Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste
I find this book hilarious. A great gift for someone that you know could use a hearty dose of reverse psychology. However, not the recommended gift for someone that has adorned their walls in motivational be-happy mottos. All in all, a great purchase for the right person.
Published 5 months ago by Stefanie

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE do NOT waste your money. Read more
Just don't buy it. It's an absolute waste of paper, an unfunny, structureless list and nothing more. There's no comical prose, no vicious scathing deconstruction of the rubbish things listed, just the list. Which includes hilarious entries such as 'taxes' and 'rape'. Are you serious, Romeos? I honestly cannot believe this was published, you could LITERALLY make your own,...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Paul McNamee


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE do NOT waste your money. Read more, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just don't buy it. It's an absolute waste of paper, an unfunny, structureless list and nothing more. There's no comical prose, no vicious scathing deconstruction of the rubbish things listed, just the list. Which includes hilarious entries such as 'taxes' and 'rape'. Are you serious, Romeos? I honestly cannot believe this was published, you could LITERALLY make your own, far superior version. In twenty minutes. And it wouldn't cost you a thing.

*Also, I didn't order it, a family member logged into my account and requested it for free off of Amazon Vine. Said member has since been ostracized. And whipped. And briefly, glared at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Nick Huckle "The Sponge" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I just don't see the point of this book. It appears to be a random list of bad things (eg. war, child abuse, cancer, earthquakes, etc). There's no humour, no discernable classification or grouping, that I can can see, and no revelations or knowlegable insite that anyone with more than half a brain cell wouldn't already know. Maybe the joke isthe book itself. .....That the thing to be most miserable about is that valuable resources of the planet have been wasted producing this sad effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Major Disappointment, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mel - London - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I guess theres more than enough to be miserable about at the moment, without a book listing 11002 more reasons. However, I had high expectations, and expected it to be funny and entertaining. Unfortunately, I was completely wrong. What we have here is an endless list of quite ridiculous and unfunny reasons, with no accompanying text or narrative from the author. As such, it quickly becomes boring and repetitive. In short, its a complete waste of any readers time and money. Watching the news is likely to give you more valid reasons to be miserable than this, and its cheaper too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reading this book - make it 11,003!, 25 Dec 2009
By 
A. J. Parkes "sekrapa" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I feel a little let down with this book. Yes, it is just a list that goes on and on for pages and pages, which ends up as a thick book, as thick as a Tom Clancy novel.

Some of the items are amusing like farting in elevators, cell phone bills, the wrong people wearing spandex etc, then some can be seen as offensive such as date rape and sprayed brain matter. Some don't even make sense at all and some seem to contradict things already listed earlier.

Overall this is a book you could pick up, turn to any page and start reading the list for a few minutes then put it down. You won't get enthusiastic about reading every page, instead just skipping it and randomly selecting pages to read.

11,002 Things to be miserable about ...... reading this book, having this book given to you as a gift, buying this book.
Just made it to 11,005 things to be miserable about.

Suggest you borrow it or try to borrow it to see if its your sort of humour before parting with any cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Made me miserable..., 29 Dec 2009
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I know what the title says but I was expecting a witty, satirical book about the things which make people miserable. What you get for your money is a long list of things which the authors think you can be miserable about. It is literally list after list of words or short sentences - there are no comments and nothing humourous. If this is a way to make money from a book, I am off to compile my own list of "Things to spot on interesting buildings"...should become a best seller.
I was so disappointed in this book and cannot recommend it even for a stocking filler or to make a miserable person happy! Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor enough, 23 Dec 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
the book is slightly comical yet it is all about things to get miserable about and the way it flows is slightly annoying,just a long list of things to get down about,it is worth a look and is certainly better suited to a coffee table than taking with you on a long journey,not one to read around xmas as it could take you down with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really disappointing, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Laura Smith (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well I was expecting more from this really. It's basically just a big list of things to be miserable about, and a hell of a lot of them don't really make much sense. Giggled at a few of them but I guess this book just didn't really tickle me. Shame, I really thought this would be my sort of thing. Not as dark as expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Dull Boring List For The Bankrupt Accountancy Of Your Soul, 2 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Christmas brings with it a selection of what I call 'Toilet Books'. Random, quirky paperbacks designed for consumption in the spare 44 seconds in the lavabo : you stare out there, mind absent in your man cave, and pick up one of a selection of titles designed solely to while away the odd seconds.

11,002 Things To Be Miserable About is exactly that. A random selection of names in a list that lacks any sense, semblance or order : It's technically a book, but that's where the resemblance ends. It's a web page, a blog post, an insubstantial collection that is just what it says it is. 11,002 things to be miserable about. And its boring.

Why? It's just a list without a collection or context. The average text reads

"Hitler
Mice droppings
Internet timeouts
Region coded DVD's
The end of the universe
Shaving"

Repeat that 1,980 times, and voila! You have your own stocking filler for Christmas. Though I must admit, this book is a complete waste of time : it's a totally random list of stuff that lacks any meaning. Now, we all know that Hitler is bad, obviously. But it would be nice to know why they think he is bad. Maybe one could set a list of bad things (Moustache, military uniform, power fetish, VD), for example then score him on the Top Trumps List Of Why You Should Be Miserable About Adolf. But no, not that.

This is a lazy book. Ask any curmudgeon, and given them a week, and I can guarantee they think think of 2,000 things a day they dislike. I could. What this book is is an unsatisfying, shallow, and unexciting list of stuff like weevils, dog pooh, dandruff, train timetables, and so on, without exhibiting anything more than that. It's just a dull, tedious list without wit.

Go elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth two minutes of your time, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As other reviewers have said, this is just a book of short phases or even single words about things to make you miserable...

If you have a black sense of humour, like I do, then this may appeal for a good two minutes. After that it tends to get a bit boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Miserable, yes. Funny, no!, 29 Nov 2009
By 
P. A. Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am all in favour of people mocking stupidly smug little books and at the same time making some money for themselves, but this book just isn't funny.
The list of 11,002 things that the reader shoud be miserable about includes; Cheap beer, The Alamo and Mistakes!
I mean I am sure there are things in this book that may make you smile but trust me they will not make you laugh. Don't waste your precious and hard earned money on this waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11, 002 Things to be Miserable About: The Satirical Not-so-happy Book
5.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews