Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddess of the jazz world, 18 May 2009
By 
D. Dixon (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
Three wishes by Pannonica de Koenigswarter Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats is a heart-stoppingly revealing book about many of the jazz greats from the post-swing era. This remarkable woman devoted herself to the practical and emotional support of a remarkable generation of musicians, Thelonious Monk and Charlie Parker, to name but two. This book adds an amazing new dimension to our appreciation of their music, in giving us a glimpse of what it must have been like to be them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great choice!, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
I received exactly what I expected to receive: a book written by a person who's been living among jazz musicians, taking care of their needs and writing, through this beautiful book, what were their wishes.. things they didn't reach yet.. but there's someone like Thelonious Monk telling about three things he already had!!! I appreciated very much also the objects I bought toghether with this one: in fact, I was buying the dvd "The Jazz Baroness" whet the site suggested to buy also the two books..and of course I did!!! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
The person who's present this is loved it- a great Jazz fan- found it an unusual book with as different view of the artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - brilliant photos !, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
Never realised how much she helped the musicians - especially T Monk !
Well worth buying - every jazz fan should have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a present., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
Bought this for my brother in law for his fiftieth wedding anniversary and he loved it.He used to play drums in a jaz band and is very knowledgeable on the greats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a musician, it's extremely inspirational to share the thoughts 'and insecurities' of these Jazz Legends!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
Arrived early, can't stop looking through it, keeps me inspired, you get a real feel for the sights sounds and even the smell of that time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great look into the past, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
One gets to sneak the glimpse of views Nica enjoyed in her life. With the answers to her question, some images can stir emotions one would not suspect from the cover. I LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jaw-droppingly candid photos of jazz immortals...., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
for the admission price this is an outstanding purchase. they could have made it twice the size and bound it in hardback and charged triple.....and i still would have bought it! that's how good this book is; astonishing relaxed casual pictures of jazz heroes, unforced, unpretentious and un-posey. and that's not to mention the insight gleaned from their answers to the Baroness's simple question: if you had three wishes to be granted now, what would they be? mostly light-hearted answers here, brief and un-expounded upon, mirroring the subjects' obvious sense of ease in the company of one of their greatest champions, but that is not to say they lack profundity. you also learn a little about the somewhat mysterious Baroness from some of the answers, for example, that Art Blakey was in love with her, although the humour in his proposition suggests he knows he hasn't a chance. wonderful work, precious even, i would venture, and highly recommended. 5 unreserved stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd Known Pannonica, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats (Paperback)
I've always admired what Pannonica did for jazz musicians, especially Charlie Parker and Thelonious Monk (who called one of his tunes after her). Fascinating little book with some great photos. If you are a fan of 40s and 50s modern jazz give this book a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats
Three Wishes: An Intimate Look at Jazz Greats by Pannonica De Koenigswarter (Paperback - 3 Oct 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews