Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly the best wildlife photography book, 23 Oct 2009
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
I don't think it will be possible to explain to anyone who does not own this book just how amazing and inspirational it is. But I will give it a go...

I went to an exhibition of the work of Nick Brandt (the author) in London last week, and was captivated from the minute I walked in. The prints were stunning, and when I saw that he had books on sale in the gallery with all of the exhibition prints in, I knew there was no way I was leaving without one!

Giraffes, Lions, Leopards, Cheetahs, Buffalo & Nick's apparent favourite Elephants are but a few of the animals featured in this stunning book.
The first photograph is of two giraffes, locked in an intimate position. The next page is an amazing double page spread of a huge herd of zebra's (literally hundreds!) crossing a river. This image has clearly been taken with a wide angle lens, and this not only catches the atmosphere, but gives the image a real sense of place.
There are two images after this that show a rhino with its crystal clear reflection in a pool of water. The close up is amazing, with every inch of detail sharp and in focus. The image opposite is equally as impressive, with two rhino's locking horns with dawn breaking over the african landscape.
The images go on in this book in this awe inspiring style, all in sepia form, and I am still not sure whether to turn the page on each image to see the next, or to keep looking at the current one!

If I had to pick a favourite image, I would have to say the incredibly close up shot of a male and female lion 'greeting' each other. The image looks so intimate, and the image truly does take your breath away.

The print quality in this book is exceptional. Every inch of detail is shown perfectly, and i honestly believe the most picky critic could not find a single fault with this book. The binding is also very good quality, and the paper it is printed on is very thick and easy to turn.

CONCLUSION:
I could never do this book justice, whatever I said. You will never understand how amazing this man's work is until you see it for yourself. If you do anything today, buy a copy of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning collection, 25 Sep 2009
By 
D. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
Nick Brandt has produced another superb collection of photographs. Each image is beautifully captured, printed and presented in this coffee table sized edition. I'd recommend it to photographers, wildlife enthusiasts, those with a general interest in the future of Africa and some of the world's most magnificent animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative wildlife photography, 5 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
I had the privilege to see a selection of Nick Brandts original prints that feature in this book whilst in Paris very recently (as part of the annual Paris Photo exhibitions programme). They are truly inspiring, breathtaking images that for me stand out from the already high quality images that we generally associate within the genre of wild life photography. I have purchased a copy of this book and can highly recommend it to anyone who either appreciates creative photographic images or who simply shares a passion for wildlife - either or both, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shadow Falls, 24 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
What a stunning book. The quality of the images are outstanding, and is printed on exception paper which really helps to bring the photos to life. Don't hesitate to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish these were my photos, 19 Nov 2009
By 
Andrew Johns (Taunton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
Easily the best photo book I have bought. I get excited each time I look at it and every photo is a stunner. This really is the kind of photography I would love to be able to take.
the book quality is also excellent and makes a very nice coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal photography and so much more, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
The images in this large format book are sublime. The quality of the prints are excellent and the size of them gives you the opportunity to appreciate what a maestro Nick Brandt undoubtedly is. There is a majestic aura to the way the animals are portrayed, and they definitely are portraits. Nick Brandt captures a real dignity about these creatures.
This is a book that you spend time with. Each image warrants close inspection and then just sitting back and letting the atmosphere of the image do its magic.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves photography or as an introduction to monochrome photography for those needed to be persuaded of its merits. And if you love animals or Africa this will be for you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tearing up because of the beauty....., 3 Nov 2010
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
Long ago i discovered this man's talent in the BBC wildlife magazine and since then he has been my most favourite and inspirational wildlife photographer and as a wildlife photographer student his books are there to keep me focused on my dream when it gets tough.
I have his first book which is simply stunning and so i craved the next one... This book is fantastic, not only in its publication but its size, you can truly see Nick's photos in all its glory with the double-spread large prints inside.
If you love this artist, get this book and if you dont know him, youll fall in love with him in a matter of seconds.
So when you get the book, make your self a cup of tea, sit in a cosy lit room with a blanket and turn the pages of beauty he has created, and you may hear the elephants grumble or a lion's roar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Shadow Falls: black and white fine art photography., 1 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
I had wanted to go to an exhibition of Nick Brandts last year ( Atlas Gallery London if you're interested) but couldn't make it. When I saw this book advertised I thought it would be a substitute of sorts. I was right. The pictures in this book are absolutely breathtaking. It is large coffee table book with thick pages and black and whites pictures mostly full page with a beautiful handling of tones. The foreword explains how he goes about getting these pictures. Mostly great patience and lots of waiting close to the animals til the right juxtaposition of subject surroundings and light. The shadow falls is supposed to reflect how times are changing and how these great animals of the plains are finding their habitats eroded and there survival being put in jeopardy. The use of black and White and the compositions seem to reinforce that sombre message. This is a must for anyone interested in black and White fine art photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
Bought it for a photography enthusiastic friend as gift. But being myself a very much fan of wildlife, I want to keep it for myself :|.... may be next time. And got the book in one day from amazon. Thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more Kenyan magic, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Shadow Falls (Hardcover)
excellent book, informative and interesting .. but the photography .. Kenya is close to my heart .. these photos show her at her most serene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Shadow Falls
A Shadow Falls by Nick Brandt (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
Used & New from: 22.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews