Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most contemplative pieces of theory around
French cultural theory is known for its wordiness and complexity, and yet in 'The Poetics of Space', Bachelard largely transcends these potential pitfalls and instead produces a meditative, poetic book that was not what I expected. It is still theory, and so not a light read, but the daydreams and thoughts this book inspires whilst reading make it far from an arduous...
Published on 16 Jun. 2004 by Jay O.

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nailing down the butterfly
Bachelard is attempting something so difficult it is no wonder this is a very demanding read. Having spent a lifetime doing "proper" philosophy, he realises that the analytical, critical approach used, not just by science but by philosophy, literary criticism and most writing about the arts, has been destroying our ability to appreciate and understand precisely that which...
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by Peasant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to education of conceptual installation, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
Great addition to education of conceptual installation and an insight in to a level of conceptual thinking of instalative spaces this is a corner stone of conceptual art education
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Course reading list, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
This was a course book and was heavy going but suited the course I was on. I read it in conjunction with a study guide which made it easier to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Poetics of Space, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
This is a very important book for poets and visual artists. Beautifully crafted and easy to read philosophy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to doze into, 13 Jun. 2007
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
This book first came to my attention 25 years ago, I finally read it about 18 years ago, and still its allure enchants me. It is great to read when semi-concious, as its suggestions, hints and ravishments are more vivid and believeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
love it v useful to refer to as a poet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
My daughter's using this at uni.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
brill. complex but interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered on time, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
A very enlightening and thought provoking read so far. I am very intregued by some of the ideas and will be using them in my teaching to develop a more imaginative and enquiring mind for some of my students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Poetics Space book, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poetics of Space (Paperback)
The book was in good order and was delivered as stated.
What was advertised was what I got.
The content of the book is exactly as I expected and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Poetics of Space
The Poetics of Space by Gaston Bachelard (Paperback - 1 Mar. 1992)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews