Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars norman rockwells christmas book
Book surpassed hoped for in quality, condition and bonus frameable pictures. Wonderful art from a master of portraiture and social history.
Published 22 months ago by Brenda Yemm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't bother if I were you
I must disagree with the previous reviewer. In a Rockwell book the only thing that matters is, of course, the quality of the illustrations. This is where this book completely fails. There are lot of them, but they are universally awful; grossly oversaturated, high contrast and with heavy colour casts. They look like rushed colour laser copies from the original edition...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by David Bailey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't bother if I were you, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book (Hardcover)
I must disagree with the previous reviewer. In a Rockwell book the only thing that matters is, of course, the quality of the illustrations. This is where this book completely fails. There are lot of them, but they are universally awful; grossly oversaturated, high contrast and with heavy colour casts. They look like rushed colour laser copies from the original edition. Many of them are so dark that all the detail is missing from the shadow areas and faces range from deep orange to puce. Considering the enormous lengths our Norman went to with his subtle originals, he would be mortified to see this publication. If the Post had served him this bad, I doubt he would have painted a second cover for them never mind 322.

If you want to appreciate Rockwell's genius, this is not the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars norman rockwells christmas book, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book (Hardcover)
Book surpassed hoped for in quality, condition and bonus frameable pictures. Wonderful art from a master of portraiture and social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in a book, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Glen "Yellow Peril" (Vale of Glamorgan, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book (Hardcover)
Excellent, such a talented artist. A very warm and festive book which I know will become a firm family favourite. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my friends birthday and she loved it. The illustrations are lovely and there are some that you can take out of the book and frame if you want to. A lovely gift with lots of information about the authors life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Put off buying it for years - denied pleasure waste of time - great book, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book (Hardcover)
Wanted this book for along time - great diverse entertainment enjoyed by everyone at Christmas and all for different reasons - the pullout Christmas scenes are perfect to insert into photo frames and use as decorations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book
Norman Rockwell's Christmas Book by Norman Rockwell (Hardcover - 2 Nov. 2009)
£16.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews