Customer Reviews


5 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a great introduction to Macroeconomics
I really like this book. It is so rare to find a book which will allow students to understand serious things in life through cartoons. This book does it. I am planning to use it in my lectures to illustrate certain points in a fun way. Would recommend it students, lecturers and anyone interested in the basic macro principles.
Published 22 months ago by Inna Pomorina

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor vote is for layout in the Kindle edition, not the content itself
The writing and the pictures are simple too small. I dont require glasses to read but find the information and graphics too hard to decipher in the Kindle layout.
Published 16 months ago by P. McMillan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a great introduction to Macroeconomics, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Introduction to Economics, Vol Two: Macroeconomics, The (Paperback)
I really like this book. It is so rare to find a book which will allow students to understand serious things in life through cartoons. This book does it. I am planning to use it in my lectures to illustrate certain points in a fun way. Would recommend it students, lecturers and anyone interested in the basic macro principles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor vote is for layout in the Kindle edition, not the content itself, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writing and the pictures are simple too small. I dont require glasses to read but find the information and graphics too hard to decipher in the Kindle layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight into macroeconomic theory, how the "mind of the economist" works and the major economic debates of the day, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
J. P. Sykes (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
A great companion to the surprisingly fantastic first volume on Microeconomics.

Continuing in the same vein as the first book, with little pirates and such like explaining the basic theories of economics, this book and its companion make what is very dry, and overtly complex material clear, simple and importantly painless.

The book covers unemployment, money, inflation, GDP, government, trade, technology, aid and currencies, gradually increasing the scale of theory from the individual nation to international relations (in line with the microeconomic book moving from the individual to the group to the many) and then concludes with a some open questions about the future of the world as a whole - business cycles (i.e. the current financial mess), poverty, the environment and demographics (i.e. the aging population).

These ideas are described amazingly succinctly, so much so that not only do I feel I now have a vague grasp of macroeconomic theory, but that I also want to learn more about it. Whilst most people retain some knowledge of "economics" grasped through the media and following politics and world events, this book does a very good job of outlining the academic theory that underlies it, and in a sense is quite separated from the Punch & Judy of politics. I certainly finished the book feeling economics theory had something to contribute to society, more than just as a political bludgeon. Though there is discussion of the politics as well, in particular the classical-Keynesian-Milton-post-Keysian progression, which again is an academic economic debate that seems to have great significance for society and something we should be all a bit more aware of.

I recommend this book (along with its companion on Microeconomics) to anyone beginning their study in economics, or to academics and business professionals, who find they are crossing over into the subject more and need a basic understanding of the subject - even if it is just to understand what the economist is saying. Indeed, perhaps the most important aspect of these books, is that they explain very well 'how economists think', which will greatly aide with communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Introduction to Economics, Vol Two: Macroeconomics, The (Paperback)
Really useful book, perfect for A Level economics students and great reading too, accessible, straightforward and also fun. Recommended for students of Economics and business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, clear and relatively in depth, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cartoon Introduction to Economics, Vol Two: Macroeconomics, The (Paperback)
It;s a good, basic overview of microeconomics and easy to read too.Pictures and text correspond and are clear in getting the message across, so no complaints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cartoon Introduction to Economics, Vol Two: Macroeconomics, The
Cartoon Introduction to Economics, Vol Two: Macroeconomics, The by Grady Klein (Paperback - 13 Feb. 2012)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews