diaper but to be honest most children who watch cartoons on TV will probably be familiar with the language. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
One of the best books I've found for a construction-mad boy of 3 1/2. Great flowing rhyming text - "Good gracious, Ignacious!" - helps the book to move along and carry the readers with it. The illustrations are superb. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, especially for little boys., 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
Despite my review heading I actually bought this for my Dad who's 65, and an architect, to read to my son. They both love it! The drawings are very sweet but intricate enough to hold the attention of little ones as they listen to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A creative introduction to the world's finest structures for 3-5s., 24 Sep 2010
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Paperback)
This is a picture book that tells the story of little Iggy Peck, a boy obsessed with building, with rhythm and rhyme and neat fun stylized illustrations. It's a great introduction to the world's finest and most interesting buildings, showing that at their core there's always an inspirational concept. And "Good gracious, Ignatius" constructs amazing castles or carefully-engineered structures with whatever comes to hand, whether it's fruit, chalk or coconut pie! His sandcastle is like something from Ancient Egypt, and he can whip up a Japanese palace from mere pencils and clay. His teacher at school is unimpressed, however, intil Iggy saves the day with some careful cantilevered thinking. This is a fun book, if rather American with its vocabulary (just grin an bear the diapers at the beginning), that will inspire your children to start gluing your recycling pile together into wonderous post-modern designs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 8 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated book - albeit very American, with references to diapers and such. Lovely gift for kids of cool parents!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Paperback)
Great story and great illustrations. The writing has a lovely poetry to it which makes it a pleasure to read aloud to small children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Juliette (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
This is a really fun book - it is written in rhyme and tells the story of Iggy as he grows up, building a series of things out of whatever unusual building materials he can find. When he reaches school age he has a teacher who doesn't like architecture or architects and bans him from building things, until they end up on a school trip stranded on an island and Iggy coordinates the building of a suspension bridge from shoelaces etc. to rescue them all.

My three and a half year old enjoyed this and has asked me to reread it several times and I enjoy reading it which is always a major plus! It was possibly a bit too absurd in places for him to totally grasp ('mummy, why is the teacher eating cheese in a lift with a circus troupe?') but that wasn't a major problem. It is a teensy bit American in places but not in a way that I found jarring. I should also point out that it's a fun book rather than a book about architecture - though there are pictures of some famous buildings and it led to a discussion with my son about what an architect does and the difference between an architect and a builder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very nice, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iggy Peck, Architect (Hardcover)
First of all good graphics and lots of details. And a lot of things going on on relatively few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iggy Peck, Architect
Iggy Peck, Architect by Andrea Beaty (Paperback - 22 Feb 2010)
£5.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews