Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful...
I got this book yesterday, and I must say that it is a real beauty, I've never seen anything quite like it (in the good sense!)

The majority of the book is taken up with Brain Frouds conceptual art for the Goblins of the Labyrinth themselves (complete with tea stains and shapeless scribblings!), and what a joy it is to look at them! It's hard to beleive they...
Published on 23 Oct 2006 by Mr. Mj Grant

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a whim....
Not very impressed, may pass it on for a chrimbo pressie, dont get me wrong, drawings are ace and detail very artistic, but its just not for me, it has quality about these drawings, and nice hardback, but i will keep my whims under control next time....
Published 20 months ago by Asteroth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful..., 23 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. Mj Grant (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
I got this book yesterday, and I must say that it is a real beauty, I've never seen anything quite like it (in the good sense!)

The majority of the book is taken up with Brain Frouds conceptual art for the Goblins of the Labyrinth themselves (complete with tea stains and shapeless scribblings!), and what a joy it is to look at them! It's hard to beleive they were just in a notebook, you could, literally frame most of the pages in this book, all the figures are impossibly intricate and detailed. The drawings are complimented by Mr Terry Jone's (of Monty Python fame) stories behind each Goblin, his wit and humour shine through, and I break out into giggles whenever I flick through the book's pages. The anecdotes, though very, very random give a hilarious glimpse into the idiocy and general bizarreness of the inhabitants of the Goblin Kingdom.

Despite the merits of the main bulk of the book, the best bits are the centre-folds, there are only 8 of them but trust me, they're worth the price of the book alone! Now they are what I'd call art, depicting various charecters that made their way into the final film as well as a 'prototype Sarah' who is very beautifully drawn (you can see one of the paintings depicting her on the top of the cover.)

Brain Froud's fascinating afterword is similary fantastic, in which he gives an insight into the beginnings of Labyrinth, as well as a fascinating insight into the charecter of everyone's favourite Goblin King, Jareth.

To finish off the package, the book is printed on beautiful high quality paper, which gives the impression the publisher has really pushed the boat out for the design of the book.

A hilarious and beautiful companion to the wonderful fantasy film, Labyrinth.

-Rachael-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and magical!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
As an 80's kid I grew up watching the movie Labyrinth over and over. This book delves into the goblins from the world of Labyrinth, and at no point does it disappoint. Every page rediscovers those fabulous characters, giving insight into their history and being. Absolutely love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY REVIEW, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
A FASCINATIN INSIGHT INTO THE MAGICAL WORLD OF THE GOBLINS....FASCINATING READ AND THE PHOTOGRAPH S AND ART WORK FIRST CLAS..HERBERTS AVORY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Slightly more in than previous versions of the book and still just as funny, Jones' appropriates the Goblin Humor, that Froud has locked into the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goblins of Labyrinth, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Was a present for son and he loves it. Is going to have a tattoo of one of the goblins :-) xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for another., 20 July 2013
By 
kitty (Cardiff, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Froud is a firm favourite for number two sprog, along with Lady Cottingham's Fairy Album. There is something delightful about having offspring who love these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Labyrinth, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Tracey (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Bought for present for a fan of The Labyrinth, lovely book, not much word content but great pictures, my step daughter pleased with it for her 18th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Lovely book, funny text and stories, beautiful and captivating line drawings, sketches & full pieces of artwork - a must for any true Labyrinth fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The power of art, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
A special edition of 'The Goblins of the Labyrinth' with more amazing imagery and fun goblin facts. Bought as a Labyrinth companion, for an avid fan.

Brian Froud is a genius with his artwork. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh boy!, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Goblins of Labyrinth (Hardcover)
Big Labyrinth fan, and 30 years old.
I have no shame, the film was beautiful.
I bought this book on a random.
It. Is. Beautiful & hilarious.
The stuff dreams are made of.
If you are thinking of buying it, I would say get it, its only short of a tenner and worth every penny and more. What can you get for a tenner these days?
Certainly not something that is as valuable as this. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goblins of Labyrinth
The Goblins of Labyrinth by Brian Froud (Hardcover - 29 Sep 2006)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews