Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respecting Everybody's Body
How I wish this delightful book existed when I was child. Until fairly recent years, most children were warned about the cliche stranger, but very seldom was the issue of predators children knew ever addressed. When I was a child, I honestly thought a double standard existed - improper touching was only frowned upon by one's caretakers if done by strangers. During those...
Published on 14 Jun 2005 by BeatleBangs1964

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution please - the world is not all bad!
This book would be far better without the 'note to parents' at the beginning! Many children will either be able to read this for themselves or want it to be read to them as part of the book. It might be better included at the end or perhaps not at all. Other gripes I have with the book are the fact that Mum & Dad as a trustworthy party aren't introduced until page 10, and...
Published on 24 July 2009 by AParent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respecting Everybody's Body, 14 Jun 2005
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
How I wish this delightful book existed when I was child. Until fairly recent years, most children were warned about the cliche stranger, but very seldom was the issue of predators children knew ever addressed. When I was a child, I honestly thought a double standard existed - improper touching was only frowned upon by one's caretakers if done by strangers. During those years, I wondered why nobody ever said if children had any recourse if they were confronted with "bad touches" by people they knew.
This is a wonderfully empowering book. It also dispels the myth of the candy-bearing stranger, lurking on playgrounds and parks if indeed he ever even existed. Statistics have shown that "bad touches" are very rarely done by strangers! The text is gentle and simple without being overly so; it is something I would happily present to every child from 2 on up as well. It is timeless; the message of assertiveness and respect for boundaries and the human body at large can never be over emphasized.
I also like the way the book encourages children not to keep secrets if they are approached and touched inappropriately or made to touch someone else against their will. Private parts are rightfully defined as the parts of the body one's underwear and bathing suits cover. My favorite point the book stressed was what to do if the touch is neither wanted nor welcome and that it is perfectly all right not to want to be touched in certain ways. The most important service this book does is distinguishes "good" and "bad" touches and that for the most part, hugs and kisses are perfectly fine and acceptable.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. It will certainly help empower children of all ages and will also help to put an end to keeping harmful secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 29 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book is the only one of its kind that I know of, that is aimed at very young children. It helps parents/foster carers/childcare workers talk about body boundaries with children as young as two. I am a Play Therapist and have found it very useful in my work with families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
I was pleasantly surprised that this book is fun - my 3 year old loves it and has referred to it in situations. For eample, we were out and I didn't want to go on a very large slide with her & her Dad.
she thought about it and then said 'it's okay you don't want to, Mummy, your body belongs to you.'

The one fault in this book is the explanation for it in the front pages, which older children could also read. I think I'm going to rip them out, but it's a shame to have to damage the book.

Otherwise, though, it gets across a very valuable message without being at all frightening or overly serious. I'd highly recommend it for parents with young children around 2-4 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curious minds!!, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
This is another book I bought to explain things to my 7 year old son. The wording is simple and effective. I would definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct 2013
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
Fantastic book for empowering children to say no. It makes them aware of right or wrong cuddles or touches. Helping them protect themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
a great book on helping children understand that their body is there's and how to be safe, a must for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution please - the world is not all bad!, 24 July 2009
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
This book would be far better without the 'note to parents' at the beginning! Many children will either be able to read this for themselves or want it to be read to them as part of the book. It might be better included at the end or perhaps not at all. Other gripes I have with the book are the fact that Mum & Dad as a trustworthy party aren't introduced until page 10, and also the fact that it is implied on page 12 that someone touching you 'when you need help in the bathroom' is always acceptable which is clearly not true. This book is overly cautionary in some ways and neglects some important aspects of abuse in others. Chidren are not stupid and should be encouraged to have the confidence to question any adult (especially their parents and teachers) about anything they are unsure about. People who do engage in inappropriate behaviour towards children will find themselves tying themselves in knots if children have the confidence to question them and the other adults around them! Please, as parents and repsonsible adults, let us try to have the highest possible standards in terms of our children and consequently keep them safe without suffocating them and making them think that the world as a whole is a dangerous place. Largely, it and most people in it are fantastic and are to be appreciated!
As a slight sideways note, the book Stranger Danger? (Colour Young Puffin) by Anne Fine is an excellent example of how to teach children sensibly and realistically about a similarly sensitive subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
A very useful book that teaches us how to promote to our children about personal boundaries. I would strongly recommend this to any parent who might be worried of concerned about the welfare of their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth the money., 11 April 2013
By 
Mrs. C. L. Wright (sladegreen, kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
This book is very good in getting your children to understand why their body is theirs and what is acceptable and what is not. It was bought due to kids going through the doc and nurse phase and I wanted to teach them what is okay etc. Would definitely recommend this book to all with children or anyone looking after children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book review, 18 Jan 2011
This review is from: Your Body Belongs to You (Paperback)
My two young children,liked and understood what was being told within the story and my two year old son was also quick to learn the overall story and would recommend this to any person wanting to update thier children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8f77d68)

This product

Your Body Belongs to You
Your Body Belongs to You by Cornelia Spelman (Paperback - 16 Oct 2006)
5.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews