Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK MADE FOR DISCUSSION
After managing to track this book down from a bookstore in Chicago,USA, I was apprehensive and excited in reading this story, after all I had heard about the book and Linda Lovelace, and wanted to read the story for myself - which I did from cover to cover in 24 hours.
The synopsis of the book is that Linda Lovelace was a prisoner of sexual abuse and became forcibly...
Published on 15 April 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, but more than believable - probably quite common in the porn industry
This is an interesting account of a woman at the centre of the most famous porn film ever.

Boreman is contradictory character, she changed her story and her perspective depending on who she felt would advance her fame the most at any given time. Ordeal is written as an autobiographical account of abuse, but it is also graphic, thereby appealing to those who...
Published 14 months ago by Flora Cake


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK MADE FOR DISCUSSION, 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
After managing to track this book down from a bookstore in Chicago,USA, I was apprehensive and excited in reading this story, after all I had heard about the book and Linda Lovelace, and wanted to read the story for myself - which I did from cover to cover in 24 hours.
The synopsis of the book is that Linda Lovelace was a prisoner of sexual abuse and became forcibly involved with pornography,rape and pornographic films over a number of years and with people from all walks of life, including entertainers and magazine owners, until she was able to escape after several failed attempts.
The ordeal, indeed no other word could describe it as anything else, was told from her first meeting and memory of Chuck Traynor, her abuse and so-called husband and the savage implications that led from that.
Yes, the book is disturbing in its explicit detail of the ordeal that Linda Lovelace suffered, and may be for some uncomfortable to read or believe, yet so is the damage that has been done to her both psychologically and physically during the time of her being exploited and faced with extremely violent and terrifying assaults i.e a gun at her head if she did not comply to taking part in such abuse.
I implore if you get the chance to read this story, please do so and it will give you an insight into the less public side of the pornography industry that many do not wish to see or believe themselves to be associated with.
A truly, courageous story written by a woman who has more strength and faith than I humbly felt possible before reading this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read!, 13 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Ordeal (Hardcover)
I bought this book after watching a documentary on Linda Lovelace a few months ago ...
I read this book in two days and would recommend it to any female wanting to read about a strong womans life. It is quite sad & depressing but does have a happy ending (without giving too much away!). Apparently some people don't believe Linda's claims that she was forced into the porn industry by her husband, but this book is written so convincingly, I didn't doubt a word of it.

Some of it takes a stong stomache to digest, some of the things her "husband" forced her to do were unspeakably sick & cruel.
Some of it is soooo frustrating, you think why didnt she just run away from him! But this is definately a must read! I'm just trying to get my hands on the follow-up now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad, shocking yet very courageous, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
I was interested to read this book after seeing all the adverts for the new film about linda lovelace. It was sad and hugely shocking what this poor young woman experienced. Her story is simply told and I rooted for her and her survival of the brutality she lived through. I would recommend it as it provides an alternative perspective from what many people probably think when they hear her name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, but more than believable - probably quite common in the porn industry, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
This is an interesting account of a woman at the centre of the most famous porn film ever.

Boreman is contradictory character, she changed her story and her perspective depending on who she felt would advance her fame the most at any given time. Ordeal is written as an autobiographical account of abuse, but it is also graphic, thereby appealing to those who find it titillating. This makes her an unsympathetic character at times and I found her narrative more than a bit annoying. She admits to being 'a little bit stupid', but considering the situation she was in, and then stayed in for some fame etc I would have said more than a little bit.

ALL the situations she describes are extreme - this is not a read for the fainthearted, and there are many moments that are downright infuriating. But she DID try to leave on more than one occasion - she went to her mother early on and her mother just refused to accept that anything was wrong. Linda was a woman who had not had a good start, her mother was abusive to her, and I think that Linda's desperate hankering after fame (to the point of allowing abuse to continue on many occasions) was a good example of the insecure woman whose self esteem can only be bolstered by attention from men.

I do believe that this is how Linda saw the events she describes, at the time she wrote them. The physical abuse from Traynor was not disputed. The sexual situations can be left more open to interpretation - there are some people who do do extreme sex and it sounds pretty horrible to the average person, but it works for them. Her desire for fame also made her endure more than she wanted to, but then isn't that what most young pretty women without much talent do for fame? Maybe not to this extent, but then most of them have a more supportive family and a less abusive partner.

Linda does get a little revenge on Traynor at the Playboy Mansion - the Sammy Davis Junior story is incredible (and why would she make it up? She was risking getting sued)!

Linda says at the end of the book that she used to believe that men like Traynor were rare, but she realised that they are not. This is probably the truest statement of the book - abusers like Traynor are not as uncommon as us more fortunate would like to think they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You never know what is going on behined closed doors , read this and you will, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read I couldn't put it down. I must all be true as she mentions to many living people who would make a point of telling their side of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the other side of porn, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
this book is a peak behind the scenes at the porn industry in the 1970,s and the way a shy young woman was forced to submit to a catalouge of pure filth and depravity at the hands of her sadistic partner.good reading but parts of the book are not for the sqemish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ordeal, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book after watching the film, which was good. I have read two chapters and have lost interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!!!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Paperback)
After seeing a TV movie of her life. I decided to buy her book. Its positively shocking and very sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very compelling read, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
This book is a very compelling read, I couldn't put it down. The things that Linda had to go through with Chuck is incredible and sometime disgusting but it has definitely opened my eyes to the pornographic world and how it can ruin people lives.
Great read and would recommend it to anyone !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disturbing, powerful, yet genuine, honest and hopeful., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ordeal (Kindle Edition)
After watching the movie, I decided to purchase the book as I wanted a deeper insight into the life of Linda Lovelace. And I can honestly say, nothing prepared me for the reality of what really happened to this incredibly strong woman. Extremely harrowing, and difficult to read at times due to the honest yet graphic memories that are intimately shared. Definitely worth a read. If anything..it makes you realise just how lucky we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabea5864)

This product

Ordeal
Ordeal by Mike McGrady (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews