Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The World of the Dark Crystal, 15 July 2003
This review is from: The World of "the Dark Crystal": Featuring New Art and Introduction by the Artist (Hardcover)
A lavish and beautifully laid out visual record of the concept art that created the unique world of the film. Innovative use of overlays and foldouts gives this work the feel of a design proposal, or a pitch for the movie. The book only disapoints in that there is nothing here on the making of the film, and the text is written in slightly laboured, archaic style in the vein of the mythology behind the films narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite companion and guide, 15 Jun 2005
Anyone who knows and loves Henson and Froud's "The Dark Crystal" will cherish this book - just as I do!
I first saw the film as a seven year old and have been fascinated, enchanted and irrationally in love with its world and characters ever since.
This book has given me the most amazing insight into the staggering amount of care and attention to detail that allowed them to create such a rich and credible environment.
I'm currently enjoying the experience of watching my daughter discover Jen and his world - somehow, it makes the film all the more special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and informative book, 18 Jan 2005
This book would make a great gift. It is a must for any fan of Brian Froud or fantasy art in general. The illustrations and fascimilie of the original treatment are quite stunning. Perhaps the publication of this book will encourage a reprint of the equally fascinating 'The Making of the Dark Crystal', which focused on the story and the special effects in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, amazing book, 4 April 2003
By A Customer
If you are a fan of Brian Froud's artwork, this book is an absolute must!
Full of sketches and artwork based on and from the film, the Gelfings, the Pod People, the Urhu's & the Skesis', the book is written as a folk history, by Aughra, about the background of the world leading up to the events of the film.
The text doesn't stand on its' own that well, as the "story" tends towards the technical (lots of mathematical formulas, which, frankly, went over my head), but is still so fascinating you continue reading.
The exceptional artwork is simply incredible, and very beautiful.
Fans of "The Dark Crystal" will want this, especially as the 20th Anniversary of the film's release is quickly approaching.
Absolutely fantastic - a very special book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book and beautifully published, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of "the Dark Crystal": Featuring New Art and Introduction by the Artist (Hardcover)
Beautiful drawings by Brian Froud and a wonderful insight into the Dark Crystal film and the level of detail and research that went into its making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Mar 2013
Excellent film this boom is a must for any collector as is timeless! Buy it & look after it! Reflects on the art work of the film but also some lovely film stills & the fact that its an oversized book makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering art book, surprising narrative, 2 Jan 2013
By 
D. Gallacher "Goat" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not be more in love with this book. I have always been a Dark Crystal fan, ever since being scared witless as a child watching it with my family. The artwork, the puppetry, the imagination that it took to create this vivid landscape and story. Simply put, I feel it is the perfect film for kids, because it doesn't shy from darkness and evil. The villains in the piece are every bit as villainous as in an adult horror. And the sense of peril is maintained to a knife edge throughout the latter half of the film. But what of this book? Where does it fit?

Well, much to my surprise, it fits. To clarify, I thought this was just an art book, showcasing the incredible work of Mr.Froud. Turns out, this is half artwork, half narrative which sets out not to prequelise or set up for any future works, but rather as an overview for the universe. It has a wonderful trick of mixing the ancient ramblings of our narrator with the interpretations of a legitimate professor in "our universe". The juxtaposition between all of the beautiful and primitive art and the soft but pointed remarks by our educated elite is absolutely beautiful. Moreover, the detail of the actual universe goes so far beyond what I ever would have expected. I feel I know the creatures not just by description, but somehow palpably. I know how they view mathematics, I know how they view artwork. There aren't things that I'd easily find in a complex novel, never mind an art book. In short, if you liked the films, this is a must have piece. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone who loves The Dark Crystal, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The World of "the Dark Crystal": Featuring New Art and Introduction by the Artist (Hardcover)
Anyone who's seen this movie will be familiar with the breathtaking level of detail and effort that went into the production design. One could watch the film a hundred times over and still pick up on small things and be totally puzzled over the meaning of it all. When you think about it, The Dark Crystal is a small miracle. Not only is it a very grim kids film, hardly any of the mythology is explained and there's loads of subtext and hidden meanings. How many can say that about Twilight?

Brian Froud has always been fascinated with faeries and goblins and such so when he was hired by Jim Henson to work on this movie it must have been a dream come true. The first section of this book covers Froud's experiences working on the movie. It's an interesting read but the remaining part of the book requires the reader to have a vivid recollection of events in the film and patience to add it all up. Not an easy read or your typical 'making of' book at all.

Two thirds of the book is told from the point of view of Aughra, the one and only of her race, the prophet born of rock and stone. She explains to us the history of her world, the great divide of the Urskeks and the creation of uUru and Skeksis.

The depth of Brian Froud's imagination is astonishing. The triangular and circular imagery of the film is spelled out so vividly that several reads of each page are needed in order to fully understand it all. The quality of the presentation is of the highest standard. The book is a huge hardback with beautiful pictures in color, black and white and daguerreotype. Some pages are translucent trace paper laid over spirals to give us a better idea of what they mean. A reproduction of Jim Henson's original presentation to potential backers of the film is included in the back page inserted in a pouch.

Investment in this book is well worth the money for fans of the film and those interested in faery mythology and even art students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d6e04)

This product

The World of "the Dark Crystal": Featuring New Art and Introduction by the Artist
Used & New from: 18.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews