Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK MADE FOR DISCUSSION
After managing to track this book down from a bookstore in Chicago,USA, I was apprehensive and excited in reading this story, after all I had heard about the book and Linda Lovelace, and wanted to read the story for myself - which I did from cover to cover in 24 hours.
The synopsis of the book is that Linda Lovelace was a prisoner of sexual abuse and became forcibly...
Published on 15 April 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars insightful
An honest and insightful read which made me feel frustrated with Linda Lace, but then empathetic and finally sad that this industry had allowed such treatment to happen
Published 12 months ago by Cindy H


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
honest and shocking life story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Honest, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
Great Book, very Honest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, but more than believable - probably quite common in the porn industry, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
This is an interesting account of a woman at the centre of the most famous porn film ever.

Boreman is contradictory character, she changed her story and her perspective depending on who she felt would advance her fame the most at any given time. Ordeal is written as an autobiographical account of abuse, but it is also graphic, thereby appealing to those who find it titillating. This makes her an unsympathetic character at times and I found her narrative more than a bit annoying. She admits to being 'a little bit stupid', but considering the situation she was in, and then stayed in for some fame etc I would have said more than a little bit.

ALL the situations she describes are extreme - this is not a read for the fainthearted, and there are many moments that are downright infuriating. But she DID try to leave on more than one occasion - she went to her mother early on and her mother just refused to accept that anything was wrong. Linda was a woman who had not had a good start, her mother was abusive to her, and I think that Linda's desperate hankering after fame (to the point of allowing abuse to continue on many occasions) was a good example of the insecure woman whose self esteem can only be bolstered by attention from men.

I do believe that this is how Linda saw the events she describes, at the time she wrote them. The physical abuse from Traynor was not disputed. The sexual situations can be left more open to interpretation - there are some people who do do extreme sex and it sounds pretty horrible to the average person, but it works for them. Her desire for fame also made her endure more than she wanted to, but then isn't that what most young pretty women without much talent do for fame? Maybe not to this extent, but then most of them have a more supportive family and a less abusive partner.

Linda does get a little revenge on Traynor at the Playboy Mansion - the Sammy Davis Junior story is incredible (and why would she make it up? She was risking getting sued)!

Linda says at the end of the book that she used to believe that men like Traynor were rare, but she realised that they are not. This is probably the truest statement of the book - abusers like Traynor are not as uncommon as us more fortunate would like to think they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
Amazing story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
Worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not amazing, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
It's good because you realise there are things in the movie that don't match with the book... But I would have loved to know a bit more about her life ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into the real Linda Lovelace, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
A great read but it rambles on in parts and I lost interest in some parts but then when it was good it was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. C. Parris "Alovesupreme" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
An I incredible inspiring book well worth the money very easy to download and view on my ipad mini.
Thank you Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ordeal, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
Very thought provoking account of a heartbreaking life of a porn star. Written from the heart and in a way that there are no hidden secrets, it borders on the bizarre at points, but also gives insight to the reader of how unglamorous this world of darkness can be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it true?, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
Half way through this book I nearly stopped reading it...it really Jared me..not sure what I make of Linda Lovelace..I can't believe she went through all that she did...Is it wrong to not feel sorry for her??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ordeal
Ordeal by Mike McGrady (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews