Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I really love this book. Beautifully illustrated. Patterns & step by step instructions all the way. Even how to do a class about these lovely things - starting with easy techniques & progressing to the more intricate ones. Looks pricey but money well spent!
Published on 27 Sep 2002 by Mrs. W. Lord

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Book
Too technical for arthritic hands, lovely book so have given it away to younger lady.
Published 3 months ago by amber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 27 Sep 2002
By 
Mrs. W. Lord "wendybooks" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
I really love this book. Beautifully illustrated. Patterns & step by step instructions all the way. Even how to do a class about these lovely things - starting with easy techniques & progressing to the more intricate ones. Looks pricey but money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift from the heart, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Elaine B Reader (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
"A gift made from fabric is the most intimate I can give. It is made with the hands, but the good wishes it carries come only from the heart."
This beautiful thought is apparent throughout this lovely book. The items to be made are uniquely Japanese and you'll either love them or hate them. The techniques and instructions for making all the items cannot be faulted, and you're sure to find a way to use some of the fabrics you have (many items are small enough to use your scraps on). I love the pincushion - a half-tennis ball size mound with a couple of little "dolls" holding onto a knotted cord and leaning into the centre towards each other - you have to see it! Really, as with all Kumiko Sudo's books - delightfully unusual gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift from the heart of a talented fiber artist and author, 12 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
The book contains many different small projects for beautiful little gifts. They are all fine examples of Japanese attention to beauty and detail. The introduction chapter is very interesting and educational about Japanese customs and celebrations. The instructions for the different projects are very good and easy to follow. I will certainly make a whole garden of little flower pouches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for that unusual gift, 26 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
This is a superb book for any crafter looking for something beyond the usual cardmaking - the easy to follow instructions make it ideal for both the beginner and those that have crafting experience. Get use out of those scraps of fabric left over from your sewing or quilting projects. I even used an old silk blouse for one of my projects from this book - so ideal if considering recycling projects.

The projects are easy to teach (I had a group of 10 total amateurs create a coin purse with perfect results - including a man! sorry any men reading this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great projects simple to do especially for children, 11 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
This book is a great idea for putting all sizes of presents and then as a keepsake. My grandchildren aged 6 and 8 years had never done any sewing at all and completed the projects quickly and easily just needed hepl with rotary cutter but learnt to hand sew as well as using a machine excellent book for children and adults from complete novice to experience.Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omiyage, 3 Oct 2011
By 
babe (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
This book is amazing!! When I received it and opened the first few pages I was so excited I couldn't wait to have a go at one of the projects. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and I made the marbles bag the very first day. Be warned though - if you order this book be prepared to be addicted and to sit hunched over your sewing for hours because like me you won't be able to wait until you have finished one project only to start another one. The bags and boxes and secret pockets are tantalising and yet so easy to do. Make sure to read the instructions at the beginning of the book before you start as they will prove extremely helpful. Also look at the recommendations at the back for teaching as they can let you know which projects to tackle if you are a beginner or have a little sewing experience already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Omiyage: handmade gifts from fabric, 7 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
A wonderful exciting book on the subject of giving small gifts
Easy to understand patterns and clear instructions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 8 Jan 2011
By 
F. M. Douglas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
Craft books can often be disappointing but I really like this one. Lots of different and very cute projects, I'm spoiled for choice as to where to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun with Japanese folding, 28 Jan 2011
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
Beautifully presented book with lots of ideas. Many craftspeople could make use of this book. I bought it for textile use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the fabric crafters book shelf!, 30 Oct 2010
By 
D. Forsyth "Byegarth" (Ludlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition (Paperback)
I found this book delightful. It is full of useful information from the origins of the giving of gifts (omiyage)to the detailed instuctions for the making of them. The book is nicely written and well illustrated. It contains patterns and step by step instuctions for a good variety of small gifts, which would be a joy to make or to receive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Omiyage: Handmade Gifts from Fabric in the Japanese Tradition
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews